We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whales (Las Ballenas)

The Whales (Las Ballenas)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This group of various-sized rocks creates a series of interconnected tunnels for divers.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having seen the sperm whales off Dominica last year I was pleased to find a cruise calling into Samana bay in February while the humpbacks are there, we booked. Going out in the small boat on the excursion was a little choppy to say the least and many of our fellow travellers succumbed to the motion, that made more room for us die hards to take pictures. It was good to see the locals respecting the whales and only 4 boats were close to the creatures at any given time the others waiting their turn. I got some great photos, and was lucky enough to get more from the cruise ship as we sailed in the evening, a really rewarding day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RuralRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    29
    13
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whale safari :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Seeing the whales is an amazing experience, but please stay away informal tours with local fishermen unless you want to be hauled around in a small motor boat at top speed each time a whale comes near the water surface, scaring the whales away and perhaps even putting them in danger of being hurt. We came to Samana to see the whales, but the "official tours" (Kim Bedall) were already fuly booked so we let ourselves be convinced - together with 4 other tourists - to take a tour with local fishermen. The hotel owner told us that they had permits and that the tour was basically the same than the "official" one. None of the rules and regulations set up for whale watching were respected as there were 5 motor boats trying to overtake each other and to come as close as possible to the animals to give "their" tourists a better look. Mid-tour, we all said that we'd had enough and asked the capitain to drop us off at the beach earlier than planned. Once on the beach (Playa Fronton), we could actually sight the whales much more frequently and it was much more pleasant (even if further away) from this perspective with the knowledge that we were not disturbing or harming them. Driving back from Las Galeras to Samana the day after, we also noticed several spots along side the road overlooking the sea that would be perfect for more sustainable whale watching. The hotel Vista Mare which has apartments overlooking the sea could also be perfect for that.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best experience in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

whale watching is by far the greatest thing I've ever experienced... While in Samana, must go to watch these beautiful whales around Samana between January and March

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Locobenetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whale watching is worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were there in whale mating season. Definitely worth checking out, we saw four or 5 different whales. Those who get seasick should be careful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We main reason we came to Samana was so that we could see the Whales & I'm happy to say that we did!!! IF you are wanting to see the Whales doing "tricks" & jumps high out of the air then wait & visit during February as that's when the males join up with the females & they start to "show off"!!!
Sooo amaaing!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whales (Las Ballenas) also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to The Whales (Las Ballenas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing