We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Week in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place is truly a slice of paradise. We stayed the last week of May and were lucky to have JetBlue fly directly from NYC to Samana Airport. The ride to the hotel was under an hour and it takes you to the check in on the main land and then a boat takes you to the island. Everything from the start is perfect. I requested Villa 4 on the second floor and that is exactly what I got. The view was perfect. Not too go into many details but just wanted to point out a couple of pointers...

Beach - absolutely perfect! We always could find an umbrella/palapa or some shade on the beach and it was always quiet. The water was always perfect and deserves the praise of some of the best beaches in the Caribbean.

Snorkeling - snorkeling is great at the quiet beach and at the public beach...you can even swim to the tiny island!

Public Beach - we visited the public beach early in the morning (7am/8am) or later on for the sunset. It is also quiet something and always nice to sit and look at the land or lights in the evening across the water.

Food - everything was very good and quite delicious. We dined at the buffet for breakfast and dinner and the staff was great at making sure we had our usual table set. For lunch we went to the snack/grill near the Beach Pool. It does not have the same variety as the buffet but is great for lunch outside...always great paella, grill and sangria! (what else do you need) As for specialty restaurants, we only tried the Mediterranean and Don Pablo. Mediterranean was very good...however not a fan of Don Pablo...I understand it is a specialty restaurant but it needs to be a bit more refined.

Service - great service. Everyone is always nice and attentive.

Rooms - the villa 4 has a great view and great location...right near the elevator and the walk to the hill to go to the beach. It was also facing the quiet/windy beach which had a gorgeous view. There is also another side of the villa facing the mainland, the view there is a bit different.

Island - the island is perfect. But please note it is an island and it is a hill. I love walking and running so walking around was great.

Pools - Main pool and beach pool were also great. Also, make sure you visit the jacuzzi...it is quiet and absolutely revitalizing.

Spa - used the spa a couple of times...good massages..

Leaving the island was great too..we had all of the management come out and wish us well on our trip back home. The only small downside was when we got to the mainland there were local kids asking for money and some stray dogs running around. That was a bit stressful and overwhelming trying to find your bus/car and all. Also note that this area is not quite as developed as Punta Cana in DR. However, don't let that stop you...the place is amazing and we will be back. Thank you to all at Bahia Principe!

Room Tip: Ask for the villa in advance...you can do upgrades in the hotel but easier to book in advance if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kgyadukyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear nyctraveldreamer,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your experience during your vacation in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations.

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your holidays with your couple in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,150
    714
    189
    69
    33
See reviews for
513
3,889
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Plain and simple: you need to go!

As you round the tip of the island aboard the water shuttle at "oh my gosh corner", you know you are arriving somewhere unique and special! As soon as we entered the lobby of the hotel, we were welcomed and some of us were "welcomed home". From that moment on, we felt that we were pampered family members. Every employee that interacted with us, from the front desk, to the chambermaids, to the night maids, the barman....all of them made us feel special and welcome.

Many thanks to Basilio, in the outdoor terrace area, who made sure there was a hot chocolate waiting for us every morning for breakfast. Yuneiris greeted us cheerfully morning and lunch and Georgina and Maria made sure we had everything we needed in the buffet area. One day we had a table strewn with flower petals. Little touches like that really make you feel that the staff is making an extra effort to please their guests. Even the fellow selling pareos at a cart at the lower pool made an effort to chat every day and help me with my Spanish, as did the fellow at the gate to the public beach. Special thanks to Stephanie and Alexis, who took much care to help with our room arrangements. Everyone we encountered wanted us to enjoy our stay and made us feel appreciated. When the employees at all levels, not just the wait staff and housekeeping engage the guests, then you know you have found true commitment.

The facilities are top notch, the rooms are outstanding and the grounds are like a fairy tale. The buffet is so well presented, there are so many choices, and the food so delicious that you could easily skip the restaurants, but do make an effort to go to the Don Pablo, where you will have a sumptuous dining experience.

With the choice of lounging in a cabana or under a palapa, we found a nice balance of snorkeling at the shady beach in the morning, suntanning at the wavy beach mid- day, and finishing at the upper pool in the afternoon with zen music piped through the bushes. Paradise!

We had a room overlooking the plaza, so were able to enjoy the evening shows from our balcony.

I have been to many many all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean/ Mexico/ Central America and although they have all been great, Cayo Levantado remains my first choice to celebrate a special occasion because of the beauty of the resort and the attentive service of the entire staff. I am already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank catamaraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Catamaraner,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an espectacular vacation in our Hotel, and that you specially enjoyed the Service from our Staff, we will send your greetings to all the team!!

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed for one week late june 2014. The site is exceptional ! The island is quiet and the beach is large enough so we don't need to get there a 6am to get chairs. Lots of shade on the beach so you don't get sunburn. The food set very good every where you want to eat. The Don Pablo is the best but the buffet is very good also. Especially Thursday night with never seen quality meals for a resort.

The room are clean, large and well located with view of the sea almost every where.

The staff is very friendly. Thank you Raymondo, Jesus and Alexis ! Your service is worth any 5 stars in the world !

Would definitively go again !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank secutor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Secutor99.

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had great time in our Hotel, and that you enjoyed the Service from our Staff especially from Reymundo, Jesus and Alexis.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I couldn't explain how beautiful this place is. There are three beaches two private and one public. The public beach is amazing only thing is the vendors are a bit annoying best thing to do is pay no attention and do not respond to them or just don't go here. The private beaches you can't ask for more the color is amazing about four different shades of green blue water. The staff is incredibly nice especially Jorge Abreu (Head of all Butlers) David (Butler) Pedro ( does activities on the beach) and Yamara (front desk). Food is amazing no need for the restaurants unless you're that kind of couple that likes that experience because it's quiet and beautiful at the buffet restaurant as well. I had a junior superior room in villa 5 really nice setup view was good( partial ocean view tree in the way but no complaints here). You can hear the waves crashing from balcony amazing with a coffee in the morning. Hopefully rates stay the same.

Room Tip: Villa 5 is a close walking distance to beach downhill but walk up hill. Also villa 5 is away from ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PuLiRocK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Pulirock

We are so happy to hear your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. To know that our guests go back home satisfied with their vacation, makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be sending your greeting to all our team especially to Jorge, David, Pedro and Yomaira.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, Best all inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STONEYCREEK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Loved this Island and resort!!
Staff is outstanding, they really excel at customer service.
Food is good ,and plentiful.
There is a beach that is just seconds from the lobby where the locals sell their wares.
We befriended a great guy nicknamed "Panna"
He sells jewellery out of a little tourquoise hut and speaks great English.
He will also arrange day trips with a local tourismo licensed driver in a safe, airconditioned vehicle for a better rate than the resorts or other guides .
Panna took us to Cascade del limon, the beautiful waterfall, and we had lunch prepared by the local woman.
Deliscious,
He is knowledgeable, friendly and loves people,
Please consider hiring him over the greedy industry, you can find him on the local beach in booth #5, say his name you will be directed to him.
Also Please tip your resort staff they work really hard and deserve to be shown some gratitude!!

Room Tip: I recommend you bring a pillow, that was our only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Kelli H,

We cannot thank you enough for your comments. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share about your detail experience during your holiday in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering us for their vacations.

We hope to have you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your summer holidays in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013 for a week. It was our very first all-inclusive vacation ever, and it definitely did not disappoint!!
The ferry ride from the main land to the island of Cayo Levantado was quite the experience! The resort gave off this beautiful aura from afar. As we arrived to the island, we were greeted by staff that helped us out of the ferry boats, who also helped with our luggages. When we entered the hotel, we were greeted pleasantly with drinks. I must say that the staff here are very friendly...always smiling and always ready to guide you.
The food is great!!! A wide variety of selection... Whether you are a meat lover, seafood lover, vegan, vegetarian ... There is always something enough for you to enjoy at the main buffet restaurant!! I really loved how they had different cuisine themes for dinner each night... Like Mexican food... American... some Japanese.
There are also 3 restaurants in this resort that you have to reserve in advance to ensure a spot; so I recommend reserving on your first day of arrival. I highly recommend the French and Mediterranean. The Italian was my least fave.... So I suggest going to that one first before you go to the Mediterranean and then French. Save the BEST for last ;). Furthermore, the food for room service were not bad either. We had the nachos and they were perfect for our midnight snack!
The pools and the surrounding environment were.....paradise!!! The sound of the wind and leaves/trees around made everything so peaceful. The pools were all clean and spacious, you can swim without splashing or bumping into anybody! (Or did we just go at the perfect week???...... End of July is the secret perhaps.). The water had perfect temperature as well! Same with the jacuzzi.... I honestly cannot say anything about the pool and beach. As we lounged by the pool, a staff would come by here and there to ask if we wanted to order any drink. I give so much kudos to them because they give amazing service!
The private beach is probably the best spot in the resort.... Very clean and relaxing. There are water sports available such as kayaking, snorkelling, and sail boating. They provide all equipment for free. The beach is very close to the pool as well, so it is easy to walk back and forth. They also have a spot for beach volleyball and my husband actually played with a few tourists. I also liked how there was a pathway to the public beach ...where you'll find locals selling souveniers,etc...they also had entertainment there at night provided by the resort.
Now I must say... The night life here is not something you would expect like in Mexico. Entertainment at night was mediocre. I found that audience participation was dependent on the type of crowd. My husband and I were actually pulled into the stage (despite our refusal) by this magician to be part of his little trick. I kinda felt sorry though, cause nobody else wanted to do it. I think the entertainment needs some improvement.
With regards to our bedroom, it was also spacious and quite clean... however, I left a bag of chips open one night and the next day, there were ants inside of them! it was on top of the coffee table near the balcony door..so that's probably where they came from? (the balcony door was closed though.) Not sure if it's suppose to be like that since we are in a tropical place...but otherwise, we didn't have any problems with any other insect or spider.

So all in all.. I think the resort is really beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. FOOD is great... SERVICE is amazing... if you want a vacation to RELAX mainly (instead of partying), I totally recommend this resort!
There are also lots of excursions to join too.. all you need to do is ask the people in the main lobby.
PS- there is also a boat ride (free) that will give you a little tour around island.. pretty relaxing. just book it at the main reception area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neyamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Neyamee

It is a real pleasure to know that you spent a fantastic experience with us.

Thank you very much for highlighting our good food, beautifuul beach, grounds friendly and helpful staff.

Thank you for recommending us and we are wating for you at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic.

Kind Regards
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

HOTEL WAY ABOVE ANY 5 STAR. NO ANTI MALARIA PILLS NEEDED - INFORM IN ADVANCE IF A CELEBRATION OR HONEYMOON - NO CHILDREN!! Food, far superior to any 5 star hotel.
Hotel services amazing, they can't do enough. Rooms in main building are amazing. Initial room was beautiful but view over delivery area and catering smell was a problem. Moved to room 401, view over jetty and Pelicans diving. (room 402 had double aspect balcony, even better) There beach and garden villas, I feel the main building Junior Suit, was the best deal. Day/beach and evening entertainment every day. Beach has plenty of shade and pool and beach has waiter services. Mosquitos no problem, they spray the foliage every day.
Only issue, if your a non smoker, if you wished to eat meals on the patio you have smokers immediately next to you whilst your eating, nasty!

Room Tip: Junior Suit in the main building on the Jetty side - 401 AND 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Sue D,

It is a real pleasure to know that you spent a exeptional experience with us. Thank you very much for highlighting our good food, friendly staff and all that you mentinioned.

I greatly appreciate that you have chosen our special Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado as your holiday destination.

We hope to see soon in your next vacation.

Have a great day!!!

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
63.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#1 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing