We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soporific, stunning sea scape holiday .... Real luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Ingbirchworth
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Soporific, stunning sea scape holiday .... Real luxury”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The Dream Liner experience was very good and it was well worth paying to be in Premier class. Our air steward Michael was brilliant and the food was very good; Thai green curry was great but not enough for everyone. We paid an additional sum for a taxi transfer and that was well worth it after the long flight. The hotel and island were breath taking as we arrived here. Our room is beautifully designed and well planned, it is also spacious and elegant. So much of this hotel and island has an old world, colonial charm about it, which exudes quality and distinctive excellence. There are 3 a la carte restaurants to choose or the hotel buffet. Each restaurant would be a top level U.K. restaurant in its own right. The quality of the food is astounding and I have to say "compliments to the extremely talented chefs" in each one of those restaurants. I would love to see the master chef team here because it is that good! World class, top level cuisine - I am told the main chef is Spanish. The service level standards at all the restaurants has been brilliant. The staff are all very professional but more than that, they are warm and friendly. One person called Richard really stands out as being professional and extremely good at his job. We have been assigned a "butler" though I hate that term. Keldwin has been extremely helpful too, he is articulate and nothing is too much of a problem for him. He listens carefully and goes that extra mile for his guests. Keldwin ensured that my birthday was made extra special. All of the team here have been very good including the lady who cleans our room. Again she is very polite and courteous and nothing is too much of a problem for her. This lovely lady keeps surprising us with creative new and different ways of making our bed pretty. The team work and ethos amongst the staff here indicates that there is excellent management of this hotel. The management here, have been visible and the main hotel manager would seem the consummate professional in all that he does. He had a scary moment yesterday during the World Cup, while surrounded by Germans, his TV screen suddenly stopped working and you could see the angst on his face. He did not send anyone else though, he corrected the problem himself. I guess he leads by example. The hotel pools are delightful but building works have limited options on the quiet pool this week. I suspect that a lot has been done to minimise disruption and you can go to the beach or beach pool, which are all very lovely, if the noise starts to get to you. I hope that expansion of the hotel accommodation will not adversely affect the ambiance of this 6 star hotel. In summary, this is an excellent hotel with superb food in a gorgeous setting, that is staffed by a high performing team of caring individuals.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Luxury Bahia Principe Hotel, especially from our Management Department.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an amazing vacation experience in our Hotel, Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,238
    733
    192
    72
    33
See reviews for
518
3,981
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Traveled to DR with 4 other women to celebrate a 50th B-day. Had a blast! Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and help us celebrate. The food was excellent, drinks unlimited. The public beach was beautiful and safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mesm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mesm3,

We are so happy to hear your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. To know that our guests go back home satisfied with their vacation, makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be sending your greeting to all our team!!!

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, Best all inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything was perfect! From the airport to the hotel, everything more than we expected.
Delicious food, beautiful beaches, clean and warm pool, amazing staff!!
Especial thanks to the Privilege Club staff , to Ana Marie, our butler, who did everything to make our days more than specials ( pillows menu, scents menu, bubble baths). To Miguel, our Scuba diving instructor, Karen ( lobby bar), Juan ( pool bar) and Caroline (snack bar).
We had a wonderful time. We will be back next year for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miriam732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Miriam732013,

We would like to thank you very much for bringing to our attention your nice comments about your stay in our Hotel. All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We cannot wait to cater you very soon at Dominican Republic to experience another great stay and enjoy the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Big hug and many sunny greetings.

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay in this little piece of paradise. There's not much more that i can say that hasnt already been said but here goes.

After a long journey from the airport (more on that later) my partner and i arrived at the mainland reception. The first words were 'welcome home' and thats how the whole of the holiday felt, like we were part of one big family.
Check in was very efficient and we were soon on the boat across to the island. It was dark when we arrived so missed out on the first view of the hotel, but we saw that several times on trips and the view is lovely. The reception team on the island dock was as welcoming and we were soon offered the first refreshing cocktail, with a quick explanation of the facilities available and the parting line of 'if you need anything, just dial 0 and it will be sorted'
Although the island is small, 10 minutes maximum walk from one end to the other the many 'lazy buses' were a welcome trip down to our villa, 31103, one of the beach villas. a recommendation is to definitely upgrade to one of these, the room is huge, bedroom and living area with 20ft ceilings, a massive bathroom with jacuzzi and shower and a large private patio with jacuzzi and 2 sun loungers. the view straight out onto the beach is worth the price alone.

All of the staff, from the cleaning maids to the butler service to the management, are wonderful. nothing is too much trouble, with a can-do attitude from them all. special mention must be made to Maria, our maid, for keeping the room immaculate, Raymundo and Eudy from the Don Pablo for fantastic service, Bladimir for always being chirpy, chatty and smiley in the buffet restaurant and all of the staff at the Portofino.

The restaurants.. We tried all of them apart from the Mediterranean, as my partner is not a fish person. all are superb. Plenty of choice and variation at the buffet, i also recommend the gala night - lobster, crayfish, crabs a plenty. The Don Pablo is superb, fantastic service, beautiful presentation and great food. Portofino, again superb. lovely mix of italian food, and very good pizzas.

The island itself is a peaceful haven, the centre pool has no music and plenty of four poster sunbeds so very relaxing. the jacuzzi pool is at one end of the island, so out of the way and again a very nice spot to relax and the beach pool is a nice refreshing dip after the salty sea. A little bit of music from the snack restaurant and the animation team but nothing intrusive. As it was getting into the quiet season getting a sunbed either on the beach or at the pools was no problem, even with some people reserving them at 5 in the morning (yes i saw you from the room, putting your towels on the beds)

all in all this was a wonderful holiday at a magnificent hotel with very friendly staff that make you feel like one of the family

one point to note which didnt bother us because of our villa location, but there is a fair amount of building work going on on the island and they start early. i do question the idea of adding more rooms to such a small island as i feel this may make it overcrowded during high season.

We travelled with thomson and a couple of notes about them. Martin, the rep, was available every day from 8:30 till 12:30, would fetch anything from the mainland that you needed, was a mine of information. Probably the best thomson rep we've seen.
One thing thomson need to do is sort out the travel from the airport (peurto plata). 4 1/2 hours is a long journey, even when prepared for it. The airport at El Catey is only an hour away and would be a much better option.

Would i recommend this hotel..... in the blink of an eye yes. if you want to feel pampered, relaxed and special, choose this holiday

Room Tip: beach villas are well worth the upgrade, plenty of space to relax, and 5 steps from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Colin R,

Woow this a great news we are so happy to read that we made your stay a very pleasant one. Thank you very much for all your nice comments and we really hope that it was not the last time that you were staying with us.

We cannot wait to receive you or any of of family here with us.

Until that we wish you all the best and many greetings from our all-inclusive Luxury Hotel in Samana.

Thank you very much for attaching the photos of our hotel

Many greetings
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have been to this hotel 6 times and it never disappoints. I was married there last year and had to return for my anniversary and say hi to samona who sorted my wedding out. On arrival you are greeted by the management team they give you a welcome speech then you go to your villas. I was in villa 1 and we had our own butler his name was David, he was so attentive to every thing you need, nothing was to much trouble for him he was always around asking if we needed anything.
in the main bar of the hotel we have walkie who has been there as long as we have been going, what I love about him is when he sees you he calls you his family, he remembers what you like to drink know were else would you find this. I find all staff in the hotel are really fabulous and can not do enough for you, all you have to do is ask. Every morning after breakfast I would sit on the terrace and a nice man called pedro would come out and offer you coffee, drinks anything you wanted I looked forward to his smile every day.
lets talk about management we have Alexis and Stephanie who walk around all day making sure every guest is happy, if you have any complaint's they would deal with it straight away. they are the sweetest people you would meet nothing is to much trouble for them, they go above and beyond for you Stephanie arranged every thing for my husband and friends to go and play golf even arranging a taxi for them, I don't think the hotel will be the same if these 2 fabulous people were not there to over see everything.
there is construction on the island they are putting in extra 52 rooms,a snack bar and a restaurant, I only hope they do not build anymore rooms other wise this gem of a island will lose its appeal I could talk about the restaurants the beach and the pools but its all been said before. This hotel is 5* and you will not be disappointed at all if you go there I can not wait to go back next year it really is like going home.

Room Tip: pick a villa looking out to see there very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesley-mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mrs. Lesley-mo,

Thank you very much that you took once more the time to post this wonderful comments they are really helpful for all our hardworking staff, We will be sending your greeting to all our team!!!

We really hope that we can receive you in the near future in any of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort in the meantime we wish you all the best!!!

Many greetings from Samana!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

so sad to be home after 2 weeks treated like a royalty at this amazing hotel! Just a little heads up, we travelled from Manchester (England) & yes its longggg & draining, something Thomson needs to sort! However as soon as you step foot on this beautiful island, it is soon forgot about as you are greeted with the staff with cocktails.

In my opinion the reason this hotel is so good is the staff, who are a credit to this hotel! Basilio (breakfast waiter) was amazing. All the beach bar staff especially alexjandro who constanly made sure you had drinks throughout the day, so you didnt have to move from the sun bed! Miguel (evening buffet waiter) always amazing, soon as you finished drinks he was there asking if we wanted another. All the staff at Don Pablo who made my birthday special, sang happy birthday too me which was lovely & gave me the most tasty bday cake, loved it, a big thankyou too you all!! Lastly butler David (tall one) who went out of his way to find out when I would return from my bday meal so we opened the door to a bubble bath filled with rose petals, candles and oils scattered around the bathroom and chocolates.. was such a lovely touch, big thanks too him.

Are room was a junior suite, which was in the main building & it was amazing! Convenient location especially breakfast as you just walk downstairs. The room itself was massive & had everything you need. No complaints at all!!

This has to be the best all inclusive hotel I have been too, food selection was always good! My other half is such a fussy eater and he always found something he loved! We loved Don Pablo, steaks were amazing but didnt try any of the other restaurants. The all inclusive also included branded drinks (Jack Daniels, branded vodka etc) which is a bonus as most hotels only serve local, vodka, whiskey ect.

This hotel is definitely worth a visit, such a beautiful island and the most relaxing 2 weeks I have ever had! I cannot speak highly enough about this place and will be definitely recommending!!

Will hopefully be back in the future :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nicole23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mrs. Nicole23x,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had great time in our Hotel, and that you enjoyed the Service from our Staff specially from Basilio.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks 24th-7th July, 3 couples all with various needs. This place did not disappoint. The people make you feel so special and cater for your every need with a huge smile. Its not expected but do tip excellent service as they earn a fraction of what we do and a few dollars makes all the difference.Our tables were reserved and decorated at breakfast and in the evenings and it was so refreshing to see the pride and care taken by all the staff towards their guests. The management have got this hotel running like clockwork, seamless and efficient - well done. Grounds accommodation and beaches were immaculate. The final send off at the jetty was tearful as we all felt a little piece of our hearts had been left on this beautiful island. Would i go back ? Thompsons change airports and
fly into Catay not P Plata which is a huge 4 hour transfer and the answer in a heartbeat would be a massive yes.

Room Tip: villas in the gardens are huge and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mrs. Suzywall,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Luxury Bahia Principe Hotel, especially from our Management Department.

It is great for me to read that your group had a great time, especially with the good service from our staff at the buffet.

We are already looking forward for your next visit in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
65.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi (free of charge) Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing