We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Innisfil, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cayo Levantado! Amazing service, rooms beautiful and clean! We stayed in the main building which is central to restaurants and ocean view,our only complaint would be that there are sales people in lobby for the "prestige club" trying to sell constantly! When you only have one week to enjoy your holiday you don't want to sit and listen to a sales pitch, that's what we are trying to get away from when on holidays! Besides that everything was great! Food, service, cleanliness!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Adun123,

We are immensely grateful that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado as destination for your vacation.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,242
    733
    193
    72
    33
See reviews for
518
3,986
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed Jan 24-31, 2014
Accommodations, we had a room in the main hotel, Junior Suite.
Very good room. more than enough space
ALL Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They do not expect tips, but sure appreciate them
Water... beaches were kind of small, and a touch crowded, but lots of chairs to be had, you just had to find a spot to plop em down. We did not venture to public beach which appears to be much larger, and better for swimming (the beach we went to was a little rocky on bottom in spots)
Pools are surrounded by trees and such, so lots of places with shade. the challenge was fining a spot with all day sun, but as there were a large percentage of older folks at the resort, it was not that hard. Actually, we went to the main pool each day except one. Never had a problem finding a spot, and we never got there until 9:30-10ish.
There is no requirement to wake up at dawn and go claim your seats... lots to be had... although some did, it was not out of control like most resorts.

no towel cards, so you need a towel, grab a towel... but they do not always have them ready.. so keep your towel from the day before just in case.

Food... a la carte restaurants... they try to be gourmet, to expect small portions.
Buffet usually had something worth eating, and you had no problem finding a table there, or no large lineups at the buffet either. And Portofino... not exactly italian (was seafood), which surprised me.
I must say, I did find the food quality a little disappointing, have had better at other less quality DR resorts. so, food was the only low point, but as I say, you could always find something that was tolerable.

But all in all, we went for a relaxing week to do nothing but soak up the sun, and that was what we did, and it was a very relaxing place to do that.

Most of the crowd were well over 50, so no wild nightlife or partying.

Suited us just fine.

Oh yes, and from the time the plane landed, it was 3 hours before we arrived to hotel.
But, that's not a bad thing, just expect it.
You have to clear customs, get your luggage then get to your bus.. you get your wristbands and paperwork before you even board the bus. All you need to do is pick up your room key at the front desk when you arrive.
Room keys, yes, ours stopped working daily it seemed, but we also had an ipad in our beach bag, despite trying to keep them separated... who knows... luckily we were in main building so it was only a minor setback each time.

Room Tip: main building was fine with us, close to the buffet for breakfast, and not far from main pool. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear rjfoster,

It truly delights us to know that you took the time to share your experience during your last vacation in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are delighted to your good comment appreciating the beauty of our hotel.

We would be very happy welcoming you back once again in our Cayo Levantado.

Kind Regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blomberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have only four days and it was a verry relaxing time in the ressort. We enjoy the the beach, the friendly service, the quality of food and beverage. It was a perfect place spending the last days of our holidays

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas B,

Thank you for sharing your great experience in our Cayo Levantado with all Tripadvisor users.

We appreciate your positive comments from our hotel.

Your sincere opinion can be a valuable reference for other clients who are considering staying with us, so we thank you deeply.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I have to say I have travelled a fair bit and been to some lovely places and hotels and this is up their with the best of them. If you want to go on holiday and look for faults you will find them in any resort regardless of what star they are. Personally I go on holiday to enjoy it and not worry about stupid little things like some people have stated in their reviews! But I guess we all have different views and expectations.

Room: We stayed in the main hotel complex on floor 3 (standard double) with a large balcony which had fantastic views of the sea and the hotel complex. Our room was very large and cleaned to the highest standard twice a day and was fully equipped with all you need.

Food: There is a wide selection of foods on offer to suit all, the hotel has various themed cuisine nights. The food is outstanding and you will never go hungry and will always be spoilt for choice at B/fast,Lunch and evening meal. All 3 of the A la carte restaurants serve a wonderfully menu with great service and well worth the visit.

Drinks: There is a great range of cocktails,spirits and soft drinks throughout the complex to suit all. Enjoy :0)

Overall: A peaceful location which is ideal for couples, great service which always comes with a smile and the staff can not do enough for you. Some lovely scenery in and around the location with a small but great beach.

I have NO complaints what so ever about this hotel, and I would recommend this to anyone. you will NOT be disappointed. :0)



Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris9831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Chris9831,

Thank you for sharing your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado with all Tripadvisor users.

We appreciate your positive comments in the different areas mentioned of our hotel.

Your sincere opinion can be a valuable reference for other clients who are considering staying with us, so we thank you deeply.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had two wonderful weeks at Cayo Levantado. It was very relaxing. There was food and drink available at all times and the staff where very attentive and happy especially the lovely Luz who served us in the main restaurant in the evenings.
There did seem to be a lot of towels left on sun beds for a long time while not occupied but there were always sunbeds to be found if you where willing to walk to one of the other beaches or pools.
The rooms where excellent we had the junior suit. It was spotless and the mini bar was stocked daily. You could have fresh towels daily if required but this is hardly necessary as there are towels at all the pools and the beach.
We went with Thomson’s and booked the taxi from the airport to the hotel. This three hour drive was a bit too long really especially after a long flight from the UK.
All in all it was great two weeks.

Room Tip: If you want sun on the balcony then a south facing room would be best. We had lovely views across to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiitscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Hiitscharlie,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us these detailed comments about your excellent stay in Grand Bahia Principe La Romana.

We are really grateful for all your good comments from our Hotel Service. Your comments help us to strive more and be better every day to exceed your expectations.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Faithfully,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

First off I would like to say I would definitely go back to this resort. That being said I would make sure I emailed the resort directly to do my upgrade before my vacation to insure that my room was in a Villa and not in the main building. We found out first hand even if you paid for an ungrade you were not gauranteed a view even at least a garden view. After speaking in a very nice gentleman who works there who took the time to expain how it works we found out you are best to contact the Resort directly by email to do your upgrade thru them not your travel agent. If you do this you can pay them when you arrive and you will not be disappointed like we were. I also did read another review who mentioned the same thing so be very careful if you are one that enjoys a view. If you arrive and your room is in the main building any floor rooms 11-19 your in for a terrible view. We did not even open our curtains since it was a view of the workers buildings and them coming in and out, and we paid extra for a Junior Suite. We complained and were moved to a Villa after 2 days. Even though we did email them ahead of time and gave them plenty of options of rooms we would like they gave us the total opposite. Like someone else said in another review they should be selling these rooms at a discounted price since the view is so unexceptable. I am sure if you don't care about the view you would be more than happy to have these rooms at a cheaper price but when you have paid the same as everyone else and they have a beautiful view it is very unfair. Especially if you have booked months in advance. Everything else about this place is great, the food, the service, the beaches, the property excellent. It is for sure more for couples that are a little older and enjoy the relaxation of the place, not really a place for younger couples that want to party, which was fine with us.

Room Tip: Try to contact the Resort directly before your vacation and get prices to upgrade thru them. Bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear CAM1988,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking your time and giving us these detailed comments about your excellent stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are really grateful for all your good comments. Your comments help us to strive more and be better every day to exceed your expectations.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Faithfully,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

From check in to check out the hospitality was more than what we expected. Arrived at around 8am but check in isnt until 3pm, our bands were given to us and directed to the breakfast buffet. Waiting around by the pool and beach for our suite that was not ready until 2pm isnt too bad especially with unlimited drinks and food. Surprisingly enough the food at the buffet was good, the restuarants were amazing and DELICIOUS. From steak to lobster included in our meals and I am a big surf and turf fan. Evening shows were entertaining, the beach bar party at night was fun even if there is only 4 people you make the best out of it. The entertainment crew will accomdate you with whatever music you prefer to hear, They'll dance with you, its just awesome. I have ONE complaint and that is the lack of towels by the pool. There was a point we waited almost 2 hours for towels. Aside from the towels I would come back any day!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear DeniseC84,

Please receive a warm greeting from our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado - Don Pablo Collection.

We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your experience during your last vacation with us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
65.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi (free of charge) Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing