We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Parque Nacional Los Haitises
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Zipline Adventure in El Limón
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful small island populated by thousands of birds. Eroding limestone, those little islands are carved by the sea to create small caves.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank InaM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    177
    65
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“untouched, wild, and lush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place reminded me of southeast asia. Our boat slowly snaked through the dozens of islands of all sizes dripping with dense greenery. Brown pelicans, royal terns and frigate birds were present by the hundreds. The mangroves were covered with all sorts of crawling sea creatures and the cave paintings were very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank free_as_a_flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boat trip from Samana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went on this trip from Cayo Levantado, which involved a boat transfer to reception, people carrier taxi ride to Samana, 15 minute wait and then a *really long* boat trip to Los Haitises (it felt like about an hour, but it could have been half an hour - they didn't say how long it would take, and we didn't check when we set off). But when we got there, it was totally worth the long journey... the 'Haitises' are really spectacular as islands, with an abundance of bird life - heaven for keen photographers, my advice would be to take a decent zoom, 17-200 or longer, to get wide shots as well as being able to capture the birds in action.

We watched the pelicans and frigatebirds for ages, travelling around a few of the little islands, then we went deeper into the Haitises. We travelled through a mangrove swamp which was pretty spectacular, and into the caves where the islands have been hollowed out from the bottom up, to see the ancient peoples' cave paintings.

Our guide was fabulous and told us all about the indiginous people of the island, the meanings of their paintings, and a different take on Columbus's "discovery". My advice would be to buy a cheap torch before you go, as you need one to see the paintings, and there wasn't one for everybody party on the boat which was a bit disappointing. And wear decent shoes - the ground is slippy!

Our last stop was another island which truly was a 'desert island paradise' where we had another chance to get off the boat and look around.

Overall a really interesting trip & worth going to see the place where they filmed Pirates of the Caribbean and Jurassic Park. The Haitises are very beautiful, just make sure you take a good camera!

Finally, for anyone staying on Cayo Levantado, the good news is that they drop you straight off on the island before going back to Samana so you don't need to make the same return journey!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catriona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Boat trip to Parc National Los Haitises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very interesting saw lots of birds and wildlife.Went inside the caves the guides were very knowledgable and told us all about the people who used to live there in years gone by.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best excursion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've been to the Dominican numerous times but this was my first time at the Samana side of the island. I could have easily spent all day on this one. Bar far the most educational excursion and most enjoyable if you are a nature lover.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Los Haitises also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Parque Nacional Los Haitises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing