We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,756)
Filter reviews
10,756 results
Traveler rating
4,235
3,019
1,673
950
879
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,235
3,019
1,673
950
879
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barcelo premium gabriel chocolate julio iglesias quiet pool swim up bar rock climbing wall renovated room ocean view the mexican restaurant kids pool a la carte restaurants beautiful beach seafood great vacation palm trees picky eater family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
5,615 - 5,620 of 10,756 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We just returned from a 2-week all-inclusive stay at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Please keep in mind, we are two people who have travelled many parts of the caribbean, and to say the least we don't always stay in 4-star hotels, sometimes 2-stars that are FAR better than the service/standards at the Barcelo Punta Cana. We were told this was a VERY classy place for us to stay for two whole weeks and didn't hesitate knowing it was formerly a Breezes Superclubs resort - which we've stayed at during our travels all over the caribbean. Our excitement upon arrival in the Domincan quickly faded with the poor check-in service and the endless wait to be shown to our room. When we entered our room (top floor) we encountered an EXTREMELY offensive smell (we thought it was the sewage system, septic tank - whatever). It didn't go away and the attention to this stench was POOR. We addressed it for 3 days until something was done...we were never told what the problem was until a VERY nice grounds person told us - there were DEAD RATS in the ceiling...rotting and thus, the foulish stench - NOT 4-star quality. I was disgusted, and for a day or two we didn't have hot water. We were shifted from room to room and to be quite honest, this resort facility was not up to par. It's an old hotel, and the rooms MUST be upgraded for the price you're paying and a level of comfort. The bathroom definitely needs renovating, mould in some parts, poor ventilation, etc.
The hotel staff were pleasant, the food was excellent, the beach, we rate as one of our top 5 that we've visited thus far in the caribbean (Jamaica and Grand Cayman is #1 and #2 respectively). The room cleaning needs a little more attention, cleaning was not done thoroughly on a daily basis, which is not good hygiene in our eyes. You want it clean as home, and there were times I took a used towel and wiped the floors, and dusted as well...which was a shame considering we paid good coin for this 2-week holiday. Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, but the one beside us - The Barcelo Bavaro Paradise was by far, much more appealing - and considered one of the top notch hotels on the strip from what other visitors had mentioned as well.

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank Sha-Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Stayed at the Barcelo from 1 Jan 07 for 2 fun filled weeks. After reading reviews we were nervous about the hotel. No worries though, got a very nice room in block 5 overlooking the gardens. Maid service very efficient, leave them a little tip! We had a small flood and maintenance attended to it within the hour. Buffet restaurant took a little getting used to, just be particular about what you chose! The speciality restaurants were good, especially the Japanese. A lttle patience is needed at the bars but you get served eventually, try the Coco Loco! Fab beach and not too crowded, watch the waves though, they can be wild! Hotel is a little shabby round the edges but all in all very nice, would def return! Highly reccommend the Marinarium visit. Snorkelling with sharks & rays! Give the Seaona Island trip a miss, long journey and beach disappointing. Already thinking of booking next winter!

Stayed: January 2007
16  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

The resort was great!! Unfortunately we joined the VIP Club while we were there and got ripped off through our credit cards. We have been trying to get our money back for months to no avail.

In conclusion, I recommend the resort wholeheartedly but do not get involved with the VIP Club!

Disappointed in Carleton Place, Ontario

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank middlepye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

I thought this place needed an overhaul. Dirty, half of our 60 people group got sick, rooms were not acceptable and falling apart. Staff was ok. Shows were a joke. Drinks were horrible. I have stayed in better motel 6's.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kh808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

When it comes to travelling nothing makes me happier than good service. This hotel was lovely, the pool was excellent and the beach, well lets just say i hated to leave. BUT if you wanted a glass of water with your meal, a drink at the bar, a question at the reception desk answered you better give up before you bother, Every meal and i mean every meal, our family of five could not even get served. You would stop and ask someone to bring you water and at the end of the meal still no water. This went for the bar and reception as well. Our shower did not work properly when we arrived, let the front desk know and it still did not work properly when we left, i am not even sure if they came to look at it. I was very disapointed with the entertainment as well. The shows at night were very minimal. I will not go back. I understand the hotel just went through management changes but this is still no excuse.

Stayed: January 2007
11  Thank Biener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews