We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We drove up from Santo Domingo on a Friday afternoon on one of the best roads in the DR. The hotel is at the Marina where you can hire boats for fishing/whale watching, etc. Spectacular sunrises and sunsets, very quiet, excellent food and service, our sea-view room was just that, everything new with self catering kitchenette (no fridge). Excellent spa, great relaxing venue, huge bed and big verandah with lovely sea view. Not too much else to do, no beach but great rim pool right on the ocean. Better suited to couples, younger kids may get bored. No internet in the room.

Room Tip: Choose a sea- facing top story room for the views and sundowners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    44
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
94
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The view is exquisite! We booked our trip through Living Social. Everything was wonderful. This small luxury resort is a little out of the way but if you're looking for a place to relax, this is it! The staff is great and very professional. The rooms are nicely appointed but the beds are small. Each day however, our room was cleaned beyond belief. If you don't speak Spanish it can be a bit of a challenge communicating. However, Bettania and Emilio in reservations and Jose Pena in the restaurant all speak English very well. One of them was always readily available to come to any part of the resort at any time of day to translate whenever we needed a little help. They were awesome! Definitely convert your money to Pesos, using American money was a hassle at times. Although Samana is a sleepy town, we were never without fun active things to do. Ask for Veronique and Fabrise at the hotel if you want to book excursions. They arranged horseback riding, four-wheeling, a trip to El Limon Waterfall (breathtaking), and Zip Lining for us. They attended to every detail. You'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I recently visited the Dominican Republic and stayed at the excellent Bannister Hotel and Resort !!!
I found this hotel to be world class with an excellent level of service !!
The facilities at this hotel are second to none and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a top class getaway in this piece of heaven !!
I will most certainly be back again !!

Eddie Fogarty
Dublin
Ireland

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddiefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabarete
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The location is stunning, with an incredible view of Samana Bay. Not a lot going on, but 5 connecting pools and great spa make for a good get away. The weekends fill up with the well to do from Santo Domingo who drive up on the new highway.

Not exactly an eco hotel, they seem to be having lack of water issues all ready and could not fill up the pools and water the grounds properly. The marina is excellent, and makes for a fantastic backdrop as well as bringing in an interesting crowd.

A few restaurants on site and lots of activities if you have a car - otherwise you are locked in.

Room Tip: Bring a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CabareterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is a hotel in contrast. It is beautiful, the setting is perfect and it will be in some time, an excellent facility. We arrived and were shown 3 rooms, all excellent and were able to upgrade as a "Club" member of SLHW. Everything is done impeccably. Each piece of equipment in the kitchen is new and never used and perfect. The furnishings and the toiletries are just right. The view, as a old sailing person, could not have been better. The staff varies, from those who cannot do enough and are great to those who do not seem to know where the ocean is. I am sure that will all improve. Some things are not yet connected. There is no internet in the rooms, only in some corners of the lobby, this is coming soon. There are some other business connections which are not yet finished but they will come. The main problem is their food service. Outside of being given a complimentary drink at arrival, of one's choice, very nice, but the entire food program needs to change. The first night we were there, we went to the casual restaurant at the infinity pool, which is a beautiful setting. We both had only a vegetable/fish soup. My wife began vomiting as we walked out and I started in the room. From all angles, I was sick for two days. I have lived in the Dominican Republic for 8 years and have traveled all over the world and never have been so sick. On the second day I slept 18 hours as I could not get out of bed. I am extremely healthy, a vegetarian for over 25 years and not ever sick. The food was terrible. We had breakfast on another day which was terrible but as I did not much, I did not get sick. The prices for the food were way out of line. We expect good prices with good food, that is not the problem. When we travel, we travel well and know what to expect but their prices were way out of line for stale bread and some lettuce and a small portion of fruit. My wife went to the Italian restaurant to bring something to the room as I was too sick to leave and was watching our 7 month old baby. She could not finish the bad pasta or stale bread they served. And again, at a price that should not have been given.

When their food service is changed and their service staff in the restaurants learn what to do, this hotel will be a great place to go. We live less than 3 hours by car and will certainly visit it again, but give it number of months to be polished. When it is done this place will shine as we have few in the DR which are really nice and not of the all inclusive brands.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drbcabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luigidiciaccio, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear drbcabarete,
First of all, I would like to thank you for visiting us at The Bannister Hotel and for all your very useful comments.
I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenient you have been through during your stay. Since the opening of the resort it is the first time that we receive a complaint about our food services.
We are organized for emergencies and a member of our staff would have called a doctor if we had known you needed assistance at the moment. No other client in the resort manifested any type of problem.
Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we do our best to exceed our clients needs. We regularly train all our employees to improve our standards of service.
On the other hand, I am surprised you did not appreciate our Breakfast offers as we have tried to bring various, tasty and well balanced Breakfast throughout 3 different menus (American, Continental and Creole) for a reasonable price as it is not a Buffet.
As you said, the free Wi Fi connection is available in the lobby but also in the restaurants, even in the entire Marina area. We are still finalizing a couple of details, but we usually specify at the Recepción that it is not yet available inside the rooms.
I am looking forward to seeing you soon and would like to thank you once again for your helpful comments.

Very Best Regards,

Luigi Di Ciaccio
Property Management Director
Puerto Bahia - Marina and Residences
General Manager
The Bannister Luxury Condominium Hotel Small Luxury Hotel of the World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I happened upon this hotel when another hotel srewed up my reservation. I was pleasantly surprised. It is a brand new hotel and was very beautifully decorated. I felt like I was in South Beach. Very classy. From the bellhop to the front desk, the service was superb. The hotel did not have many amenities yet but the stay felt really relaxing and not exclusive unlike many of the all-inclusives. If you are looking for a typical all inclusive type environment with people running all over the place then this is not the place for you. What I saw were adults having a good time. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petradayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
16.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
7.1 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
152 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 34 in Las Terrenas
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
107 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Serena Hotel
Villa Serena Hotel
#1 of 5 in Las Galeras
186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing