We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place that we would never go back to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Nice place that we would never go back to...”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a 1 week stay at the Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, and we stayed there from November 23 to 30, 2013.
If you want a truthful and objective review, keep reading, because I’m blunt and objective.
This is an excellent resort in some aspects, but we did have some issues with it, which is why we would never go back.
This has recently become an adults only resort, which is one of the reasons we picked it, and also based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews.
This resort does not feel like a 5 star in many ways, overall, it’s a 4 star at most, and on a really good day.
We have paid less and been to 4 stars that were much better than this one.
Free WIFI service is available in all of the resort and in our room, but it very slow.
Still it was much better than at many places where they scam you ridiculous prices for internet service.
I also loved the free safe in the room, which unlike some places, was free and conveniently located.

The resort is more than 1 hour away from the airport, and the bus ride was bumpy and a bit dangerous at times.
This is not in any way the resorts fault, it’s just that people in the Dominican Republic drive quite crazy and imprudently, and the roads are not very good either.
Upon arrival from the bus ride, it is then approximately a 10 minute boat ride to the island where the resort is located.
No issues with the boat ride for me, but bring some Gravol if you get sea-sick easilly.

Overall Resort & Appearance
This is a very beautifully landscaped resort, and the gardens, grounds and trees are immaculately maintained by the gardening staff. Nice job to them!!!
The resort itself is beautiful, and very tastefully furnished, decorated and is kept very clean.
There was construction going on in a section of the resort, and I must say it was not the least bit disruptive to us, nor did I personally hear anyone complain about it bothering them either.

This is a pretty large and spread out resort, with many up and down hills.
There are cart/trolleys for transportation around the resort, and they can fit up to 9 people at a time.
Unlike some places, these cart/trolleys do not run on a regular schedule, but when you called reception for transportation, they always came to pick you up within a few minutes, which was great.

Our Room
We stayed in a superior junior suite, with a fabulous ocean view (Villa 4), and we were thrilled with our room location. It was not as far as many rooms from the main buildings, yet it was not too close either. So when my wife wore high heels, or if it was very hot during the day, we called a trolley, and it came right away to take us to the main area or back to our room, but otherwise we mostly walked around.
The room was large and spacious, with a large storage closet with a free room safe.
It was nicely decorated, and a beautiful room.
Our Balcony/Terrace was awesome, with a fabulous view of the ocean and pool below us.
We had a café style table for 2, and also a separate sofa and table seating area for 3.
There were free bathrobes and slippers provided for us by the hotel, to be used in or room or for the bathroom.
The Beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were horrible. We were given more pillows to try out, but they were still bad. If I had to come back to this place, I would actually pack my own pillow from home.
The water pressure in the hydro massage bathtub was so horrible and slow, that it took over ½ hour to fill the tub. The separate shower stall was unlit, and the shower nozzle squirted water very unevenly.
The mini-bar in the room was an issue. The mini-fridge was stocked with pop, and only 2 beers and 2 water bottles daily, as well as 3 mini 50 ml (airplane size) bottles of liquor, one of each: rum, whiskey & vodka.
Really???...it’s an all inclusive resort, and we should have all the beer/alcohol/water we want.
So I am obviously not happy with the stock in the room mini-fridge.
Want some more stock in the fridge? Well guess what, you have to pay extra for it.
If someone does not drink pop, and wants only beer, water & Vodka in the mini-fridge, that is what they should get, and they should not have to pay extra for it.
After all, an all-inclusive resort should be just that!!!

Beach and pools
The beach is tight and very overcrowded with trees near the ocean, making it sometimes very difficult to get a chair in a good spot in the sun, but easier if you wanted shade.
But who wants to be spending the entire day at the beach in the shade? I guess some people do, but definitely not us, as we go down south for the sun and beach.
The beach itself is not bad, but we have been to much nicer beaches than this one.
Keep away from the smaller beach to the left of the main beach on the resort, unless you are a strong swimmer and enjoy the hard hitting waves, it is definitely not for inexperienced swimmers.
There are 3 large and very nice pools, and we spent about 3 hours at one of them during one afternoon. The bar was very close, and the service was good. The pools and pool area were kept nice and clean, and we did not have a hard time finding spots in the sun, but it would have been hard if we wanted shade by the pool, as all those spots were taken. Good thing we like the sun.

Food & Restaurants
Food at the main large buffet Orquídea restaurant was better than average, and a few times absolutely amazing. On Thursday night they actually had full lobsters, caviar and lots of seafood selection. This buffet was much better than those at many other resorts that we have been to.

As for the a la carte restaurants, we went to all 3, and their menu selections were extremely limited:
They advertise 3 restaurants, but in reality only 2 of them are actually open on any given night.

Our first a la carte dinner was at the Don Pablo restaurant. It was nicely decorated, and they played great ambient music for my taste. The food and service however left much to be desired.
The wine was warm instead of room temperature, but it was decent.
BTW, the same wine was served everywhere on the resort, and you paid extra $$$ if you wanted some different wine to drink.
I ordered the lobster and steak combo, and I was very disappointed. It took over ½ hour for the entrée to come, and the steak was well done instead of medium rare as I had ordered it, and the lobster looked more like a jumbo shrimp, it was pitiful at best.
The desert was crème brule, and it was not even cooked, and was served runny and cold. Really???...Don’t they know that crème brule is served cooked and warm?
So much for a gourmet restaurant, LOL...

Our second a la carte dinner was at the Mediterráneo Restaurant, where the menu was limited, but the lobster tail was actually a real lobster, and not more like a large shrimp, as was the one at the Don Pablo restaurant.
I ordered a second entrée of steak, and they gave me no grief, and it was very tasty and properly cooked to medium rare, just as I had asked for.
We enjoyed this place, and we came back for a second and equally enjoyable time.

For our third a la carte, we went to the Portofino Italian food restaurant, and we were not the least bit impressed. We never bothered to go back since the food quality and selection was mediocre at best, and the service was totally unimpressive.
There were 4 of us for dinner that night, and the waiter actually refused to give us 2 entrées, much to my surprise.
It was not until I asked for, and spoke to the manager Stephanie, that we did get the second entrée, but only ½ hour later, and the same waiter never came anywhere near us again.
A la carte restaurants should give you 2 entrees if you make that request.
Telling someone no is unacceptable. All inclusive should be just that, and nobody should need to go to the buffet after an inadequate dinner.

Bars & alcohol
The bars close way too early, 11 pm is totally unacceptable.
If you want quiet at night, this is the place to go, as the is virtually NOTHING going on after 11 pm, and all the bars are all closed by then, contrary to what it says on their web page.
The only thing going on late was a “beach party”, and when we arrived and saw that there were 4 people there, we knew it was a bust.
Also, this supposed “beach party” was held on the PUBLIC beach, not even on the actual resort grounds, how pathetic is that?
Another issue is that you have to pay for premium liquor!!!
Wow, how cheap for a supposed 5 star resort!!!
For the all-inclusive drinks, they served some of crappiest brandy, whiskey and rum that I have ever had. There were 4 choices of vodka, but who knows if the alcohol inside them was actually the real thing.
I have gone to many 4 and 5 stars hotels (all inclusive) in Mexico, Aruba, St Martin, etc., at cheaper prices & never had to pay for premium liquor!!!
One night, it was exactly 10:20 pm, and we were sitting on the patio outside the Portofino restaurant as a group.
We were politely having a few drinks and enjoying quiet conversation, and all of a sudden the lights were turned off on us, and there was no more bar service!!! The 4 of us were alone and deserted all of a sudden.
I could not believe it, what is wrong with this place???

Maids & Room Service
The maid cleaning service was very inconsistent as far as time of day for cleaning.
Our Maid was rude 2 times because we asked her to come back later when she arrived before 9 am, and she even rolled her eyes at me and my wife.
We continued to tip her, but less money after this occurred. She did however keep the room clean to our satisfaction.
As for room service, we ordered coffee and breakfast a few times. The wait times were quite reasonable, and the service guy we had was very polite and pleasant (same guy all week).

Entertainment
What entertainment???
We saw a funny magic show one night, and that is it.
If in fact there were any other shows going on other nights, they were definitely not well publicized.
None of the staff ever told us about any shows going on, like they do at most resorts.
We did ask a few times, and we were told that either they were not sure, or did not know. I guess that meant NO.
By 11 pm this place was pretty much dead and deserted.
If you want quiet relaxation, and an early bedtime, this is the place for you.
Otherwise, there will a lot of boredom in the evening, if you want to have some fun.

In summary, I would like to say to management:

-Please give people the drinks that they want in their room, without having to pay extra for them.
-If someone wants 2 entrees at a restaurant, the answer should always be :Yes, of course”, and never “No”
-Keep your bars open longer than 11 pm, as this is ridiculous.

Overall, this resort does not feel like a 5 star in many ways, it’s a 4 star at most, and only on a really good day.
We have paid less and been to 4 stars that were much better than this one.
I can even give an example from their own chain, the 4 star Gran Bahia Akumal in Mayan Riviera Mexico was much better than here, overall.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 4, and it was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank pitfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of our General Manager, we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection and for sharing the experience you had in our hotel during your holidays.

We are not happy to hear that the (food, restaurant, room, beach, pool, bars, entertainment,room ) service experience has not lived up to your expectations; we always take note of those comments which indicate opportunity for improvement.

Your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback. We regret to hear that the perception of your stay was not positive.

I am sorry that this time we have failed to meet your expectations and trust that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Please write to us before your next visit, we will be more than happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,185
    722
    189
    70
    33
See reviews for
516
3,926
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at the above resort. Everything about our stay was excellent.

Every member of staff, including the chefs and gardeners are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The buffet restaurant, a la carte restaurants and snack bars are spotlessly clean, (as is all areas of this resort) food is replenished even before it runs out, it is always hot and the choice is endless. Presentation is amazing. We had a junior suite and they are so spacious, the maid service is twice a day with chocolates at night. Mini bar in room is stocked each day, not that you need it as the bar is open in the lobby until 11pm and then the beach party continues until 2am. At the pool bar during the day there are crisps, olives and peanuts available as you get your drinks. There is a lift or steps down to the beach pool, a la carte restaurants and beach. The waiters will bring your drinks to you all the time if you want them to. The service at the bars, restaurants etc is brilliant.

Jessica, Eduardo, Sony, Marianny, Henry, Yosaf, Angelina and many others are just lovely, friendly and always willing to help with a smile and warmth about them.

This resort has set itself extremely high standards and these standards are maintained throughout the resort. This really is a paradise island and of all the places we have travelled over the years this is the best by far.

The only downside is the four-hour coach transfer from Peurto Plata to Samana. We travelled with Thomson and are hoping they will resume their direct flights from Gatwick to Samana airport hopefully by next year.

Would definitely go back again to this beautiful island and wonderful people.

Room Tip: If you can ask about the view from your room as some are better than others. Although the standard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

We are very happy to learn that you had a great experience. Thank you for taking of your valuable time to show your appreciation for the service received during your stay, and thank you again for choosing us!

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in our little paradise in a near future or at any of the fantastic all inclusives hotels of our chain Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We traveled from Vancouver,BC via Toronto, ON with Air Canada. Stayed at the resort Nov. 17 -24.
We stayed in villa 4 lower level 4104, a very nice location, a short stroll to the hotel, quiet pool, and beach. Privacy, partly due to a large leafy banana tree in front of the room, we could see the beach, but not a full view.
As many reviews have mentioned, the location of the resort is spectacular. The rooms are large and clean, the lighting in the large bathroom could be better. The covered patio with a sofa, armchair plus a table and 2 chairs is terrific.
Beds are very hard, new mattresses are definitely required. Pillows are flat and hard.
One evening a bath was drawn for us, and even though we aren't bath people, it looked inviting so had to try it out. Too funny, we had a flood, water everywhere, it was a tad too full and flowed over the edge. After much laughter, and a mop up, we turned on the jets, beware, one of the jets spays water to the ceiling! Again after much laughter, getting the jets turned off, and more clean up, we decided the beach or pools were a safer bet for us.
Food was so so, most items in the buffet were warm at best, you certainly won't go hungry but don't expect anything outstanding. The breads are very good, almost no seafood offered on the buffet, disappointing, service is as it should be, friendly, good not outstanding.

There doesn't appear to be any dress code for dinner, I think many guests dressed better for breakfast than they did for dinner. A beautiful dining room, the waiters dressed formally while the guests looked like they dropped in directly from the beach. Maybe a sign of the times, but in my opinion a bit too casual.
There never appeared to be anyone around in the towel service areas, towels were available, still fresh is plastic wrapping, "help yourself" service,Not a big issue, but I have never experienced this before. A little on the tacky side for a resort rated as a 5 star.
It is a beautiful location, the grounds are well maintained, while the beaches are small they are lovely, pools are nice and lots a lounges. The villas are very nice and the hotel is pretty. Service is friendly and overall good.
The reason for not agreeing on a 5 star rating is the food, it is only OK. Also A better offering of liquor in the rooms would be appreciated, full bottles plus wine. Most 5 stars offer this service.
I would recommend this resort to someone that normally travels to 4 - 4.5 ratings, the price point though is on the low end for a 5 star, that should be taken into account.
We do not plan to return, this is our first Bahia resort, and I have no burning desire to visit others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank 100miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado, Don Pablo Collection.

Your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback. We regret to hear that the perception of your stay was not positive, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the Management.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection to be able to change your perception about the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services.

Sincerely,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort from November 16th - 23rd 2013. We had been informed before we arrived that there was construction taking place at the resort, but we have say that it certainly did not effect our stay; in fact we barely noticed it at all. The resort itself is really beautiful. It is quiet, tastefully decorated and surrounded by lush green grounds. We found all of the staff to be attentive, friendly and eager to please. Ramona in the Lobby Bar; you are an asset to the resort! Your smile and your obvious love of your job really shines through!
The food was wonderful as well. We enjoyed the selection available at the buffet and the Don Pablo Restaurant had fantastic lobster! The pools were clean and we never had a hard time finding chairs; though we spent most days enjoying the beach and the sound of the crashing waves with our new friends from Bonneyville. All in all, we would certainly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicafromcowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your excellent review and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Our staff is always happy to hear our guest feedbacks and is truly a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Definitely we hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in a near future to be able to provide you a memorable experience, only with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts you are able to find the holiday of your dreams.

Kind regards,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Luxury Grand Bahia Principe, Cayo Levantado Don Pablo collection from Nov.23, to 30 Nov, 2013.
It was by far the most amazing and most relaxing vacation we ever took. This Island is like coming to Fantasy Island , only its no fantasy. My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary on this island, and every thing was perfectly executed.

The Staff is outstanding, our concierge Robert with Privilege Club, took care of each and every wish we had and he was always a phone call away. Most every thing was included with our all inclusive fees, except for spa services. Once you arrive through the gate at the receptions desk to the private port,we were taken care of like VIPs. The 10 min boat ride to the island is, the beginning of an amazing holiday. Our room was beautiful, we were provided with a fully stocked fridge that even had a bottle of champagne, a chocolate sculpture on the table accompanied with fresh fruits, robes and slippers. We had a room in Villa 3 with a view of the Ocean, a lanai big enough to have a party on, and even a view of the beach below.
Th food was also very good there was never a shortage of choices for a meal, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, and never had the same thing twice. Food was all fresh and many unique dishes. My husband had 4 lobsters for dinner one night.
We did take advantage of the couples romantic massage and body treatment which takes about 2 hours 45 min, it was well worth it. we also went to El Limon falls trip which was on horse back through the lush landscape . This was fun but be prepared to go up and down steep hills for a total of 1 hour 30 min ride. One week was just too short for us we will return again to this amazing vacation spot the next opportunity we get.

Room Tip: Make a request for an ocean view room before you arrive, let them know if you are celebrating a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your excellent review and for taking of your valuable time to show your appreciation for the service received during your stay. Our staff is always happy to hear our guest feedbacks and is truly a pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Definitely we hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in a near future to be able to provide you a memorable experience, only with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts you are able to find the holiday of your dreams.

Kind regards,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here November 7-21 2013. The beautiful resort is now adults only and has been for several months. We were advised prior to travelling of some discreet building work that would be going on during our stay, but needn't have worried. As we were aware of the building work we emailed the hotel and asked to be located somewhere quiet away from the work. There is a main hotel with rooms, and "villas" each containing I think 8 suites, which are dotted around the perimeter of the small island. We were allocated villa 11 which was the opposite corner of the island from the work, and was lovely. The suite had a great superking bed, sofa, coffee machine, tv etc, and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath (that we didn't use), loo, shower cubicle, and sink, with hair dryer and shave point. The balcony with sea view was huge with another sofa and 2 chairs. Villa 11 is next to the jacuzzi pools, and a short walk in one direction to the main pool, and beach with bar and entertainments eg beach volleyball. A short walk the other direction led to the 'quiet' swimming pool with cabanas and bar, and then on to the main hotel and restaurant. The stroll was a nice short distance to any of these locations, but when we felt lazy the courtesy golf buggy type taxi was always circling.
The staff were very helpful and the food lovely at the main buffet. We also ate at the gourmet 'Don Pablo' a couple of times and found this to be excellent.
This was a great romantic retreat, although some of the other guests we spoke to said they would have liked more nightlife. The evening entertainment we did see consisted of shows that were similar to others in the Caribbean put together by hotel staff - high on enthusiasm and fun, but low quality stuff. This doesn't really matter though when the all-inc rum is flowing!
Our only 2 observations that were anything other than glowing were very minor indeed and were addressed immediately by guest services - they were :-
1) the outside seating at breakfast is all smoking-allowed and we said it would be nice to also have a non-smoking area outside to give people choice (that said, the inside is all non-smoking). Hotel response was that this area is planned to be implemented in the next couple of weeks.
2) the way the waiters work in the main restaurant is occasionally chaotic as they seem to work to perform one task throughout the large restaurant (eg pouring coffee), rather than doing everything within one smaller area. The result means that sometimes it can take a while to get the waiter who is allocated the task you want (eg drinks or whatever). We suggested that smaller teams working smaller areas would probably mean better tips for the waiters as they would build a better rapport with guests. Guest services manager agreed and said he was already trying to get this kind of system implemented.
I should reiterate that neither of these very minor things detracted from what is a lovely place.
Other noteworthy things included the fact that samana airport was closed and the transfer from puerto plata advertised as 3 hours took more like 4.5 hours. After a long flight this was a tiring transfer, but worth it for the destination!
We didn't do any trips other than the free boat ride round the island that runs every Thursday afternoon and is organised by the hotel - this was nice and worth the hour away from the beach.
My colleague when recommending the island to me had said he got excellent drinks waiter service at the 'quiet' pool and spent most time there, whereas we found the pool by the beach to be even better, with waiter drinks service, and the proximity to the sea & beach games!
There was never any problem getting sunbeds at either pool at any time of day, or getting fresh pool towels, like there can be at some other hotels.
In summary the island is beautiful and we loved our visit.
If anyone is worried about the building work it was very discreet, behind some netting, and it appeared that they are building a couple more "villas". The map of the island can be found online and the building work is near to villas 18 & 17 from memory. Anywhere else and you wouldn't know it was happening.
If you are considering a visit I would definitely recommend this resort!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of all the members of our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us and other users of Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate it.

We are happy to learn that overall we met your expectations; we also take note of those ratings and comments, which indicate opportunity for improvement.

We hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in our Hotel or in any of the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in a near future.

Kind regards,

Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a magical 4 night-stay at this resort and all we can assure you is if you are looking for peace and quality relaxation then this is the place to be.

Check-in was smooth and quick and we were transported to the site on a boat. The place is clean, the beach is quiet and awesome, and unlike many other resorts in DR you don't get harassed by beach vendors. The room we were given 309 is very spacious with a nice balcony and a partial view to the bay, I want to thank Maria Celeste our cleaning lady as she did a wonderful job. The pools are gorgeous and quiet, perfect relaxation spots.

As for the food I strongly recommend the lobster dish at the Mediterranean restaurant, the Italian restaurant was ok as I don't really eat pasta but my wife enjoyed her dish, we also had some good food at the french restaurant. You know service is excellent when you are being asked all over the place if you need help or a drink.

One recommandation for the management though: - the lobby bar schedule should be extended for at least one more hour and closes at midnight as there is practically no night life in the premises other than the public beach, just work the staff transportation out.

We are very grateful for the room upgrade. I want to thank also Frantz, the reception supervisor for being such a great person.


Overall this was a wonderful stay, and we are definitely going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epz4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from all the staff in our Hotel Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination for this special occasion; we are delighted to hear that overall you had a great time in Cayo Levantado, celebrating such a special event in your life as it was your honeymoon, we were truly honored and happy that we have achieved your complete satisfaction, which is our top priority.

We highly appreciate your positive comments and we take good note from your suggestions to continue the hard working improving the quality in all our services. Your feedback and overall view of the Hotel allow us to better improve our daily commitment with quality to meet or even exceed your expectations and hopes while staying with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, best all inclusives in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Simona De Peña
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,036 reviews
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
63.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing