We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience On Our Honeymoon At Zoetry!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience On Our Honeymoon At Zoetry!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Over The Top in every area at Zoetry!

All the staff and services at the resort were Excellent. Food, The Best All Around. The size of the resort was just right for us, not to big or to small. The reason for picking Zoetry was the R & R we needed to just enjoy one another. Thanks Zoetry for helping us relax and make this trip all about our soul mates and our wonderful future together.

After arriving at the resort, I needed to call back home and the Free calls to any where came in very handy. Thanks Zoetry.

I would like to thank Anny Kerry for letting us use her iPad charger to charge our iPhones. After getting back home and unpacking we found our charger in the suitcase, HaHa.

The Chef's at Zoetry are the best! Thanks for catering to my off the menu request at any time.

Thanks to Alain and his staff at Zoetry Resort. You put us Over The Top!!

Room Tip: Beach Front will be my room next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having choice Zoetry Agua Punta Cana for your Honeymoon.

We appreciate such positive comment about your stay here.

Was my pleasure to lend you my charger, and is good to know you found yours.

All the Staff will be happy if we have the opportunity to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,280
    449
    179
    71
    57
See reviews for
504
2,801
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (876)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Returned two weeks ago from our 20th anniversary at Zoetry in Punta Cana. We researched several destinations in the Dominican Republic and chose Zoetry and am so happy we did. It was exactly what we wanted in a resort -- healthy food, extremely quiet and relaxed, small an intimate, and just a peaceful place to spend a week.
The people that work here are so friendly and kind and seem to really care about what you want in a vacation. They all greet you -- even the workers that were there helping to repair some of the hand made 2nd story walkways. There was a little construction going on but it did not interfere with our vacation at all. The resort is re-building all the walkways and staircases to the 2nd floor rooms.
We stayed in a suite on the water with a plunge pool. It was so relaxing to wake up each morning, have room service, then walk a few feet to the beach. We never had any trouble finding chairs at the beach or pool and sometimes we were the only people on the beach for an hour or two. Seems the guests don't really get up and do much until 10:30 - 11:00am.
Food was great. Two restaurants nightly to choose from. I've seen previous reviews that the food gets to be the same after a week but that's not true. Each menu has enough items on it to try something different every single night. One night we had BBQ on the beach which was a nice touch.
Pool area is perfect. Beds on the side of the pool were very comfortable and a great place to get some sun and read a book and cool off in the water when needed.
We had stayed at several caribbean resorts over the past 20 years and this would be one of the best. If you are looking for a party scene, don't come here. That's not what this place is for. It is for relaxation. Majority of the couples were newlyweds but we also met several celebrating their anniversary.
Drive from the airport is about an hour. The roads are fine -- compared to the roads in Jamaica, the road in the DR are almost perfect. It was a good time to see the countryside and see some of the local villages.
The beach area was extremely clean and well maintained. Not busy at all and it was so quiet and peaceful. I took several naps during the week.
Would we go back -- of course! I love the relaxation and comfort of this place.
Thanks so much to everyone who works here!!! You made our anniversary very special.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms and pool front rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NWABeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

We want to thank you for choosing us for your anniversary.

Thanks for this review, and for all these amazing things you said about our property, food, beach, service...

Is our pleasure to be at your service!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In a rather remote and beautiful place at just one hour from Punta Cana airport you can find Zoetry Agua. I was very surprised because most of the hotels in Republica Dominicana are focused in large amount of rooms, no personal service and a non sophisticated all-inclusive concept. At Zoetry Agua everything is different, the service is very personal, everything has been developed to be an elegant and exclusive place. The architecture is beautiful and responds very well to the environment, respects the scenery and makes you feel in a quiet place. The Spa is very well organized and carries some of the best treatments and products from Natura Bissé. This was a great surprised because such a sophisticated Spa brand goes perfectly well with this great hotel. Congratulations to all the staff, it is really a "Sophisticated Oasis" in Dominicana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOSE_CABRERA_HEDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation.

Thanks for all your comments about our property,

We look forward to welcoming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,541 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have recently returned from a 21 night multi-resort trip to Punta Cana where we spent 6 nights at Excellence Punta Cana, 3 nights at Zoetry, 6 nights at Secrets Royal Beach and 6 nights a Sanctuary Cap Cana. We also visited Paradisus Palma Real, The Reserve and Eden Roc at Cap Cana

This was our 30th trip to the Caribbean and our 11th trip to Dominican Republic. We have stayed in the North of the island twice and this was our 9th trip to the South having stayed at numerous top end resorts such as Excellence, Zoetry, Sanctuary Cap Cana, etc so we like to think that we have a fairly good well calibrated holiday measuring stick

In recent years we have rather fallen in love with the Excellence Group and have stayed at all their resorts on multiple occasions. However, a couple or so years back we thought that we should start to experience some new resorts as well which is why we became interested in AMResorts, as we saw them as having the same high standards as Excellence Resorts

We have now been to their Secrets Resorts in Jamaica as well as Secrets Maroma Beach and Silversands in Mexico, Sanctuary Cap Cana before they changed the management to Salamander. We have also stayed at Zoetry Agua & Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita and have visited Dreams Punta Cana

This was our third trip to Zoetry Agua [26th - 29th September]. Originally, we had not planned to stay at Zoetry as there was meant to be construction work going on as a result of them adding additional rooms but this has been postponed until next year. Instead we had intended to spend 3 nights at The Fishing Lodge at Cap Cana but in the month leading up to our trip we switched to Zoetry due to the very low occupancy at The Fishing Lodge and we are certainly very pleased we did

Our transfer from Excellence was seamless as you would expect as the two resorts are only a 5 minute drive apart. On arrival we were met by Alain the Manager of the property and our old sparring partner Pascal who was the Executive Chef at Sanctuary but is now the Residence Manager at Dreams Punta Cana

After being introduced to some of the team we were escorted to our swim up suite which was the same suite that we had last year, #14 or Suite Chikin. A nice touch and such a very simple one is that they personalise the name plate by adding the name of the guest or what they would like to be known as

Thanks to Zoetry for the upgrade in view of us being loyal repeat guests - as many regular readers of TripAdvisor will know we are lucky enough to travel a lot and are very well treated by the resorts we stay at. As I have said on many previous occasions such upgrades do not influence what I write or comment upon as my integrity over the years on TripAdvisor has been built upon my being honest and unbiased and all resorts know this and appreciate it

Reviews are but one person’s opinion of their trip and this is ours. Will it vary from other people’s experience – of course it will as we all have different expectations and holiday measuring sticks. Ours is fairly sophisticated as we are lucky enough to travel a lot and seems to match a lot of what other people who read TripAdvisor are looking for

As last year we loved the location of the room as it is very close to the beach and the Indigo Restaurant and gets sun most of the day - we instantly felt back at HOME. As you will see from the photos the vista across the pool with its sparkling clear blue water down to the beach with its tall palm trees set against a tropical sky is just wonderful

As you will also see from the photos it is a lovely room with a large open plan bathroom with a wet room type shower. We were assured that the AC was working properly this year and that certainly turned out to be the case

Last year we did have issues with the AC as the open plan bathroom area does not have AC and to make things worse the small toilet which is off this area has a slatted window so the warm tropical air gets in so it is advisable to keep the toilet door shut at all times. Personally, I would glaze these windows which would eliminate the heat problem and possible bugs getting in but that’s the style of the property

We opted to have lunch in the Indigo Restaurant which sits slightly elevated above the beach with great views on the ocean. We met a very excited Juan again as we had got to know him well from previous trips. Things then got a little complicated when a very smartly dressed young man came across and introduced himself as Oscar – we all instantly recognised each other but knew it was not from Zoetry. After a few seconds we then realised we knew each other from Sanctuary Cap Cana. Minutes later Ambloris the F&B manager appeared and we again recognised him from Sanctuary as well – such a small world, which is why we love to travel

After a great lunch and a long chat about Sanctuary which started us questioning yet again whether we should still go to Sanctuary for the final six nights of our trip we spent the rest of the afternoon on the beach where we met Francis one of the animators. Wonderful young man who we had heard so much about before our stay and I was able to pass on a message from some guests who had recently stayed at Zoetry on their honeymoon – mission accomplished!!

Our initial impression was that the resort was not quite as well maintained as in 2011. Some of the paths were beginning to show their age and the gardens did not appear as well groomed. In addition some of the pools are beginning to show wear and tear in one of two places – nothing too serious. Having the walkways renovated did not help as the wind blew sawdust and other wood debris into the pools, etc but the staff did their best to keep them clean

During our stay we had breakfast on the terrace at the Amaya each morning. A nice touch is that they have added a small buffet selection for those wanting a lighter breakfast or for people to snack on waiting for their order to arrive. The a la carte option was as good as ever as was the service – however, personally we did not think the food was as nicely presented as in previous years

For lunch we ate in the Indigo once, had room service once and on one day were taken up to Dreams to have lunch with Pascal – all were exceptionally good meals with great service

For dinner we ate in the Olena, Indigo and on our last evening attended their Beach BBQ which is laid on every Friday evening weather permitting. We did have the option of the wine pairing dinner on our first evening but gave this a miss due to our poor experience last year. Those we talked to who did attend thought it was very good indeed

I would say that the food we had in the Olena was not quite as good as last year – less flavoursome and not as well cooked – please note also that the restaurant does not have any AC so be prepared to be hot. As reported in my live from thread our meal in the Indigo did not go as planned as the main course arrived warm at best and the roast piglet was so tough you could not cut through it. The replacement dish of steak was superb and they were very apologetic about it our previous course not being right

Our best meal had to be the Beach BBQ and I can honestly say it is one of the best Beach BBQ’s we have ever been to. They had taken so much effort into setting the scene with properly dressed tables, etc – they had basically moved a restaurant setting onto the beach under the stars. They had a small group playing and the mood lighting was just right

There was a very good choice of entrees, hot and cold food some being cooked to order. Great company, great staff and service and a great atmosphere

In the evenings after our meal we drifted up to the Canoa Bar on the lobby and had such fun talking with other guests and being entertained by Francis and the trio of players they have. Zoetry will not be for everyone as it is very small and even when they add on the additional rooms it will still have under a 100. It is the sort of place where you have to be happy in your own skin and if you wish to mix with people you may have to make the first move - the Canoa Bar with its wonderful relaxed setting is an ideal place to do that

We just love the beach at Zoetry as it has that remote tropical island feel to it and the ocean in
front of the resort is much calmer than that at Sivory or Excellence

On our trip we did not have any problems with bugs or the UVC Reps. For us and several other guests it was great to watch a family of kittens playing in and around one of the villas from time to time

Such a great trip and one we are very glad we made – great people who make you feel at home from the minute you arrive. We could quite easily have stayed a couple more days but that was not to be this time round – will we return in the future - YES

During our stay as I said earlier there was renovation work going on as they were busy upgrading some of the upper wooden walkways and adding additional stairs so there was the background sound of power tools going on from time to time. You have to expect such work to be done in the low season especially as the work they were carrying out badly needed to be done as the walkways are just an accident waiting to happen

It will be interesting to see the impact that the addition of approximately 45 additional rooms etc will have on the resort next year – I am sure Alain and his team will do all they can to minimise the impact on guests whilst the construction is taking place.

On the flipflop_man 360 holiday scoring matrix which measures 14 different parameters which are important to us Zoetry Agua scored an impressive 296 this time round which is 6 down on last year

Should you be interested in seeing some photos of the wonderful resort please click on the link below to my new preferred online photo sharing website - SlickPic:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman/ZoetryAgua/photo?play#2217904

Best viewed in slideshow format

For photos and videos of other trips we have made feel free to check out

http://community.webshots.com/user/flipflop_man

Please note if you are reading this review after November 2012 all my albums will have been moved to SlickPic as Webshots is no longer suited to our photo sharing needs:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman

Please note that any time you enter the happy world of flipflop_man’s magic moments and memories it is always wise to have a drink in hand as there are always a lot of them to see – we are very lucky people.

As always I am happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank flipflop_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from all the Zoetry Staff.

We would like to thank you for this long valued review.

You are more than welcome in our property, and we really appreciate the time take it to post comments about this paradise!

We remain at your service!

Our Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First, what is right: 1) Foodservice was better than expected and very, very good overall. The quality of the food was 1st rate. The range of choices was 1st rate. The service was 1st rate. Room service was 1st rate. The value was 1st rate. 2) The beach and the grounds were very attractive and well maintained. 3) The room was well stocked and clean.

What was not right. 1) Roaches. Ok, the hotel is in the tropics. One expects the stray roach even in a first class resort. One does not expect the daily frequency we experienced. The HUGE roach in the bed was a real bummer - as one can imagine. As a precaution against infestation, we went so far as to unpack outside once home. 2) The "free" minibar is a great idea. Without a bottle opener it is useless. Three days to get a bottle opener. 3) The lack of air conditioning was a major problem. The AC worked about 1/4 of the stay. The room averaged 83 degrees with 90% humidity. Our complaints were ignored and the problem was NEVER ADDRESSED. A fan was delivered - by mistake - which made the room a little more habitable.

At this price point one expects AC and more attention to detail and fewer roaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seekthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, both the positive and the disappointing matters.

We apologize for the issues your encountered and address each of them, as follows, accordingly:

- Albeit we fumigate daily and sometimes even more, indeed in the middle of our tropical oasis sometimes nature still surprises us; we already beefed up our activity in this sense;

- We are very sorry it took us so long to provide you with an opener and have taken the necessary measures to fix this shortcoming;

- The A/C system is now fixed and we are sorry you had problems with it.

Should you need any additional information, please contact us at your convenience on Concierge.ZOAPC@ZoetryResorts.com .

In the meantime, we thank you again and look forward to getting a chance to welcome you once more to our wondrous paradise in the near future, so we can show you our improvements - and then have the Cigar !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this resort. My fiance and I were going to Zoetry Agua with the thought of getting married at the resort after a 10 day visit and speaking with the events coordinator. After reading such great reviews and hearing good things about the Zoetry Los Cabos resort from a good friend, we decided to give the Zoetry Agua a shot. Let me start with the good...

The resort itself is amazing - very clean, maintained, and if you're looking to have a romantic getaway, this is definitely the spot. There are no children at the resort, it's all inclusive, and away from everything. The resort is far from the airport, probably one of the furthest possible - we took a car ride which is about 40 minutes. We highly recommend using an outside transportation which is much cheaper. The outside transportation company is called Viator and is only $26 per person for a round trip. The only downside to the resort is the construction that is currently going on. Sometimes you wake up to the sound of hammering, sawing, and so forth.
Resort Rating: 5 stars

The check in time was not that great. The front desk person who checked us in had us wait at the lobby bar for about 10 minutes before telling us that our room was not ready therefore he was taking us to the restaurant by the beach. We had lunch which was pretty good and even after that, our room was still not ready. We didn't get into our room until about 1 1/2 hours after we checked in. Even then, we had to wait some time for our luggage to be brought to the room. Out of the many hotels/resorts that I've been to, Zoetry is definitely the slowest when it comes to check in/check out and getting your luggage.
Checkout Rating: 2 Stars

We had the room with the swim up pool which was very large and spacious. The minibar was filled every day with new drinks but they were inconsistent with the drinks and never refilled the snacks unless you called them. The only problems we had with the room was that there are no blinds/curtains in the bathroom so anyone walking by can look in. There were no drains in the bathroom so if you walk in and are wet, the floor won't dry quickly. The shower room w/ jacuzzi was large and spacious but the drain in the shower was not placed well and the water does not drain properly. We called the front desk to bring a squeegee or broom so we can push the water into the drain but they never sent it. The water in the tub sometimes came out yellow but there's nothing you can really do about that. The iHome in the room did not pick up any local radio stations. They brought us a replacement but the replacement didn't pick up any stations either - we later learned that guests who have been there before brought their own satellite radios because they knew of the issues.There were an abnormal number of ants in the room. We left a box of desserts on the counter for no more than 5 minutes and found it covered in thousands of ants. The DVD player in the room didn't work. The A/C didn't go below a certain temperature and sometimes shut off on it's own so we would sometimes wake up sweating but for the most part it did the job.
Room: 4 stars

The restaurants had pretty good food (most of the time). The options they offer are very good but after a while, you notice they all start to taste the same. A lot of the dishes used too much salt and not enough of other seasonings. The meats are usually overcooked and the seafood is usually undercooked except for shrimps which were very overcooked. They did a beach cooking demonstration where you also were able to see the insane amount of salt added to food and how extra large shrimp shriveled down into small shrimp.

Olena probably had the best food that we ate. Amaya was mostly used for breakfast, the food was OK but not enough variety. Indigo was where we usually ate because our room was close to it and the beach was close to it. The food was always the same so you get sick of it quickly except for their special of the day which was usually what I ate in order to not get bored with the food. Room service was made up of Indigo and Amaya's food, nothing from Olena. The orders were very slow, usually orders took over 45 minutes, there was one night where we waited for food for 2 hours and fell asleep so by the time it came, we didn't eat it, we just slept. If you have food allergies, you'll definitely be complaining a lot and sending a lot of food back, the order takers/front desk and kitchen seem to be disconnected. My fiance has mushroom allergies but they kept sending food covered in mushrooms even after giving them warning. Our friends also had allergies to certain foods and had the same issue therefore we wasted a lot of food and a lot of time. Another thing I didn't like about the food was that it was always inconsistent - sometimes food came with a specific side dish and later it would come with another. One night we placed an order for 2 of the same dishes and we both got different sides.
Food: 3.5 Stars

The pool outside of our room was clean and done so every morning (sometimes they started late so we couldn't use the pool) right away. The pools could use some maintenance but not a major overhaul - maybe they should shut down one pool at a time to fix them. One thing we didn't like was that the pools close very early even though one was right outside of our room. We also didn't like that just anyone could come use the pool attached to our room - one night we had a rowdy group of people swimming in the pool at 1AM when we were exhausted and trying to sleep so we had to call security.
Pool: 4 Stars

The staff is probably the best part of the trip but even there I had some issues. The staff for the most part is very friendly and tries to accommodate you in every way - if it was possible, they would try. They constantly check on you to see if you're OK and they make polite conversation. The only issues I had were sometimes they overstayed their welcome for example, when I was having breakfast with my fiance and trying to spend time alone with her, sometimes the staff would stay at our table talking to her for 20+ minutes which made me feel disrespected and annoyed and in turn it caused me to shoo away certain staff members which I knew were like that. Juan was probably the best staff member we encountered, he was very friendly, tried to do everything to make us happy, and kept us updated with everything going on at the resort - in my opinion, he should be promoted to the Director of Activities or one of the staff managers.
Serving Staff: 4 Stars
Juan: 5 Stars

We met with the event coordinator, Xiomara who was very helpful, friendly, and open to helping us plan out our wedding.
Event Manager: 5 Stars

The laundry staff takes forever to show up to pick up and drop off laundry. You're told that free laundry is done within 24 hours but it usually took a little longer than that. We had to call several times for laundry to get picked up and dropped off.
Laundry Staff: 1 Star

Housekeeping was very inconsistent. On some days they did amazing jobs and on other days it was very mediocre. There was one day where we left a Pringles can on the floor by the chair to see if it would ever get picked up but it was left there for 2 days before anyone picked it up.
Housekeeping: 3 Stars

The game room was OK, the pool table was good but all of the quick games were missing pieces. The internet cafe had 1 PC and 1 Mac, both were very slow and need to be maintained. The resort's wifi was very slow and inconsistent. The gift shop was extremely overpriced (and this is coming from a New Yorker). We didn't try the cafe or the gym.
Amenities: 1.5 Stars

The resort had a lot of dinner gatherings so that guests could mingle with one another - this was very fun and we met some good people and another couple which we spent a lot of time with at the resort. The resort also has complimentary horseback riding which was fun. You gather on the beach and ride out of the resort along a trail then back to the resort. It's about a half hour and very fun. Afterwards, they offer you a souvenir CD and bottle of rum with your photo for $35 which was nice. They also have non-motorized water sports which is complementary.
Entertainment: 5 Stars

The spa offers everyone a free 20 minute massage which is great. The daily newsletter they slip under your door offers discounts on spa services for the next day (but they tell you you have to book 1 day in advance?) The spa services are priced in line with NYC pricing or are a little less expensive but if you start to doze off (or pretend to like I did), the staff stops and starts chatting or leave one hand on you to seem like they're giving you a treatment. Overall, I recommend the massages. All together, we spent about $800 in spa services after discounts.
Spa: 3.5 Stars

The private beach dinner offers a few different options based on different price levels. The front desk was not flexible with this. My fiance had some food allergies or did not eat certain foods and they would not allow us to do any substitutes (even if we offered to pay the difference or get credits), they only allowed us to purchase a higher package and downgrade certain items therefore we had to do the highest level private dining package and substitute with items from the lower level items. All together, we spent about $300 in the private beach dinner.
Beach dinner: 4 Stars

At one point during our trip, we had the concierge hire us a private chauffeur for the day (outside company). We had some wrong information provided to us when we booked the chauffeur. We were originally told the cost would be $260 for the day then we were told $300. We were also told by others that we were overcharged severely but we expected it since we had the resort do the work for us. After our day, we paid the chauffeur $300 and a $60 tip. Later that night, the front desk called us while we were in our room and asked how much we paid and told us that the cost was only supposed to be $260 even though they told us $300.
Chauffer: 5 Stars
Front Desk: 1 Star

The security on the resort seems non-existent and very wasteful. During the day, we only saw one person on the beach who seemed to serve as security and as a lifeguard. At night, you only see one unarmed security person patrolling the entire resort with a flashlight. There was one day when 2 security staff members were sent to capture some wild baby kittens on the property - sadly it looked like a comical version of COPS. The night before we left, we went to go find our friends at the bar, we were out of our room for 30-45 minutes and when we got back, we found out that we had many belongings stolen from our room -- phone, watches, jewelry, and cash. We had the "Shhh..." sign on our door so that the turndown service wouldn't come while we were out. So it looks like someone was very bold and probably watching us. At first we thought it was another guest but one of the individuals used my fiance's stolen iPhone and was taking pictures which led to his arrest when we were home, it turned out the be staff members!
Security: 1 Star

The front desk told me that the police wouldn't be involved because they had their own security and way of handling situations like this. The worst part about the situation was that the front desk and security tried to insinuate we were drunk when it happened. They asked the bartender and other staff what we were drinking when we were at the bar - they were surprised when they learned we didn't drink, we had Sprites. They also tried to insinuate that our friends that we were meeting had stolen our belongings but were shocked again when we told them that we said goodbye to our friends in the pathway before we went to our room. The security then said they would investigate everything and they came to our room and did a search - again it seemed very wasteful, they were using flashlights and looking behind the safe, behind the refrigerator, etc - they might as well have tried to look under the rugs! They then said they would do research and give us answers in the morning. In the morning they had no answers except that they tried to say that no one entered our room while we were out. We were very unhappy especially because the majority of our photos/videos were on my fiance's iPhone but we agreed to not let it ruin our vacation, the fun we had, and our thoughts of the resort - we agreed that when we got home, we would leave Zoetry Agua a 5-star rating but then that changed.

When we were back home, I sent a few emails and left a few messages for the resort but never had any calls/emails returned back. I later emailed the event coordinator, Xiomara who ended up keeping me informed with everything going on. I also updated Xiomara when we learned one of the individuals involved in the theft was taking pictures with my fiance's iPhone and the pictures were going to our computers at home because of iCloud. The photos led the the arrest of one person who was a staff member. We called and emailed without answers until my fiance's mom called up (who works for the President of DR) and they decided to start giving us answers.

I was directed in circles to speak with the local police who were handling the case and then told to speak to the resort who would have answers - the process has been extremely slow. I was then told that my fiance's iPhone was being held as evidence by the police, then told that the police were sending it to the resort rather than sending it to me because the resort wanted to handle it as they were warned by my fiance's mom that there would be a Presidential block put on the resort. The resort decided to take ownership and offered to have the phone and copy of police report driven 3 hours away to give to her personally.

As I never heard back, I started to get fed up with the resort and my fiance called them. She spoke to Alain, who claimed he was about to call us that same day in a couple of hours (yeah right! weeks after the incident, we're finally going to hear from the general manager?) He offered to comp our vacation but never did. It ended up being a run around also as my fiance's mom ended up having to go there to collect the items. The day before she was supposed to go, I was never notified by the resort but she was notified by the resort that they wanted some sort of email documentation allowing them to release the items to her.

So far - never received a credit and never received a single call back which is a shame. My fiance and I still wanted to consider this location for our wedding but the lack of communication and the matter not being a top priority has probably caused us to lose all faith in all of the Zoetry resorts.
Management: 1 Star

Long story short, it's great for the location and (most of) the waitstaff. The management and kitchen staff definitely need a major overhaul if they want to be at the top.

If only they were more communicative and sincere/apologetic about what had happened, we would have overlooked a lot and possibly given them 4 or 5 stars. I was tempted to give them 1 star but will give them 2 stars because most of the staff was very good, especially Juan!

Room Tip: Although the pool entry rooms are great you may not be happy that the pool isn't private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank doggyDASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guests:

We thank you for your feedback.

We are truly sorry about the issues you encountered, many of which we are somehow really surprised to hear about at this point in time…especially, as when our honorable patrons timely and sincerely converse with us during their stay - and even afterwards -, firstly we of course are always as apologetic as expected, then we do follow through completely on our communications, and therefore are usually pretty much able to ultimately solve their inconveniences, etc., in a mutually-satisfying manner.

Furthermore, being the 5-star hotel that we indeed are (and even though stealing can unfortunately happen anywhere in the world), in this isolated case we know we definitely went over and beyond our means in order to properly and thoroughly take all the necessary measures, such as actually being able to effectively & efficiently catch the thief, and by the same token in fact also recuperating the only item reported as specifically missing on-site: the iPhone in question…

Anyway…Thanks again, best regards and good luck !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Zoetry exceeded expectations in almost every area. If you want a lot of activities every day (and night), this is not the place for you. If you want to relax and unwind, this is the place for you. We went here for our honeymoon and had a suite that included a private plunge pool that we used every day. Rooms were serviced three times per day. Food was fabulous. There were only 53 rooms, so there was never a line for a meal or a problem getting beach chairs. Everything was top notch. The staff was friendly and attentive. Food and alcohol were great and top quality. The beach and pool were stunning. The spa was amazing. Our only complaint was that the menus at the restaurants did not change. Since I am a pescatarian, that left me with only about four choices for lunch each day. Those choices were all very good, but I would have liked more choices. We will go back to Zoetry for sure. This was the week of a lifetime!!!!

Room Tip: We booked the Caribe Suite which include a private pool and outdoor shower/tub. Both were amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Zoetry Agua for your vacations, and for considering us the most amazing place you had visited.

We also want to thank you for posting this review.

Was our pleasure have you here and be at your services.

We look forward welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
3.3 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Property: Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Agua Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located along a 200 yard stretch of pristine beach on the easternmost Coast of the Dominican Republic in Uvero Alto, Zoetry Agua Punta Cana is a sanctuary of supreme relaxation integrated with nature. With 96 ultra-luxurious suites nestled throughout the beautifully-manicured gardens of this oceanfront Caribbean resort created from natural stones, hardwoods, cathedral ceilings and cane-thatched roofs, guests can spend afternoons swimming in the calm, tranquil ocean waters, under a palm tree in one of the inviting lounge terraces, or staring out at the beautiful garden or ocean views from their own private terrace or balcony. Zoetry Agua Punta Cana provides guests Endless Privileges® offering them limitless access to lavish amenities and services that include four gourmet a la carte restaurants, three bars and lounges, while the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 41 additional dining and entertainment venue options at nearby sister properties. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Amaya. Or stay in and order room service. It’s all available at any hour day or night. The resort also features a luxurious spa filled with Natura Bisse products and an extensive menu of unique and indigenous body treatments. A full-service fitness center, salon and meeting facilities are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zoetry Agua Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing