We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find out when it is blowing before going”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Boca del Diablo

More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Boca del Diablo also called "Devil's Mouth", is a natural attraction - a Blow Hole - located some kilometers away in the vicinity of the Town of Las Galeras
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Find out when it is blowing before going”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were on an ATV tour, and asked the guides to make the side trip to the Boca el Diablo after reading all the reviews. There are stunning views to be had, and there were creepy sounds coming from the mouth, but there was no water shooting out. The guide described what usually happened when it was blowing, but we were very disappointed to find we should have checked the ocean conditions first. If we go back, I will definitely try to see it again, but with some planning.

Note to parents: there is nothing keeping you from going right up to the hole, and I almost fell in, because you can't see it until you are right on top of it. Watch where you step.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank spike256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place when we did find it, was one of the most amazing things we had ever seen in the Dominican Republic and we have toured the 4 corners of the island! We drove ourselves which is how we like to do things, and the ride in was also very interesting, with the stalactites and caves. We ran into a local boy who displayed some great talents when climbing a palm tree!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shannonjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hard to get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

But worth the trip. However, combine this visit with an other trip such as playa . Dark stone, cave, marble mine to see...very nice !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank claire 1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Geological site seing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is just incredible. First à good experience to drive in this Virgin forest with à lot of "grotas" along the way, and to reach this unique site.
There is as well close to Fronto Beach you can reach by boat from Las Galleras

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We visited Boca Del Diablo (Mouth of the Devil) as part of a full-day ATV tour with Razor Tours. It is basically an opening thru' the rocks from which air and spray come out at tremendous speeds depending on the underlying wave action. We have never seen anything like it, and were amazed by the blowhole as well as the beautiful view of the sea you get from the rocks at the mouth. The only thing is that it takes a while to get here on rough roads, so if you are heading on to Playa Rincon afterwards, just be prepared for plenty of ATV drive time.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cooltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca del Diablo also viewed

Santa Barbara de Samana, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to Boca del Diablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing