We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back from our second home”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #63 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“back from our second home”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

our stay from march 22-april 06 2013, hi everyone,i guess you can tell by the title of this review that we are regulars at this resort ,first i would like to personally thank sandy pfeil(director of the barcelo) and her wonderful staff for making this vacation the best so far, there are not enough words to compliment her staff for their tireless work,smiles and hugs to make our stay so wonderful, the food was great as always, no problems, no complaints, i really do not know where some of these negative complaints come from, maybe to much sun exposure, the best ocean view rooms, the best beach, really not much else to say except to thank some of the staff that made our stay so wonderful, Ignazio, anthony,franklin meja, santa,wandy(marlin grill) marino (alcazar) josephine-our great maid, sandy(at sandys bar-cafe) Ariel-our great luggage attendant no. 1 Lucita and margarhita thanks for those wonderful smiles day after day....thanks again from frank and frances see you all next year,we miss all of you already

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morningsidetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Frank & Frances,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service, especially coming from our valued repeat guests.
Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.
We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated. Thank you for highlighting our strengths. It is important for us to know that our staff’s efforts are appreciated by our guests.
We all hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,383
    2,422
    1,318
    781
    720
See reviews for
3,226
2,580
193
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall it was a nice resort. The food was disappointing. The French restaurant had great food so eat there more than once. The Japanese restaurant was not sushi as advertised which is my favorite food instead it is a hibachi grill which my wife loves. The lunch buffet was very average - not bad but not good. The breakfast was good.

The beach was big and beautiful. The pool was nice but the water was just a bit cool. We also stayed at Ocean Blue and the pool temperature was perfect. The overall service was disappointing particularly trying to get drinks during breakfast and lunch. I usually went and got my own drinks after waiting too long. The room we stayed in need updated but it was clean.

I liked Ocean Blue resort better because it was newer and had better food, whereas my wife liked Barcelo better because of the large beach area.

No free wi-fi anywhere. This is a standard offering in many places and should be in my opinion.

Room Tip: As others have said Building 2 is loud due to the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mike,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the recommendations that you have highlighted and we are already fine tuning our hotel operation accordingly.
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican so it was all new for us. We have travelled to Mexico several times so we knew what to expect from all inclusive type packages. We were at the Barceló Punta Cana from March 20-27. This was a wonderful vacation for us. We enjoyed Punta Cana and the beautiful Bavaro Beach, the hotel exceeded our expectations and it was a very enjoyable all inclusive vacation. We would definately go back to both Punta Cana and the Barceló Punta Cana resort. Below are a few more details and "thank yous" to the staff who stood out and made us feel special.

Check-in, Room, Hotel etc:
The Barceló PC was perfect for us. Right size, we thought it was beautiful and well maintained, can't beat the location on the Bavaro Beach. Staff - excellent! We bought a family suite at the premium level. Check-in was enjoyable and speedy. Unfortunately, the suite we got did not meet our expectations - we were to have a pool or ocean view but our suite looked squarely at a wall :-( We spoke to front desk but as it was Spring Break and quite full, we were asked to stay for the night and they would move us in the morning. Our new suite was great except for the sofabed which was terrible. Thank goodness for your rollaway beds! Our new room was in the 7 block - not sure what all the fuss is about the 7 Block - our suite was great, location perfect and it was quiet. Yes there were a few hic ups during the week - some plumbing and some air conditioning BUT the hotel staff were very responsive and took care of the issues. In a tropical location with plumbing and AC running overtime, you have to expect some issues. Good on the Barcelo staff for taking care of it all with competence and a smile.

Regarding the rooms and locations - you really need to decide what's right for you and your family. Some people like to be by all the action (disco, casino, lounge bars) and some need quiet so they can sleep after a busy day of playing in the surf. Make your request with the hotel and they will do their best to accommodate - they genuinely do want to make you happy.

Restaurants -
Overall Excellent!!! The a la carte restaurants were really fabulous! Tokio was great food, ambience and lots of fun! Roma food was delicious and up to my husband's Italian expectations. The Gnocci was delicious! Paris food was excellent - waiter service was a bit neglectful but the support staff more than made up for it. Marlin Seafood restaurant also delicious. Pizzeria above Marlin (during the day only) made the best pizza I've had in a long time. That combined with the view made it well worth the wait. Burgers at the Pool Grill were very good as well. Lots of food choices which is really nice with an all inclusive. Buffet - just average. The food was repetitive. This is where most people go for breakfast. Lots of selection including fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal etc. If you like eggs, there are lots of fresh choices for you. My kids however has a hard time with the french toast, crepes and pancakes - they just didn't taste right, and were usually sitting in a pan keeping warm. So for us, breakfast was the least favourite meal of the day. Desserts were also just average and could be improved - make some chocolate desserts and coconut desserts.

Beach/Pool
Bavaro beach is beautiful - very easy to swim here, the water is absolutely beautiful with manageable waves for boogey boarding. Lots of chairs on the beach. Lots of palm trees for shade however those spots do get reserved early so beware.

Pools were really nice. 2 big pools plus a kid's pool. Suggestion: hotel really needs to get a lot more umbrellas for around the pool. Most people want sun but need shade and everyday we saw many people looking for shade and there just wasn't enough to go around. So, the hotel can easily fix this by placing more umbrellas around the pool. People will be so grateful!!!

Both beach and pool well maintained!

Special thank yous to the following people who were so warm, welcoming and helpful. They truly know the meaning of service and made the Barceló proud. Big hugs to all of you and thanks for making our vacation special.

Angela at Club Premium - she offered to shop on her own time for something we needed from a pharmacy that the hotel did not carry. Wow!
Melcquie and Rosa - Club Premium - always smiling and helpful.
Saturnindo at Tokio and Alcazar - this man knows the meaning of service.
Miguel at Alcazar - one of your supervisors who seemed to be there all day. He made a special dessert for me! He was always connecting with us, asking about our day and just creating a nice relationship with us. What a nice, caring man who really does care about customer experience.
Wandy at Marlin
Jesus - fantastic omellette maker at Alcazar
Angel - bellman
Alexandra - photographer - she came in on her day off to do our family photo session!

Thank you Barceló Punta Cana for a memorable vacation!

Room Tip: Decide what's important to you and request it. ie: closer to beach then block 1 or 7. Closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff, especially to the ones you named in your review. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at this resort last year and returned again for 2 weeks (Mar 13-27) with my family. Too many good things to say about this place. The buffet and restaurants are excellent. The buffet had many varieties and everything was very delicious. The pools and children's waterpark are awesome - very clean, lots of chairs and umbrellas. The little ones will have an amazing time in the waterpark, Kids Club and Mini Disco at night with Bella and Joyvanni. They're excellent at entertaining children. Lots of other activities for children such as trampoline, trapeze, rock climbing (all supervised by staff). Rooms are very clean, comfortable and with adequate supplies. All the staff did their very best to attend to our needs. They are very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Too many wonderful people to mention. They always took time to chat. Always with a smile and we were happy to tip them. The maintenance staff work hard at keeping the resort in great appearance. The front desk staff was very helpful with any questions or concerns - thank you Sandy and Reina, we appreciated all your help. Night entertainment was very good too. Beautiful, clean beach. The only thing I would like to suggest is to have some cabanas for shade in the beach area. Don't believe the bad reviews about this resort. This place is well worth the price. We had a great time and we'll see you in March 2014!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roserosse_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
It's a pleasure to know that you had another good time with us and that you will keep a good memory of Punta Cana and our Hotel.
Your special mention of the staff, like Reyna that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations. Looking forward to welcome you in 2014. Please do not hesitate in contacting us prior to your arrival.
Yours sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from mar13-mar20,2013. Not what we expected from a Barcelo resort. We have stayed at different all inclusive resorts but this one is not 4 stars 2 stars the most. I was traveling with 2 kids one small baby 6 months. asked for a room close to lobby when checking in and requested when booked the resort. it was pretty far from lobby thats understandable they are busy can't help with room close by. elevator broken close to our room 4 out of the 7 days they would fix in am and usually later in the day it would stop working we had to walk around to another elevator. room are old and outdated. Refrigrator was hot and had a dead cockroach in it welcoming committee. washroom had mould growing on the floor and wall int he shower. hot water would go cold in middle of the shower. patio door didn't lock. I am not complaining its the truth when i asked for a different room got poor attitude from the front desk manager. food was ok buffet resturant needs seriuos cleaning and food was not very good. Dinner restaurents were good long waits at most of them but food and service and staff is very good. beach was great. bars never have enough bailey's in stock they usually run out by 11am or they just don't wanna serve it. i would stay away from this place. pay little more and stay at a different resort what you see in pictures on the net the rooms are not any thing like that. rest of the resort staff is good and friendly. If you are a senior management staff for this resort please talk to the people staying in your hotel and listen to what they have to say alot of people were not happy to stay here but were stuck here and felt they have spent their hard earned money and holidays at a poorly managed resort. As a result of this I will not recommand any one to stay at this resort or any Barcelo resorts my first and last experience. I hopa this helps you make your decision about this resort.

Room Tip: rooms in the building 1,2 and 3 are updated and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nav g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana at Tripadvisor.
We are very so sad to read that we couldn’t fill your expectations regarding our hotel. We always try to keep our quality service, in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of all our guests.
We take all guest feedback very seriously; therefore we appreciate all your comments and will ensure that those are worked on.
Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our hotel. On behalf of the entire Barcelo Punta Cana staff, please accept our apologize.
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great time from March 29th to April 5th. Lots of variety in the buffet, room was good (room 7110), service was great. All the staff were very friendly and appreciated tips. Tokyo al la carte was great, so was the Dominican cuisine. Beach is beautiful and it was fun playing in the waves. Pool is great as well. So many good things to say about this resort!! A day under the palm trees listening to the surf is good for anyone!! :)

Room Tip: We had room 7110. Didn't pay for ocean view but sitting on our balcony, we could see the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sharon,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went to the hotel at around 12:30. We were told that we have to wait till 3:30 wich we did. We went back to check in at 3:30 . We had to wait for almost 30 min for the desk to find a room . First I was given a different room and later changed to a very outdated room , where the doors weren't closing properly, refrigator was 20 years old. Hot water wold stop in the middle of showering. Remote control that don't work . Tv very old. Room service that sucked. Reception sucked. The only good thing was the water and the beach. The food was ok. And entertainment ok. Rooms needed a good renovation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladikaferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you to take your time to write a review and choosing Barcelo Punta Cana as a destination during your holidays. We also appreciate your personal opinion about the hotel. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects with honesty. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion and we hope you will accept our apologize on behalf of the entire Barcelo Punta Cana staff.
Cordially
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#17 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
2.6 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing