We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”
Review of Samana Bay

Samana Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$279.00*
and up
Samaná Waterfall Tour with Cayo Levantado from Punta Cana
More Info
$189.00*
and up
Day Trip to Los Haitises and El Limon National Parks
More Info
$128.99*
and up
Laguna Limón Day Trip from Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bay is best known for the frequency with which humpback whales and dolphins are seen here.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great little town to visit for anyone that is planning a trip to the Dominican Repbublic. It's an up and coming destination for cruise ships and is rapidly becoming the next tourist haven in the Caribbean. The most beautiful beaches in the world are found here along with very affordale hotels and dining. I would recommend spending at least 2 days there. Be sure to visit Cayo Levantado, Playa Bonita, Playa Rincon and the city Santa Bárbara de Samaná.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    70
    32
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easy walk for local color”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Samana is a newer stop for cruises and touted to be their eco tourism port. While we did not partake of any of the offered shore excursions, we did walk around town and enjoy the vibrant colors of the buildings, the open air market, and the nearby jungle.

This is not a beach friendly port unless you walk over the bridge to the hotel beach. The main bay has no nice beach and was strew with litter when we were there. The market and town were fun though. Lots of paintings by local artists for sale and typical island style clothing. In the nearby hills are lovely churches and there are maps of town posted in multiple places pointing out sites of interest for more extended walking tours. There is also a Casino of sorts, if you are looking for that sort of entertainment - but there hours seemed kinda wacky. I recommend walking around the port and town a bit to experience the local culture - as best you can during a short stop on a cruise. If you have the time and inclination explore across the bridge too (see review by NahanniRafter). It was a nice relaxing change of pace from the "glitz" of some ports - although that clearly scared some of our fellow cruisers away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank packinPnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Short Walk in and to Beauty in Samana Bay”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

While you are in the town of Samana, do try to walk out to Cayo Vigía. My husband and I did, and we were happy we did. We think you'll be glad you did also.

The walk provides numerous photo opportunities with views of Samana City, the port, the bay, Cayacoa Beach (public swim beach shared with hotel), and lush forests. You might also be able to take a swim here, though we did not. And oh yes, there is a geo-cache out there as well. There is no restrooms out on the island nor obviously on the bridge walk. The closest restroom is at the public beach.

The walk is not for the mobility impaired, nor stroller friendly. There are steep stone steps both on what I will call the hotel end, and on the cay itself.

How to get there: from then tender pier in town, you could walk about a mile or so along the waterfront to the start of the bridge (Brug Samana van Leona) Cayacoa Beach in front of the Hotel Bahia Principe Cayacoa. From the beach, it is about a half-mile walk.

If you are pressed for time, you could take a local taxi to the base. That is another adventure we did, on paved road and dirt road. The taxi was an open--sided cart seating four, pulled by a motorcycle. A more conventional taxi could take you to the hotel, then you could make your way to the bridge.

You actually cross two bridges, with one span being longer. Some of the path is through a small but beautiful forest, part is on stone steps. The bridge is very sturdy with fine sturdy railings on both sides.

I am sure most people see the island, and the bridge from a distance, but do not make the small effort needed to get there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NahanniRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whales with Kim”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Whale watching with Kim Bedall was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Kim is Canadian and has a very safe and large boat for whale watching. Her company is dedicated to protecting the whales in Samana and around the world. Awesome staff

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute place”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great place to be with friends and love ones, just to hang out and chill while having a Presidente beer and enjoying the view

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Locobenetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samana Bay also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to Samana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing