We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise but not 24 all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise but not 24 all inclusive”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband in July and loved it. The staff are all so good, the rooms are lovely and the location is great.
My only gripe is that Thomson's advertise this hotel as 24 hour all inclusive, but you cannot get a drink between 11pm and 10am unless you walk to the public beach (and that is only open from 11pm-2am) where you can only get local drinks in plastic cups, hardly 5 star.
Apart from that everything is fantastic.
A special mention to go to the following hard working staff who made our holiday truly memorable; Elias Tobia (exceptional service), Deter and Miguel P (Tinie Tempah) in the main restaurant, Virginia in the Lobby Bar (her smile would brighten your day), Raymondo and Eudy in Don Pablo restaurant, Martin at the Beach Bar, Adrianna and Pedro from the Animation Team and Delia that cleaned our room. Plus thank you to all staff behind the scenes that make the gardens look so beautiful.
It is a shame that Thomson's are not flying to Samana next year and are flying to Puerto Plata, adding a three and a half hour transfer onto the journey, this would prevent me from returning to this beautiful piece of Paradise!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Amanda A:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team. I have shared your nice words with all staff you have mentioned and they are very happy.
Related to your comments abot 24h all inclusive we have shared your comments with our Food & berverages manager to improove our standard.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,273
    736
    193
    72
    33
See reviews for
521
4,013
51
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A truly wonderful holiday stayed one week returned August 23rd just wished we stayed longer. We stayed in a deluxe suite in villa 10 views were breathtaking. Room itself was immaculate it came with a huge balcony which had a jacuzzi pure bliss! The grounds are breathtaking and a pleasure to walk around, Service is excellent by all staff members! Truly a escape from daily life you come back feeling rejuvenated would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We emailed ahead and asked for a room with a view and this was accommodated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rammi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Rammi2013:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from Cayo Levantado, one of our best holidays ever. The hotel is amazing, the staff superb and the gardens are immaculate. Food as been great during our stay, our favourite restaurant Don Plablo. The Italian has been my less favourite restaurant but I am Italian and very difficult to please when it comes to "my food"; my husband thought his dinner was very good. The divining instructor was very knowledgeable and friendly, the beach was also very nice but not as nice as the public one. Do not get intimidated by the stall sellers, one firm "no" was enough for us to be left alone.
We were staying at Villa 14, even thought it is close to one of the swimming pools, it must be the quietest hotel room we ever had. We went white water rafting, one of the best excursions ever, be prepared to a very early start but definitely worth it; the guys at Jarabacoa were incredible, I have never seen anyone enjoying their jobs that much. Planning to go back for the whales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patrizia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear patrizia w:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel while choosing a place to enjoy your holidays.
It is a satisfaction for us to acknowledge that you had a wonderful visit to our hotel facilities thanks to the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy and beverages. In Bahia Principe those aspects are part of our main target, and we work hard to turn them into our strengths. We are looking forward to welcome you next time, please contact us before your arrival and let you know If the whales has been seen by that date.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent Holiday so much so that we are going to change our booked holiday for 2014 to come back here.Staff, food, Cleanliness,hotel outstanding.Safari Tour and beach buggy Trip one of the best we have been on.Animation team Gustavo, Pedro and Ariel have become like our family making our holiday even better with the warmth and hospitality they showed towards us. We love you guys.
Only Negative side is the entertainment especially in the evening, it is still a bit hit and miss,the animation team have to catch the last boat home at 11.45 and when they leave the beach bar/disco tends to die off and people then leave even though it is open untill 2am , it would be better for them to stay longer for at least another 2 hours as they always get people up to dance traditional/modern and they definately make it more enjoyable.
Lastly the food was excellent but it lacked more traditional carribean food, however one day the animation team took us to the public beach,where they go on their time off between 1-3 and ordered some chicken rice and fried banana(loads more) for us to share.It was a brilliant experience as we were sitting on the beach with all the locals sharing a little bit of traditional culture. Thank you Gus,Pedro and Ariel.
Everyone was so friendly and the island is outstanding and beautiful everywhere you looked.
The Managers however do seem very strict on their staff, so when they say on your arrival let cayo levantado(hotel and staff) be your home, we then treated them like friends, but if they became to friendly with us they were warned off - relax managers, your staff always acted very proffesional and you should have more faith in their ability.
We were very sad to leave and wished we had had longer than 2 weeks.What a wonderful place and wonderful people and a wonderful hotel .Look forward to seeing you all next year .
Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 19101 over looking the sea, fantastic,beautiful,quiet,outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Karen101263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Karen101263:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Cayo Levantado Hotel. In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for you holidays.
We are very happy to read that you had a memorable stay thanks to the friendliness of our staff members, mostly entertainers, the beauty and the cleanness of our premises and facilities, and the good work of our staff. In Bahia Principe we are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest. On the other hand, I have shared your suggestions and comments related to alow our animation team sleep into the island to asure the entertainment til late, so we can work to improve our standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please, do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Find yourself surrounded by beautiful vegetation in a romantic setting topped with gourmet food. The activities staff at the beach make it very memorable. Look for Pedro, Ariel, and Ariana... they will make sure you have a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the central building overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnzoGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Yeissen:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team. I have shared your nice words with Pedro, Ariel and Adriana, so they are very happy.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The rooms, we were in a Villa, are a very high standard. The restaurants could not be faulted. An absolute idyllic location. The pools are very good as are the beaches.
We cannot praise the staff enough - they are all superb. Too many to mention individually, apart from Alexis.
Overall - the location and the holiday - Five Star.

Room Tip: We were in a Villa - Villa 3 - excellent views of the South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Teresa P:

In the name of Bahia Principe Hotel Management, I would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing a hotel for your holidays and for posting your experience.
In Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado we are committed to provide an excellent service through a high qualified team. We are committed to ensure a memorable holiday to our beloved guest.
We hope to welcome you soon, please contact us before your arrival,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It is my fourth Bahia Principe vacation, but I can say it is the best vacation in the Caribbean.
Found all the good and very good things from the other Gran Bahia Principe Ambar, Punta Cana: friendly hosts, great and varied foods (add piglet, rabbit, crocodile, lamb, and turkey to the regular fish, pork, chicken and beef), drinks (champagne any time in any place), large and clean room, and the wonderful garden.
Add the pretty secluded island resort, far from the crowd, vs. the immense Bavaro conglomerate that includes way too many resorts for the quiet, adult, and paradisiac environment we were looking for. They have a nice elevator taking you from the pool, up to the island's cliffs/mountain winding road.
The service is great, and the two units in the room ensure you never miss the AC.
I read lots of Trip Advisor reviews, many of the low rated ones, but they seem to describe an-OTHER resort.

I hardly wait to take my in-laws with us next time, probably in December.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Víctor L, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Adrian K:

I would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Cayo Levantado. In the name of the Hotel Management, we want to thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel when choosing a place for your vacations.
We are very satisfied to read that we could ensure you again a wonderful holiday. As you have experienced, in Bahía Principe we are committed to provide the best service and to be settled in one of the best paradises around the world.
We are already waiting for your next visit in December!!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
65.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
451 reviews
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 53 in Samana Province
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi (free of charge) Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing