We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Los Haitises

Parque Nacional Los Haitises
Book In Advance
$75.00*
and up
Zipline Adventure in El Limón
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a must do. The boat ride is a little long but if you are lucky you may see whales on the way over. The caves are great and you can look around for a long time before the guides start looking for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    151
    58
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Long boat ride, bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I traveled with two teens and a 7 year old. All three were bored to tears by the long boat ride to get to the park. The dolphins did provide some excitement, but they were really agitated having the boat so near. They kept slapping the water in a threatening manner. The actual park made up for the long ride. We enjoyed the glyphs and exploring the caves. If you are a history buff, this is for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful small island populated by thousands of birds. Eroding limestone, those little islands are carved by the sea to create small caves.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank InaM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“untouched, wild, and lush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place reminded me of southeast asia. Our boat slowly snaked through the dozens of islands of all sizes dripping with dense greenery. Brown pelicans, royal terns and frigate birds were present by the hundreds. The mangroves were covered with all sorts of crawling sea creatures and the cave paintings were very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank free_as_a_flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boat trip from Samana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went on this trip from Cayo Levantado, which involved a boat transfer to reception, people carrier taxi ride to Samana, 15 minute wait and then a *really long* boat trip to Los Haitises (it felt like about an hour, but it could have been half an hour - they didn't say how long it would take, and we didn't check when we set off). But when we got there, it was totally worth the long journey... the 'Haitises' are really spectacular as islands, with an abundance of bird life - heaven for keen photographers, my advice would be to take a decent zoom, 17-200 or longer, to get wide shots as well as being able to capture the birds in action.

We watched the pelicans and frigatebirds for ages, travelling around a few of the little islands, then we went deeper into the Haitises. We travelled through a mangrove swamp which was pretty spectacular, and into the caves where the islands have been hollowed out from the bottom up, to see the ancient peoples' cave paintings.

Our guide was fabulous and told us all about the indiginous people of the island, the meanings of their paintings, and a different take on Columbus's "discovery". My advice would be to buy a cheap torch before you go, as you need one to see the paintings, and there wasn't one for everybody party on the boat which was a bit disappointing. And wear decent shoes - the ground is slippy!

Our last stop was another island which truly was a 'desert island paradise' where we had another chance to get off the boat and look around.

Overall a really interesting trip & worth going to see the place where they filmed Pirates of the Caribbean and Jurassic Park. The Haitises are very beautiful, just make sure you take a good camera!

Finally, for anyone staying on Cayo Levantado, the good news is that they drop you straight off on the island before going back to Samana so you don't need to make the same return journey!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Los Haitises also viewed

Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Parque Nacional Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing