We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with good service!”
Review of Bahia Chiquita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samana Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahia Chiquita
Ranked #42 of 68 Samana Province B&B and Inns
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay with good service!”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed in Bahia Chiquita for 2 nights in December 2010 (1 night in the gorgeous suite room and 1 night in a very nice double room) and enjoyed our stay a lot! Roberto, the Italian owner was very helpful. He is a great storyteller and gives good advice on what places to visited in the region. His Dominican house helper was our driver for a day. He only speaks Spanish but in a way you can manage to understand most of it if you speak a little Spanish, he is very helpful and gave some good explanations on the area. We first went to El Limon waterfall to ride with horses in the green and lush interior of Samana and drove further to Las Terrenas, had a nice stroll and relaxed on playa bonita and continued our journey back through the hills where we had an astonishing view to the seaside of las Terrenas and later a spectacular view to Los Haitises National Park and the Samana Bay. At the end of our trip, our local guide invited us to his home in a poor but very warm neighbourhood where all of his family lived. It was a great experience and are very grateful we were offered the chance to see this side of the Dominican Republic. The breakfast with a very nice view on the bay of Pascualas, was very pleasant. We got nice coffee, tea, delicious jams, fresh fruits and toasts. In the evening we were also invited upstairs where Roberto lives and has is charming office with sea view. We really appreciated the personal service and would recommend a stay at Bahia Chiquita for the lovely very beautiful decorated rooms, the peaceful surroundings, the nice breakfast with great views on the bay and the help of Dominican locals. We had hoped to see some tarantula’s in the garden (saw a death one) but unfortunately these animals are not that numerous and very shy. We were also assisted with the guagua transfers to Samana, only a 10minute ride away. There is a beachfront at the garden which we didn’t use, but from there it is an easy an nice walk along the sea to the end of the bay were many seabirds are active in finding fish. It is not the nicest beach to swim, but for a walk it’s perfect. There is 1 small restaurant at the beach where you can sit for a drink or enjoy a nice meal in the evenings if you prefer not to go to Samana City. We would definitely recommend Bahia Chiquita as a good base to explore some points of interest nearby!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you are looking for a 5 star all inclusive, all perfect hotel, look elsewhere. Bahia Chiquita is another kind of place. Rooms are clean and spacious, very originally and beautifully decorated, you can have breakfast with a sea view or use the jacuzzi out in the garden.
Yes, lights go out in Samana every now and then and the generator didn´t turn on immediately on one ocasion; yes, bread was rauchy sometimes, but fruit and coffee are great; yes the place doesn´t run like a clock but it´s all compensated the pleasent and funny personality of Roberto (owner) and the beauty of the place. Imagine going to your uncle´s, who happens to live in Samana, who knows the best spots, who can take you scuba diving and who has quite a few stories to tell.
Bottom line, highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarceloBellver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2009

I just got back from a vacation in Dominican Republic. Me and my friends were 3 days in Santo Domingo and 7 days in north of the country, in Samana Peninsula, at Bahia Chiquita, a beautiful villa closed to the beach with a romantic scenery. The rooms are very chic, built in caribbean style and very nice decorated and as well very clean.
If you want to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature, then this is the perfect place. If you want adventure and fun, then Bahia Chiquita is a very good choice. I say this because we had an offer very rich: we have found new places with beautiful and wild beaches, made scuba, made booster, also many trips like to Los Haitises and Cayo Levantado. The evenings we spent in the restaurants in Las Terrenas or Samana or just stay in “chiringo’’ and have fun.
The villa has a large yard, full of greenery and private beach, where you can sunbathe or play volleyball.
The staff was very friendly and all the time ready to please us.

Ok, we have a recommendation: it is very good to rent a 4x4, because the roads are not the best and in this way you can move easier in the area.

We agreed it was the best vacation we ever had. We are looking forward to another vacation in Bahia Chiquita.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Although you can never expect everything the web shows you, you can expect to get some comforts. Bahia Chiquita we're sure was grand in its day but unfortunately the owner has let the place get run down.
We had planned to spend a week here but unfortunately couldn't last but two nights.
The lack of attention was for the most part disconcerting. We were expecting to be guided to destinations on this very remote part of DR but were given none. It is very far from restaurants and food stores, so have a car or starve. Breakfast there was awful. Stale bread and fruit that had been put out hours before we dined.
Electricity we were told was a problem in Samana, which we experienced outages a few times. We were given flashlights. It sometimes took the owner 45 minutes to get his generator operating and once I had to ask him to please start it. When the electricity goes out so does the water and found myself lathered in the shower when this happened.
Roberto the owner needs to have someone else run this place because he is not paying attention to his guests needs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drink8648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We spent the Christmas holiday here in 2008. We stayed 10 nights and I can say that was the most beautiful experience we had. Bahia Chiquita is a splendid place, near the beach, built in a typical carribian style with a large courtyard beautifully arranged with palm trees and tropical plants. It was a pleasure to take breakfast near the ocean and to have an incredibly beautiful panorama. The staff was more than helpful and offered us very good services. And the owner ... absolutely great! Is a very charismatic man and offered us special moments spent here. He adviced us and help us to discover Samana Peninsula, the people from here and places downright fascinating, through different experiences: from the booster on a splendid waterfall to diving, from riding to Limon waterfall to discover the interesting and beautiful beaches like La Boca del Diablo, Playa del Valle, Playa Ricon, Playa Bonita, Playa Coson, Rio Frio, Los Haitises and much more ...
It is necessary to rent a SUV or 4WD car, because it will help a lot in your trip. The roads are not the best, but worth it to do all these trips.
Also worth trying the restaurant "Il Fantastico" in Las Terrenas. You can eat excellent here and you can dance on rhythms of merengue and bachata.

I would return to Bahia Chiquita anytime!!!

  • Liked — The style: typically carribian on the beach
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chupi_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Fata Morgana Guest House
Fata Morgana Guest House
#7 of 31 in Las Terrenas
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dominican Tree House Village
Dominican Tree House Village
#1 of 10 in Santa Barbara de Samana
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 3 in Santa Barbara de Samana
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Chiquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Chiquita

Property: Bahia Chiquita
Address: Las Pasculas | Dominican Republic, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Samana Province
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing