We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party of 25, the GOOD, the BAD and the very UgLy!”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
MIchigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Party of 25, the GOOD, the BAD and the very UgLy!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had our destination wedding here on June 21st and invited 23 other guest to attend. I have asked all of them to summit a review of their own. We also stayed four days at Barcelo Palace Deluxe and I will mix in the differences in this review.
GOOD:
The wedding department is a true assets to any destination bride! Ariana was very quick to answer all my emails and many questions throughout the last year. Evelyn is a true Angel, as I met with her she arranged all my package amenities, and assured me if I needed anything to contact her and she DID follow through with everything! Our wedding day was beyond perfect, beach party after the ceremony is a MUST! Food at Marlin for the reception was very good we picked menu 3. Our cake was good and the entire day was flawless. Dominican trio playing the wedding song followed down the isle and played us our first song after our vows. Perfect day!!!!
Other good aspects of his resort are the ladies in the club premium, Rosa, Yessica and the two Russian girls went out of their way to provide a place of solace for this stressed out bride! It's has wifi, air conditioning, endless top shelf drinks, snacks and lots of smiles! These girls will move the earth for you and anyone else who has purchased the club premium, it's a must at this resort!
Ala cart restaurants are good in my opinion we didn't get sick once. We spent four days at the Barcelo Palace Deluxe and my stomach was always in knots! The breakfast buffet where Fabio works some magic on the omelette station, ate one every morning.
Pools were very nice, beaches were ok (sand flees!!!!) very wavy and lounges need to be replaced, but where always available. Clean ocean, at both resorts but Palace Deluxe takes it for a better beach and ocean setting, very calm!
Rooms (3236) premium suite pool view, very loud when pool activities are going on, very clean ( some ants) we got lots of towels and beverages everyday. Also club premium guest always have dinner reservations every night and can be changed prior to dinner if you want. Spa services are very good, not aesthetically pleasing but their services are five stars. There is a bit of a language barrier, bring a photo of what you want. I had my hair, nails, make up and a couple message and all where amazing! The activities at the pool are fun, loud but entertaining.

BAD:
Weekend during this time is very busy as they allow local Dominicans to visit this resort with day passes. They take over the pools, bars and buffet!!!! Barcelo Palace Deluxe doesn't allow this! Dress code was not enforced at any restaurant, guest in board shorts and looking very casual. Beverages are served in very flimsy plastic cups, bring double insulated (Tervis) cups to dump your beverage into or else it's a melted watered down mess. Very large resort and floors are very confusing. As we had many guest and our TA booked us together it was still a hike everyday and confusing. The nightclub is a complete joke people, smells moldy and is located in the very sketchy basement. Also the departure shuttle for the airport arrives earlier then the time given so be in the lobby before the time they give you!
Ok the UgLy:
First of all my moms room was not ready till 6:30 pm them the air conditioning didn't work, she asked to be moved and they refused, said they were full. After many many angry phone calls and put through to the managers answering machine, we threatened to call our TA and have the entire group moved. Only then did they not only get a new room but an upgrade to club premium, why was this not available he first time. Ugh!!!! Many of our guest has their medication stolen and they know what they are looking for. My cousin had back surgery two months before this trip and because the staff stole her meds she was left in horrible pain. She did visit the doctor here and so did my MIL also because her medication was stolen and he was very good. The guy working in the lobby selling T-Shirt designs also sells cocaine, something needs to be done about this! We did contact security and filed a complaint about the medication but the drug dealer was dropped on me after we left. Do not eat the bread or rolls as the birds have a field day with them. They are always flying around the food buffet. Americans I didn't once see any ranch dressing, complete bummer! LoL My husband and his pals booked the scuba, poor instruction and they felt like they didn't prepared them for the excursion completely. It was very rustic and dangerous not for a beginners.

Airport- huge hut with tarmac service only. They day we left Deltas counter service was down and they had to write out 400+ people's boarding passes and luggage tags! Talk about a nightmare with a 19 month old and an medicated back surgery patient! We were moved to the front and dealt with promptly but I felt horrible for everyone else leaving that day. It's a third world country people and it shows. We will be giving our TA an update and will never recommend Punta Cana as a destination.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, again our congratulations for your wedding; wishing you a happy life together! We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Your special mention of the staff, like Ariana and Evelyn that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our resort and staff.
We really appreciate your comments, we have taken note and we will certainly consider them, as it will help us to continue to improve our services. Our main goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction to which we assure you for your return stay.
Please feel free to contact myself directly when you are travelling to Punta Cana again so it will be a pleasure for us to have you as our guest again. We will work to make you enjoy your vacations.
Sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,599
    2,508
    1,364
    806
    751
See reviews for
3,401
2,693
202
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's the fourth year my family and friends have stayed at the Barcelo Premium Resort in Punta Cana. The hotel is lovely, the accommodations and food are excellent. The beach and pool areas are fun filled and relaxing. The staff are welcoming and do their best to make your vacation memorable. We have never had a bad experience and look forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimkat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to read that your stay was another great vacation at the Barcelo Punta Cana! We appreciate all your positive comments regarding our restaurants, service, staff, rooms, and the fantastic beach.
Looking forward to seeing you soon in the future for your 5th visit!
Warmest regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We Have Been Saving For This Week Vacation and looking forward to it for 3 month, day arrived, we left Orlando for a vacation in Punta Cana, arrived at hotel minus our luggage, it took 1 day and a half to get luggage.
The Food in this place was horrible, the specialty restaurant which in a week you get 4 passes to eat at the special ones, dominican, japanese, italian, seafood and steak,were just as bad, like been in Cuba, the rest of the time you get a buffett, breakfast not bad, dinner couldn't be any worse, they have a hamburger and hot dog stand by the swimming pool, and this young man that they have working there thinks that he has the right to talk to every woman like if he was running a prostitution ring, they are suppose to have a pizza joint, which we only found opened 2 times in a week, the bar is very hard to get a drink that its worthed anything, the room was cleaned pretty good, but they never would leave enough towels, ants running everywhere in the room, on top of bed and counters, i would not recomend this hotel to anyone, spend a little more but eat a better quality of foods, we went to the Hard Rock for a day and we couldn't get over the difference, if that's all you can afford? know this after a few days of eating the same for breakfast, having the leftovers made into something slight different for lunch and dinner, you would get sick.
There were a few friendly people, a young man named Diego in the Buffett, a young lady named Fatima in the consierge desk, a young man named Luis in the Front desk ,thanks to him for rushing them to get our luggage since we had a diabetic with us which needed insulin shots, both seating hosstess at the buffet, stay away from the young lady working the beach towels and the snack outside, they deserve to be fired for their attitude alone, spare yourself an aggravation on a vacation and stay at a better resort.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean, pool area, the water is very rough in this area it is not the caribbean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2shrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service . Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future, in order to be able to change any negative perception you may have about us!
Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

. I travel for a living and stay at a lot of amazing hotels around the world. I don't understand some of the reviews that people have left on here about the barcelo Punta Cana. This place was clean, the staff was great and the drinks were strong. The only thing that sucked was the fact we had trouble getting dinner reservations. We have stayed at all-inclusive's before, and didn't have a problem getting dinner reservations at other resorts. It is pretty hard to get a reservation for the restaurants at dinner it doesn't help that every night there is one restaurant that is closed and that there are parties of 30 people. We were only able to make one reservation at a reasonable time, the hotel had already booked us a dinner at 9:30 pm for one night, needless to say we did not go to that reservation because it was way too late. They need to figure out a better way to help guest get reservations because my idea of vacation does not include standing in a line at 8:45 am to get a reservation for the two spots they have open in one restaurant.
That is the only thing I would change, the staff is great and they are so nice and friendly. We got to know a couple of staff, in the dominican republic they make a miserable amount of money for the amount of work they do. please tip them when you can I know it's an all inclusive but if you knew their stories you would try to do more. It's amazing that the staff can be so nice and friendly knowing how much these people really make and how much suffering there is in this country. Especially when the store at the hotel charges guest $37 for sunblock, that's what some of the staff makes in one week. It was definitely a humbling experience that I never expected. We met a lot of really cool people. This was a great trip and I recommend barcelo Punta Cana if you want to be in a secluded area. Great experience despite getting bitten alive by the bugs outside (bring off bug spray) . I had to visit the dr at the resort who was also great and friendly. Check it out for yourselves, great for the price, you get what you paid for. Everyone has a different experience but what we gathered from all the people we met is that we all had a great time and the people were great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Priscilla,
We appreciate the time you invested in writing a review of your recent stay and on behalf the entire team at Barcelo Punta Cana we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have submitted about us. Also, we would like to sincerely thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements experienced during your vacations. Please rest assured that we will share your comments regarding the restaurant reservation system with our Guest Services.
We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.
You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you “back home” where your Dominican family awaits you.
Best Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

would not recommend this resort to anyone
on Friday it was so crowded we did not have
hot water and we just came back from
dune buggy excursion had dirt all over us.
A tourist trap for sure.Hotel was ok, but I would not go there again
The people at the hotel were rude and did not cater to americans in my opinion
It was almost uncomfortable the way they starred at us and customer service, I don't think they have any concept of customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sandra,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Barcelo Resorts as your holiday destination.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to verify the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and my self just got back from our vacation at Barcelo Punta Cana. The service, the food, the beach, the shows, the people and every single thing was great. We had an awesome time. We relaxed and really enjoyed our stay. We will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajjsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Santos Family,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family and I just returned from a week at Barceló Punta Cana. I can absolutely tell you that prior reviews speaking of some need for updating are true, but can also say it is a quality resort that served my family very well. Every single staff member we interacted with was pleasant and helpful. From the front desk to the housekeeper to the bar tenders to the... all were helpful, welcoming, and seemed genuine.

Rooms: Was our room perfect? No. Many details that could and should be dealt with by management. Our clock didn't work, it was promptly replaced. Shower set-up is very odd and definitely leaks. Didn't ruin our trip in any way. Housekeeping kept the room sparkling and well-stocked every single day. Every drawer on our dresser was broken, but I never bothered to report it. Deadbolt on door was broken, which I did report, but it was never fixed. I know they worked on it, but they never fully repaired it. Did I care? No. My family spends VERY little time in our room, and when I was in the room, I was mesmerized by the fantastic view. We had an ocean front room, as requested, and the view was amazing!! We were in room 3324. The price we paid for the ocean front room was that we were directly above the main buffet and could hear the sound of dishes and silverware at virtually all hours of the day and into the evening. Not a big deal to me, as at least it wasn't thumping music or screaming from the pool. The issues in the room could and should be addressed by a thorough walk-through by management. If not, at least the housekeepers should inform maintenance of what they find wrong. Shouldn't be left for the guests to report. That is just an opinion from someone who spent 15 years working in apartment management, is currently a Realtor, and also owns several vacation rentals. Details make or break it for some, and the details could be improved on. For us, minor in the scheme of things. The rest of the resort far made up for the rooms.

Beach/pool: The beach is simply amazing!! The softest sand you have ever felt splashed by gorgeous blue Caribbean water. Tons of shade from palm trees, which can be a real commodity at other resorts. Not here, as they were readily available. The pool was typically un-crowded and we felt just as comfortable in the activity pool as the quiet pool. Both were clean with lots of chairs. Not as easy to get shade, but still great pools. One pool had a swim up bar which seemed to be consistently packed with people. The only improvement I could mention to the pool/beach area would be to have a staff member walking around for drink service. This is a norm at most resorts, and didn't exist here. Still, strolling over to the bar for drinks is no true hardship, and allowed me to enjoy the resort.

Resort: My over-all favorite thing about this resort was it's size. Not too big, not too small. Big enough that there were many restaurants and lots of activities. Small enough that you don't need a shuttle or good walking shoes to get you from place to place. You could walk anywhere on the resort in mere minutes, and I loved that. It was so easy to find your way around that we had it down by the end of the first day. I even let my 11 year old walk by himself from the pool to the room when he needed to, since it was nearly impossible to get lost. Every person working at this resort was there to make your trip better (okay, maybe not the girl at the towel counter, but I only saw her once a day and didn't really care that she wasn't even slightly helpful) I saw her ignore a kid with a question completely one day, and answered him myself. Anyway, the rest of the staff was amazing and I loved the general resort.

Food: I have been to many, many all-inclusive resorts and their buffets. The buffets are generally disappointing. This one was great! Not only was there an ample supply of choices, the food actually tasted good! I can't understand the complaints I have read on this area. Many other complaints make sense to me, but not this one. Food was excellent start to finish. One of the servers in the main buffet hugged us every day when he saw us, and took the time to chat every day and make sure we were happy. Others knew my nieces names by the end of the first day and greeted them warmly each time they saw them. Service and food are simply NOT some of the issues here.

I can't speak to most of the reservation restaurants, as we only ate at two. Just didn't care to bother with a designated eating time, for the most part. We tried the Mexican restaurant which was fine. Nothing great, nothing bad. The Tokyo restaurant was worth standing in line for the reservation. Service was prompt, food was excellent.

All in all, I would go back to this resort. Do I wish they would address some of the run-down aspects of their rooms? Yes, I really do. Did it affect our over-all enjoyment of the resort? No. We enjoyed ourselves very much and I fully intend to return. One definite thing I would change would be the access to wifi, free and in the rooms. I don't want to go to an internet café, and I don't want to pay by the minute. I want to access my emails and the internet when I want to. I had to work some while we were there, and made arrangements for wifi separately, as I knew the resort wasn't providing it. (I will post a different review on Gobecon, which served my wifi needs perfectly) Wifi should be included, though. Most resorts offer it, Barceló should too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Marie,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us and which comments and suggestions will be taken into the highest consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,793 reviews
37.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#16 of 26 in Bavaro
1,473 reviews
16.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,332 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing