We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Caribe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,949)
Filter reviews
9,949 results
Traveler rating
3,928
2,782
1,531
882
826
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,928
2,782
1,531
882
826
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabriel chocolatequiet poolswim up barclub premiumrock climbing wallocean viewkids pooltex mexa la carte restaurantsbeautiful beachseafoodgreat vacationpalm treespicky eaterfamily vacationa lot of funrecommend this resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,413 - 3,418 of 9,949 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first trip to Punta Cana and I was not disappointed at all. The hotel was lovely and clean. The staff were absolutely fantastic! They were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The staff work extremely long and hard. Benita, our maid, did a great job of keeping our room clean and I loved the flowers she left. Doroeto, swim-up barman, was amazing and always knew what you wanted to drink. Beach was clean and the sand was so white! The ocean was a beautiful turquoise. Going back again for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms close to the beach - so nice to sleep at night time with the waves in the background.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haggis50-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the Trip Advisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Barcelo Punta Cana. It was delightful for all our staff to read that you appreciate the service of all of them and the facilities at the resort. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The best vacations ever. Food was more than excellent in all the restaurant a la carte. They even have a resto a la carte for everyone at noon and a excellent pizzeria by the beach.The langoust is a must to try very tender and well prepared. Nice room with view at the sea. Very nice attention from all the staff. Hotel from a certain age but very clean. We were celebrating our 27 wedding anniversary and it could'nt have been at a better place. Thank's Barcelo and there staff for such a beautifull holyday.

Room Tip: Class Prestige with vacance Transat gives you new renovated rooms with seaview a must to have for such a litlle extra $50
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Sylvie,
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a nice time with us, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.
Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again!
Regards from Punta Cana!
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed at the Barcelo Punta Cana April 5-19th, this was our 6th visit to the resort and our 4th time for two weeks.
Best beach ever
Food was very good this year, all of the a la cartes were great, our favorite was the Tokio, Jose our young waiter was very nice and spoke great english.
Favorite lunch time spot was the El Mirador, and a special thanks to Jose and Lester, who were great and always made us feel welcome, there is also a great pizza place for lunch.
We enjoy coming back to this resort every year, it is so amazing that the staff remembers us and greet us with big hugs. Just to mention a few of staff,
Salvador, Arnolda, and Omar were great bartenders and always remember what we drank.
Looking forward to returning next year.
Thanks to all of the staff for all the great memories

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Diane,
We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your impressions and suggestions of your recent stay with us. I am very proud to have received your comments, informing us that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. Thank you for naming those who made a special difference during your stay, such as Salvador, Arnaldo and Omar.
It is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our resort.
We sincerely hope that next year we will once again be given the opportunity to prove to you our commitment to excellent customer service and satisfaction.
Your respectfully,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Well 5 years later and I am still enjoying the Barcelo Punta Cana resort!!!! I find the staff to be very friendly and because it has been 5 years I have met some very nice people at this resort. It amazes me how hard these people work (Benita, our maid) for instance was wonderful. Also how they remember you from year to year. It is like going home to my far away home. There are always a few changes each year. This year the thing that disappointed me the most was the entertainment has changed. The theater had different shows which were good but the first week there I was disappointed at the beach party. The entertainers were not as friendly as in past years. The pool side entertainers were not as friendly as in previous years and sometimes they seemed maybe a little bored with what they were doing. The front desk could use a little improvement for speed but that was not too bad. I very much like this resort and the people I have met there and a special thanks to the manager as she always remembers us from year to year as well. Take care to all the staff there and will see you again next year!!!!!

Room Tip: I love the view from the room I was in - beach and pool - excellent!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Dear guest,
Thank you for your loyalty towards Barcelo Hotels and Resorts as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your experience among us.
In the name of the entire team we would like to express you our satisfaction to acknowledge that despite the fact that some of the staff members have changed, your experience at our hotel was pleasant and satisfactory as usual and as we aim in Barcelo.
We are looking forward to welcome you back next year and remain at your entire disposition.
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My (pregnant) wife and I just returned from a very relaxing trip to Barcelo Punta Cana (aka Barcelo Premium). I would not have chosen this resort with all of the negative reviews, but my brother and sister in law had already booked their trip. We got a really great price and decided to prepare for the worst. While their were many things to complain about, we already had an idea of what to expect and were able to have a great time.
Staff: From check-in to check-out the staff was always willing to help and work at getting you what you need (if you spoke Spanish, or you found someone who could speak English). We had to ask multiple times to get extra pillows and more bottled water, but it was finally delivered and then we received a follow up to make sure it had been received.
Rooms: The wing we stayed in had updated rooms with flat screen TV's and nice beds. The room was clean and comfortable, but we did have ants. I'd seen this complaint and figured we could live with a few ants rather than chemicals, so we didn't complain. The door to the hallway was about an inch off the ground so we could hear everything in the hallway, and it sounded like people were in our room.
Restaurants/Food: This was the first time I was on vacation and had multiple cravings for food at home. The food at the a la carte restaurants was just okay, as was the food at the buffets. If you were lucky to find food you liked on the buffet, you were lucky if it was warm. I tried to stick to the made to order lines which didn't guarantee quality, but it did ensure that the food was fresh and hot. Good luck getting a reservation at the a la carte restaurants that works for you, if you don't get a premade reservation when you check-in. You have to be in line at the lobby before 9 and even then, only a couple restaurants are available each night and it was later than we would typically eat. We tried going to the restaurants without a reservation, and even though 90% of the tables were open, they would not let any one sit down. I understand that this is the hotel policy, but I think some exceptions should be made.
Many people have complained about vendors on site pushing excursions and photo ops, but with a courteous "no gracias", they would leave you alone. It also helped that my wife was pregnant and we couldn't do most of the excursions they wanted to sell.

If you can live with a few bad things, the resort is nice, beautiful and the beach is great.

Room Tip: I'm not sure about all rooms, but our wing 2 room was nicer and had a better TV than the Wing 4 room we saw.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadibabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
Concerning your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been shared with the Executive Chef of our Resort for their analysis.
We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Please allow us to inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian and so on; and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.
We think is important to remark that all our guests receive invitations to the a la carte restaurants, based on the number of nights staying at the hotel. For additional reservations our desk is available from 9.00 am to 4.00 pm and based on availability in each of the restaurants the additional reservations can be done.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.
Kind regards,
Sandy Pfeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews