We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of kindness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have used the hotel and the marina. Arriving by sailboat, we where welcomed with great professionalism on the dock. The marina is excellent with all the needed infrastructure. marina guest can use all the hotel commodities. The hotel himself is also excellent. We rented a car , delivered at the hotel and we could discover the whole region without problem.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcvvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spend the weekend at Bannister Hotel.We, my wife and we had other expectations. If you are planning to stay there and use it as your hub to visit the nearby beaches and towns, that is the right place. But If you choose the place just to chill out, enjoy the beach, walk along the seashore, that is not the place. if you like seing boats coming and going, hearing their loud music, a six hour bachata concert, young people screaming on Sunday morning , and the marina environment, that is the right place to stay. The pools are very nice but there are not umbrellas to sit under. The rooms and the linens are outstanding, no complaints. The two restaurants are ok. Nothing special. The staff well trained.
We definetely wouldnt go back there. ´

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ferbarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our long weekend at The Bannister was both, relaxing and entertaining - comfortable rooms, a resort surrounded by beautiful nature - great views, an exclusive marina, good music and ambiance at the Cafe del Mar restaurant-bar. At The Bannister you get the feeling of luxury and exclusivity. this property is located just 1.30 minutes from the Santo Domingo airport and there will be a direct flight NY - Samana starting in November. Samana is a must, a treasure to discover in Dominican Republic - a nice variety of excursions and places to visit in the area - you cannot miss it!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are really enjoyable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Two months ago, I went to the most spectacular hotel i have ever been. the bannister hotel. Excellent food, marvelous rooms and very good service. I really recommend the couples massege at the spa, it`s a must. Also, the most amazing sunsets at cafe del mar at puerto bahia, the resort where the hotel is located. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: one bedroom ocean view suite, although the concierge showed me the Bannister Suite (penthouse), and...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I absolutely loved Puerto Bahia overall! I enjoyed every minute of Cafe del Mar's delicious food, music and amazing pool! The service was excellent and the spa was one of my favorite relaxing activities! What I enjoyed the most was that there were lots of fun activities to do with my whole family. We went to the national park los Haitises, Taino Park (museum), we visited and enjoyed the great beaches of Cayo Levantado and Playa Rincon!, we did (well, some of us) did the zip line (that was really fun). Overall a great experience, me and my family loved it and will definitely come back soon!! :)

Room Tip: I recommend the One Bedroom Ocean View Suite. Stunning view, perfect for relaxing while reading a bo...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anavleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in one of the suites. The service was great and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. I am convinced that its one of the best hotels in the Samana peninsula! Thank you Bannister!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NgolIrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Amazing service, friendly staff specially Betania at the front desk. Beautiful hotel and great food at Regata they have amazing pizza and paste. Definetely will come back soon for another magical stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbkarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
16.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
455 reviews
7.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
156 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 4 in Las Galeras
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
146 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#3 of 35 in Las Terrenas
563 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Price Range: $103 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing