We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
santo domingo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Totally impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I am more than delighted to share my experience at this wonderful hotel.I wasn't aware of this hotel until a good friend of mine who writes in Conde Nast recommended it and I would add to his review that this is indeed a real boutique hotel although its not as small as other small luxury hotels of the world properties:great staff (especially the bartender at the breakfast restaurant and the Maitre d at the cafe del mar),gorgeous views and that touch of secluded elegance everywhere.my only cons would be that the cleaning staff should perform a more thorough cleaning and has to be more oriented to detail as small gestures as little flowers or decorations made with towels.the other flaw would be that the cafe del mar staff has to be trained as how to cope with a big number of guests:when the lounge is empty everything is perfect but when the place is packed as the weekend I was staying service and quality went downhill.I would love to return soon to this wonderful property

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Sibarii,

We would like to thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your impressions about The Bannister Hotel. It is very important for our staff to know and understand, guests expectatives and feelings about the job they are doing.
About the details you mentionned with our housekeeping team, it is property policy not to do decorations with towels and flowers. Even if the result can be very charming, I agree with you, we decided not implement this idea, and to keep the style of the hotel, between simplicity and elegance. Nevertheless we will definitely work on the training of Cafe del Mar staff so that the service gets more fluid.

Thank you again for taking the time to express what The Bannister's Experience meant to you,

We are waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again at Puerto Bahía,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
90
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

On a recent trip from the Turks & Caicos to the BVI, we had the great fortune to find Puerto Bahia and and the Hotel/Marina at Bannister in Samana. The staff, the marina manager, and even the owner were ever helpful when needed (or called upon!) and otherwise invisible. Due to heavy weather on the backside of a tropical storm, we had several ertwhile crew members that were quite seasick and the Bannister could not have done more to help us get them to SDQ and on to the BVI. We found the comfort, quality and staff such that it was an easy call to stay over while waiting for a better weather window and had the opportunity to enjoy the resort and suuroaunding attarctions. The greatest asset of all is the English-speaking staff and on future trasists, we will certainly budget the time for a visit.

Room Tip: As we were staying on board, we did not visit the rooms but all of those on the seaside and the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler5931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear BusinessTraveler5931,

It has been such a pleasure for us to welcome you and your crew. We thank you for sharing about our Marina Puerto Bahia and its services... We are always happy to receive boats and yachts and be able to offer the guests and crew members the best attentions possible and the access to our facilities (swimming pools, fitness center, pool room, etc.) so that they can feel more at home or on vacation than feeling just "docked".

We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon, and that this time, you will have a chance to test our hotel facilities too,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is beautifully organized in a relatively tiny space, this makes it apparently very easy to manage and it translates into a great experience for a client. I stayed for tree nights and the attention of the people from the hotel was like nothing I've seen before, the room was great and the restaurants and surrounding areas made everything better. It's not expensive but it isn't cheap either, they can arrange tours and excursions that we did not take, but have heard to be kind of expensive. We did go to Cayo Levantado, it was the peak of the trip. It's hotel is great for couples or a small family, singles or friends will not find the normal hyped environment that normally you see in a hotel in the DR and this is, for me, what puts the fifth star in my review... It's a great place to chill without a hoard of teenagers killing my neurons.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranciscoAlvarezM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Alvarez,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions about The Bannister Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is very important for the entire team to know the feeling of our guests so that we can keep improving our services, all the time.

As you very well described it, The Bannister Hotel is part of the new Boutique Hotel Generation that is growing in Dominican Republic, as an alternative choice to the all inclusive hotel industry. One of our most important goal is to offer our Guests, a personalized service on top of the high quality of it. The little detail that will make the difference.

I confirm your comment about the prices of the excursions that the exclusive Excursions Agency that is located at The Bannister Hotel propose. Nevertheless, there is a good reason to that, which is that they also offer personalized services and excursions negociated with providers that are very well chosen, to guarantee a great level of services.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed so much staying with us and we can not wait for you to come back at The Bannister Hotel,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bannister one night in May of this year. We wish we could have stayed longer! The staff was really friendly, bringing us a glass of wine while they checked us in. The lobby opens to a fantastic view of the marina. Our suite was lovely, and we spent a lot of time out on the veranda, just watching the boats below. We only used one of the two pools, but it was uncrowded and very relaxing. Food was delicious, and service was excellent. Sunset was absolutely beautiful! We would return to the Bannister if we are in the DR again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Bonnie,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions about The Bannister Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is very important for the entire team to get the feeling of our guests so that we can improve more every day, our services; but also to keep the team motivated and confident that we are on the right way.

We will be very happy to welcome you back again at The Bannister Hotel whenever you can!

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel and great service. Everyone on the staff is great! The only small issue was that the food could be a little better at the breakfast restaurant. Some days is was delicious and other days it was not good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yana1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Yana,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions about The Bannister Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is very important to our entire team to know the feelings of our guests, to improve our services, always.
We take the opportunity to inform you that we are doing from last month, some changes in our Food and Beverages Department to raise the quality of our services to a new level. I hope we will have the honor to receive you soon so that you will be able to evaluate again our Restaurants.

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Amazing views, great restaurants and service, romantic sunsets! The suites were fully equipped, large and well appointed. The staff was friendly and efficient. The on-site food shop was very handy. The restaurant staff was very accommodating of my varied food allergies. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AliveinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear. AliveinDR,

We thank you for sharing your impressions about The Bannister Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is very important for our entire team to know what our guests feel to improve, always. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the personnalized attention we try to give to the requests of each one of our guests.

We can not wait to welcome you again at The Bannister Hotel,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 4 months at the Bannister in a two bedroom villa right on the water, next to the Cafe del Mar. We had stunning views of the bay, the beautiful infinity edge pool, sunsets that were postcard perfect each evening, and a constant parade of amazing boats in the marina! The views were world class, the overall "feel" of the facility was peaceful and serene, and the grounds were beautiful and all well maintained.

In the four months we were there, not once did we have any problems with security or theft. I am a woman, and was traveling with my 83 year old mother so did have a little concern with security before I arrived. However, I quickly felt safe and secure and trusted the help completely. I left all my computer equipment, cell phones, electronics etc. out and in full view, even left money on the dresser a few times, and there was never an issue.

Even though most of the staff only spoke Spanish, and I only spoke English, we seemed to somehow communicate! I felt everyone went the extra step to make sure we felt welcome and were happy. The daily greetings from the pool guy, and his playful antics with our poodle, the attention to details that over the four months were never overlooked by the competent cleaning staff, the helpful people in the convenience store who would offer to carry the ice or water back to our villa - everyone seemed to cheerfully do the little extras!

Roberto was our "go to" person if we had a serious problem - like the computer connection not working, or the shower not draining. He was always right on it and had people over immediately to address the problem. His English is perfect, and we found him to be exceptionally helpful to us!

Whatever our needs were - the staff was there. When Mom collapsed and gashed her head - they had a doctor available to me immediately, and offered warm caring support I will never forget! When I needed to have a vet examine my poodle for the health certification for the return flight home - they arranged to have a vet come to hotel! - Thank you, Delphine, for everything, especially your caring kindness! The staff of Puerto Bahia is absolutely first class - and a reflection of the dedication of Jessica, the general manager, and the Bacalari family.

The challenging thing for me was the lack of air-conditioning in the living areas of the villa. The air-conditioning is limited to the bedrooms, and I found that a bit challenging. But that is typical for the entire Dominican Republic - it is rare to find anything that has air-conditioning in the kitchen and living areas.

For a long-term stay, you should know that there is not a reliable mail service in the country, and the FedEx type services are not completely dependable either. Phone and Internet service were faster and more reliable than what my son had in Samana, but was still slower and less reliable than what we have in the states. These issues are country-wide, and out of the control of Puerto Bahia. However, the infra-structure is improving rapidly, so doubt this remains a long-term issue!

We loved the breakfasts and ate there often. The food at the Cafe del Mar was OK, but not "outstanding". It does not reach the level of excellence you would expect from the amazingly beautiful Cafe del Mar facility.

Overall, I have to say that it was a very pleasant experience to spend four months in the Dominican Republic at the Puerto Bahia - and I certainly would not hesitate to do it again or to recommend it to my friends! It was a delightful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Bronwyn,

You and your mother have been the dreaming guests for the complete team of Puerto Bahia. We thank you very much for your objective review and we take the opportunity to inform you that we are working on the little "deficiences" you noticed during your stay.

We do hope that your mother and you are doing great and we can not wait to welcome you back at Puerto Bahía.

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
16.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
7.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 4 in Santa Barbara de Samana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing