We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting! Dirty! Food horrible! Service horrible!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting! Dirty! Food horrible! Service horrible!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

$4,000 dollar nightmare!! Food was horrrible!! You have to make reservations for specifics restaurants which they only have appointments for 9:00pm! They didn't care that you had an infint that had to be to bed! Beach towels they limit you for one per person and they are strict even for baby! Rooms are filthy no update! Some employees were nasty! Buffet had nice employees! Food was horrible! They don't have enough chairs by pool! The pool looks awesome and its steps away from beach! The theatre entertainment is horrible! The dj Franklin familia was funny, however he does the same thing over and over. The hotel is loaded with sand flies which bite you leaving venom and leaves bad rash! Bar service is horrible! They are nasty bartenders who look at you and make you wait!!! The front desk personnel is nasty! Room service was not good! Did not refill soap in rooms! Bath tubs were disgusting floors were dirty! Pay extra money and stay somewhere different!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neilmpd1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you to take your time to write and share your review in Tripadvisor. Checking your words we can appreciate you didn’t have a pleasant stay in Barcelo Punta Cana and that we couldn’t fill your expectation about our property. We try to keep our quality service to give you our best and we take all guest feedback very seriously. We would like to give you an honest apology for any discomfort you may have experienced. Our main goal is the quality service and this is also a good value of our skills. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion.
Cordially
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,299
    2,377
    1,290
    772
    702
See reviews for
3,154
2,526
190
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We planned our trip to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic for 15 – 22 Mar 13. We arrived in Punta Cana on 15 Mar 13 in the early afternoon and found out that it cost each of us $10 to enter the country. After getting our bags we found our vacation company (FunJet) representative and arranged travel to the Barcelo Resort. It was about a 45 minute ride from the airport. The trip to the hotel was very eventful; from sharing the road with many different sizes of motor cycles, scooters, and vehicles we had many “close encounters”. We ran into a traffic jam and our driver turned around in the street and we traveled down a road that was under construction along with a bus, delivery vehicles, and taxi’s to a cross street where the bus got high centered and backed up more traffic for about 10 minutes. Finally we got through the road block and we were on our way to the hotel. Upon arrival we checked in at the front desk. The clerks were nice and considerate during this process. Our room was not ready yet so we walked around the grounds and got our lay of the land. We found ourselves at the outdoor bar with drinks in hand looking at the beach and all the people playing volleyball and laying on the beach. You could smell burgers cooking and we decided to eat a late lunch. We had read many reviews before and had requested a room in building 3 and got one on the 2nd floor. Our balcony overlooked the main pool and we could see the ocean through the many tropical trees that are on the grounds. We were pleased with the room. Tips are greatly appreciated and we tipped our cleaning lady and mini bar stocker a couple of bucks each day. We added a little not with the tip and we got everything that we ask for. There were minor issues with hot and cold water while showering but it was not a problem at all. The hair dryer quit working and we called the front desk. Within 2 hours the hair dryer was replaced with a new one. We were able to get all of our reservation made on the first day for all the restaurants. Our favorite was the Japanese restaurant and we got to eat there 2 times in our 8 day stay. Make sure that you find the pizza restaurant upstairs of the El Marlin restaurant the pizza is great. We eat there almost everyday for a late lunch. The El Mirador and the Roma were pretty good but the Paris was definitely a disappointment. The Lobby Bar 1 (Alhambra) was where Salvador, Eddiezon, and Ceasar worked is a great place to hang out and believe me those guys will take great care of you. Our most fun find was the Mamajuana drink. You can purchase it in the gift shop to take home and you can try some while you are sitting at the lobby bar. If you get a chance visit the casino, we had a great time there after dinner playing the slot machines. We would definitely go back and stay the Barcelo Punta Cana. The beach was a definite WOW!

Room Tip: If you stay in building 3, if you want to get a clear view of the ocean stay on the 4th or 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage and the different activities.
It is an honor to know that our staff is providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. Please be assured that your nice comments will be forward to our staff, especially to the ones you named in your review. They will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.
We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again!
Best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first trip down south and we absolutely loved it here. The drinks were amazing, the staff was always cheerful ! The a la carte restaurants were all very good, especially Tokio, it was to die for! The pools were both beautiful and the beach was out of this world. I would come back to this resort in a heartbeat.

We also did the Dolphin Explorer excursion, which was a life changing experience. I highly recommend this resort and excursion for anyone who loves animals and great bartenders!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Chantale,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
Let us express our gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.
We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated. Thank you for highlighting our strengths. It is important for us to know that our staff’s efforts are appreciated by our guests.
We all hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A group of 12 of us went here for our Spring Break. We were Very Worried after reading countless reviews about this resort that said to stay elsewhere. However, much to our surprise we had a wonderful time. This is our second time in Punta Cana- We stayed at the Hardrock last year but wanted to spend a little less money for this vacation. On first look, we were a bit turned off- we arrived late at night and the rooms were a bit dreary and small. However, we decided to make the best of it, and from that point on we had a wonderful time! It's all what you make of the vacation. The service was actually very great! (Which was surprising since we were a bunch of college spring breakers) Especially the staff that works outdoors at the poolbar etc. They treated us very well and made our stay enjoyable by creating games and competitions for us to play etc. The food was definitely do-able. Not the best food I have ever tasted but that is to be expected. The buffets had good selection and the restaurants- Tokio, Roma, Paris etc. were all easy to get reservations for. They were also easily accommodating to our big party of 12 and they were very kind and friendly. The only place it was hard to get good service was at the buffet because they had to take care of so many people. Water was always at hand, and food was always easy to come by. Beach was beautiful- pool and outdoor area was well kept up with. The only complaint I would have would be with the room. However, being on vacation- we spent little time in our room. The shower would change from hot to cold and back to hot on 1 min intervals- very strange but easy to get over. Our toilet was constantly running- we made a complaint the first day and they called us every day to make sure that everything was okay in our room after that- another definition of good service. The room was small as stated before and the beds were very uncomfortable. However, this is to be expected. We always had clean towels, always had our fridge restocked with beverages. For the money we paid for this vacation, we were very happy with the outcome. All and All- Service was Great, Food was Do-able, Room was Do-able, Beach was BEAUTIFUL and it was an all around good time! If you are not high maintenance and looking for a good place to stay on a beautiful beach for not a hefty price I would recommend this resort for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Christie,
Greetings from Barcelo Punta Cana and thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent stay with us.
At Barcelo Punta Cana we work continuously every day to improve our facilities, being your comments very important to increase the hotel value.
It would be great if you join us once again. In that case, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance to try satisfying any request you may have.
Sincerely
Sandy pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

When making plans for the Barcelo Punta Cana, I was really amazed at how polarized the reviews were, either really great or terrible.
My wife and I stayed there 3/9-3/13 and had a wonderful time. True, our first room in the older section had a leaking shower, but the staff moved us to a much better room in the same section right away. This turned out to be typical of the way we were treated during the whole stay by everyone in the hotel. Yes, we left some tips but a smile and a little conversation went a long way as well.
The food at the buffet was more than adequate and the specialty restaurants were very good as well.
I never did see any bugs, mosquitos or otherwise. The grounds and beach areas were very well maintained (considering the spring break crowd) and the pool and beach chairs were in good condition.
Having said all this, the hotel is indeed showing its age. Maintaining any building next to the ocean is difficult at best and the sooner they renovate the older section, the better.
Finally, sad to say, the casino is an absolute joke. One look through the door will tell you that.

Room Tip: Try to get located in Bldgs. 1-3. This is the renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tfpape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana. Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
We are happy to read that your recent stay at our resort was overall what you expected and we thank you for your valuable comments.
Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the recommendations that you have highlighted and we will certainly take them into consideration.
Thanks again and will be a pleasure to have you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis md
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks, March 5-18th, 2013. I have stayed here many times and would stay no where else in Punta Cana. Great Staff and Service. People always with a smile and an Hola!!!Thankss to so many, Wandy, Sandy, Cesar, Omar, Julio, Magnolia, Mr. Alexander, Roza, Premium Club. Candida, Andres and so many more. See you all soon.

Room Tip: Club Premium Level, weel worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greektravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit, like Wandy, Sandy, Cesar, Omar, Julio, Magnolia, Mr. Alexander, Rosa, Candida and, Andres. We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Sandy pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff were all somber and unfriendly even when given tips. We always tip ! Under staffed and hotel is falling apart. Beautiful huge beach was the only plus ! Have stayed before at Grand Bahia and should have stayed at the regular rooms there instead of the prestege club here !! Everyone who stayed here were not impressed ! If 4 of you are staying in 1 room pay the extra $15.00 and get 2 rooms otherwise no room for bags so small. ( no guaranteed side by side though) as ours were not. Needs a major overhaul !!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest:
First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at Barcelo Punta Cana.
We are happy to see that there are elements of resort that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service . Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!
Regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
2.6 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Barcelo, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing