We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of scenery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Los Haitises

Parque Nacional Los Haitises
23000, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$68*
and up
Zipline Adventure in El Limón
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice change of scenery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this excursion through our hotel and it was very nice. It included visiting Los Haitises and Cayo Levantado. The boat ride there didn't seem long but that might have something to do with the rum and cokes they pour you all the way there and all the way back! It was nice to see the area but if you are hoping for a big nature adventure then the boat excursion isn't going to deliver.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eastend_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    142
    55
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved to boat hour and a half boat ride to and from the park and exploring the caves was great, wear good footwear. The Lunch at our sister resort wasn't all that great but the beach was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Los Haites Parc Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If taking this tour from Punta Cana, it is way too far to go for a day tour. While the 2 hr boat tour was nice through the Mangrove, it took almost 5 hrs to get there. The tour (sultana tours, I believe) booked through our JETBLUE tour guide had far too many stops to pick people up. While the tour guide was knowledgeable, we left the hotel at 6:30am and never got on the boat to start our tour until close to 11:30am. We did visit caves as well, and while interesting, we spent too long there - and then we had a 4 hr bus ride back to the hotel. WOuld not recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must do. The boat ride is a little long but if you are lucky you may see whales on the way over. The caves are great and you can look around for a long time before the guides start looking for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Long boat ride, bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I traveled with two teens and a 7 year old. All three were bored to tears by the long boat ride to get to the park. The dolphins did provide some excitement, but they were really agitated having the boat so near. They kept slapping the water in a threatening manner. The actual park made up for the long ride. We enjoyed the glyphs and exploring the caves. If you are a history buff, this is for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Los Haitises also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Parque Nacional Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing