We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Caribe
Nearby Hotels
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$324
$281
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$297
$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$633
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,116)
Filter reviews
10,116 results
Traveler rating
4,004
2,837
1,552
890
833
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,004
2,837
1,552
890
833
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabriel chocolatequiet poolswim up barclub premiumrock climbing wallocean viewkids pooltex mexa la carte restaurantsbeautiful beachseafoodgreat vacationpalm treespicky eaterfamily vacationa lot of funrecommend this resort
Filter
Updating list...
3,395 - 3,400 of 10,116 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm going to start off by addressing some negative reviews... There are bugs in the room, but they are teeny tiny ants. Colorado ants are monstrous compared to these. I hate bugs and thought the room would be filled with cockroaches from the other reviews. That's not true, and those people are dramatic. They weren't a bother at all.

Background on me: I'm not a princess traveler. I've been to 3 star resorts in Cancun and been more than pleased. Give me a cocktail, the ocean, and some eye candy and I'm pretty happy. I only say this so you can understand my review better.

PROS
The resort is gorgeous and the rooms are clean. There is always staff around, and the activity staff are super fun and friendly. The beach is great, there are lots of water activities, and I never had issue finding a lounger. (I also went in the down season). Towel service was also easy. Showers were hot, they had ice water all over for easy drinking, and there is a super cute coffee shop that makes good espresso.

CONS/NEUTRAL
The food is so-so. The fruit, dessert, and bread are amazing. The meats are alright. The buffet selection is good, but unchanging. For a buffet, it was good. I was most disappointed in the restaurants. The food wasn't "restaurant" nice. It was just alright. Not bad, not great.
Other reviewers complained about check in. I agree that it took forever. Every time I had to deal with the front desk, it was at least half an hour. Super annoying. Try and not show up right at 3.
Cocktails! SUCH a disappointment. The daiquiris and piña coladas are dumped in a 7/11 type machine and then rum is added. C'mon, it's the Caribbean, use real coconuts!

And some tips:
The Dominican doesn't have first world electricity. Expect power outages. I recommend you bring a travel clock that is battery powered... In case you need to set an alarm :)
Bring bug spray! There are mosquitos and sand fleas. And sunscreen. It is super expensive at the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Gabby,
First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community.
We would like to thank you for highlighting our strengths and weaknesses. Please be sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us
We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
Warm regards,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Barcelo Punta Cana was a fantastic place for a quick getaway to the Caribbean. Service was great, always friendly. I went with a premium suite which was outstanding, though a quibble with the radio that did not work and was not fixed per my request. Property was beautifully maintained, the food at each restaurant and buffet was very good, always fresh and well-prepared, with great variety. Pool and beach are gorgeous. The Premium Club lounge was excellent for extra service and more private drinks and appetizers. With a little more attention to detail, they could probably earn a fifth star. For the amount I paid -- this trip was 20% less expensive than most Cancun trips on the market -- I was very happy. Looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Ben,
Thank you for having chosen Barceló Hotels & Resorts and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
It is nice to read that you had a great family vacation and to see that you acknowledge the service received.
We hope to welcome you in any of our Barcelo Hotels & Resorts where we are recognized for our commitment to excellence customer service.
Warm regards,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had such a great time at Barceló Punta Cana in June 2013. The service received was exceptional from the front desk to the room service. It was just awesome. That being said, I made a second trip in August 2013. It was even better. The hotel manager( Sandy Pfeir ) invited us to a Gala Dinner in the El Mirador. It was something I could not miss. The Tequilla was 100% with personalized service. My room was always fresh with a basket of fruits, fridge well stocked and even Dominican Rum as a warm surprise. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpentaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for writing such a nice report here on Trip Advisor and for spending your holiday once again at Barceló Punta Cana.
It is a great pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Services.
On behalf of all staff I would like to thank you for your nice words of recognition for our work. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and we are very glad to read that we accomplish that goal during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Barceló Punta Cana.
Kind Regards
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was an all-inclusive resort which we enjoyed thoroughly as we were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful beach. The water was refreshing and we always found chairs on the beach in the sun and in the shade. The quiet pool was fantastic as there was no music blaring and my parents could converse freely with other family members. We ate at the Dominican, Mexican, French, and Japanese restaurants as well as the buffet. The food at each was very tasty with attentive service. The shows were not that great but the singers and DJs were very good. Everyone was very friendly especially Jacobo at the beach bar. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmarti49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us in general and you will keep a good memory of Punta Cana and our Hotel.
Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This resort stunned us with how terrible is was. The first room we were in leaked like a sieve - tried to phone front desk - phone wasn't working. Beds headboards were torn out of wall. Bathroom smelly. Tile floors extremely old. They moved us to a room right above the main buffet. 6 o'clock in the morning we were up because of the noise in the breakfast buffet. That went on until 11 at night after they cleaned up the restaurant. Room didn't have back curtains, only the main curtain, that was torn! Food was mediocre. Way understaffed. Had to use same beach towels for the WHOLE week, as they didn't have enough towels. Every morning there before the open towel stand, then they only have +-20 new towels!!! FOR THE DAY for whoever was there first. This resort use their beautiful beach to try to compromise for the worst ever accommodation. We've stayed at Barceló Mayan Tropical (wonderful experience) and Barceló Palace Deluxe in Los Cabos (fabulous), so we thought we can be save booking a trip to Barceló. And this trip cost us CAD$7800 for a family of 4 for 1 week. Worst money spend ever. Will not visit Punta Cana again and most certainly not this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank SavvyTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen Barceló Hotels & Resorts and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
We really appreciate your valuable information. Feedback from our clients gives us the opportunity to evaluate our development and help us to improve our services.
We deeply regret any negative situation you have experienced.
It would be a pleasure if you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Barceló Hotels & Resorts, your all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.
Always at your disposal,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews