We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Taino Park Samana”
Review of Tainopark

Tainopark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tainopark is the biggest historic park in the Caribean. A huge reproduction of the Tainos's life and the confrontation with the spanish conquerors. An incredible scenographia with figures in Fiber glass at the real scale. A trip in the past of more one hour. You seems to be in a movie of these time. Culture and attraction for a unique concept of thematic park.The Tour is one hour and 6 language are available with audio guide (Eng, Span, Ital, French, Germ, Russian)
California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit Taino Park Samana”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I recommended to visit the Taino park Samana while you are in Dominican Republic. I learned the native Taino history and Spanish outpost in steady of being only from Californian Missions. The free ipod language guide was helpful. The museum was an outdoor exhibits with covered walkways.

You could visit online by : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxDBNPblLlI

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peaknpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    18
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandy utah
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Too bad it isn't more historically acurate”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was included as part of our trip to Los Haitis National Park. I have been studying DR history, and they make many assumptions that are not true. In fact I resent the time we lost going there instead of being on the beach. Don't waste your time and money

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainopark, Directeur général at Tainopark, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sorry you didn't appreciate the audio guide commentary done by famous historical poeple in RD
Sometimes history tells us things we prefer not to know about the past
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Living History”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you visit Los Haitises add this Park to your tour. It has recreations of the native population that was systematically exterminated by the Spaniards. A history of genocide generally unknown to most of us; all in the name of God.It is not gruesome but tells some sad stories. Stories that are worth hearing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Crater74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lots of history, and a nice museum, but the dioramas are plastic”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We did Taino Park as part of a day trip with Los Haitises. I found the ipod language guides nice and the history lesson educational, but the dioramas were pretty bad. The museum at the end was nice though. The cafe in the park was horrible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Ragell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taino Park tells a straight story”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Life-sized dioramas depicting the Taino culture, the few Spanish who tried to protect it and the Spanish conquerors who destroyed it through attacks, disease, slavery, etc. Audio programs in a variety of languages tell the story. (The only drawback is that you can't stop the program to spend extra time at each display.) Wonderful museum with artifacts from Taino culture that also recall African and Northwest American and Canadian tribal culture. This park was recommended to me by a specialist in Taino culture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibyl60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tainopark also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
 

Been to Tainopark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing