We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Bad!”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
North Battleford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently returned from our trip to the Barcelo Punta Cana. We stayed there for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The beach is very nice, clean and well taken care of. Their pools were also nice. There were jacuzzis there, but not heated and didn't look very clean...needlesss to say we didn't use them. We stayed in room 3323. The room was okay...it had hot water and a comfortable bed. We didn't have an alarm clock which made it hard to know what time it was...constantly trying to phone the front desk, or search for a channel with the time. There were a few little bugs in our bathroom, but nothing outrageous. Our biggest complaint of the room was the location as it was above the main buffet and all day and most of the night all you can hear is the clanking of plates and cutlery...we got wise to it and started putting towels around the top and bottom of the door to block the noise (several rooms around us did the same).
One of the biggest issues is the lack of English speaking people in the main areas (front desk/internet cafe)...check in seemed to take forever.
We thought that the food was okay...the A-La-Carte resteraunts were delicious and whenever we went early for our reservation they seated us and treated us wonderfully.
The entertainment staff were also great. ALDO, SANDY and MICKEY MOUSE were wonderful people and even knew our names only a couple days in.
We would go back to this hotel in a couple of years...hopefully the small issues would be fixed by then.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a renovated room that is far away from the buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Trudy,
Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Barcelo Punta Cana.
We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.
Please feel sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to verify the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.
Kindest regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,596
    2,507
    1,360
    804
    750
See reviews for
3,393
2,692
200
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have enjoyed many trips to many places on cruises and other trips too. I understand that this is a different country and culture.
We are polite people in our 50”s and have seen many cultures in our travels. We don’t like to complain or make trouble. We like visiting and talking to locals. We tipped our room staff and many others in the resort from the bar to buffet.


The Good:
We arrived at Barceló Punta Cana February 2, 2013.
The good part of the resort was the beautiful clean beach with waves and the close proximity to everything in the resort. We didn’t have to walk far to get anywhere on the resort.
The resort must have been the place to go when it first opened as the old charm was very pretty.
The wake up service was great as was the girl in customer relations that wrote up a letter in Spanish about my allergies to show the dining staff as they don’t speak English... Two of my allergies are fish and seafood and almost none of the staff in the resort speaks English. I always had my EPIPEN with me.
The girls in the Buffet entrance were very happy and the coffee men. The omelettes were great! Some of the bar people were good, some should not be working with the public.
The excursions to Saona Island and the adventure trip were excellent. The guide for the adventure trip was excellent.
The horse person for the horse ride part on the adventure trip was wonderful and he is the only person on this vacation who did not ask for a tip so we tipped him generously!

The Bad: We rate this resort with a 2 to 3 star - overall rating.
Would be an improvement if:
The resort trains the staff in public relations and another language.
The resort staff stops asking for tips everywhere we go.
The resort makes repairs in rooms and around the resort.
The resort stops getting in locals selling wares at ridiculous prices only to be bartered down if you know your prices. This went on at souvenir shops as well.
The resort hires more staff and doesn’t work the existing staff to death under threat of firing. The average wage for maids is $250 per month. Ten days on and 2 days off to go home.

The resort has probably not been updated since it opened. I think blocks 1-3 are renovated but didn’t see inside the rooms.
As we arrived at 9:30 – 10pm we were told that there were snacks in the Theatre. The snacks were cut up hot dog meat, tortilla chips and dried out chicken.
We were given room 5107, in block 5, which stank of mould so bad our eyes watered. I am allergic to many things and our travel agent had emailed this info to Noli Tours and Barceló resort.
The shower handle fell off into the bathroom and our patio door wouldn’t lock. The maid left our patio door open after she was in there to clean.
Our friends tried to change their room because the patio wouldn’t lock and also the noise from the next resorts air conditioner was right under their patio door– to no avail.
After a day and a half in that room I went to the front desk and told Maria that I was allergic to mould, which was e-mailed to them, and if I got sick then they would be sued.
She changed our room to 5433 which was on the top floor and did not smell like mould but the shower head cracked open and my husband had to put a towel on it every time we showered. The patio door was also broken.
I pity the next people who were given our old room.
We were not given a choice of specialty restaurants or times so we had to line up to change everything. They gave us 9pm sittings for two and 7:30pm for one.
We went to the Mexican Sunday night and the food was so horrible that we could not eat it and ate the breakfast bars we brought instead. We were not asked if we wanted to order from the bar and were not asked if we wanted dessert.
The food in the La Roma was good but the wait was about an hour and a half for our meal. The wine was rancid and when we politely told the waitress she threw up her hands and walked away. She came back about 20 minutes later with a new bottle of wine. No apology. We left without dessert. I took our wine to the front desk and she called the manager of La Roma down to the desk. He tasted the wine and tried to say it was just the type of wine and finally admitted that it was rancid, again no apologies.
We also were served rancid white wine at the buffet but by then we knew that no apology would be forth coming.
The Buffet was Dominican food and we were not happy with the quality.
It seems that the resort used mostly filler food, Quantity rather than Quality. The food in the tubs was always cold – even when we were there at the dinner opening.
The orange juice was not fresh but some kind of powdered mix.
They had beef and chicken kabobs one night and the chicken was raw inside. I told this to the manager to save someone from salmonella, but not sure if anything was done about it.
The staffs in the Buffet and Specialty Restaurants were not happy with the tourists (with the exception of above “Good”). They would not move when walking toward a guest but made the guest get out of the way. This happened to us and many other guests we noticed. They were under staffed and over worked. It seemed that they were always working with a threat over them and it showed. We learned that the tips we gave for good service were divided among all the staff and that bothered us as many didn’t deserve a tip and if we had of known that we would have brought gifts to hand out to deserving staff instead.
The shows were not well received.
It seems that local people were hired for entertainment and cooking without much training. There was a girl who was singing near the lobby that was really talented.
The Saona Island staff on the boat were just going through the motions and not happy as well.
All in all I would tell you that I only gained 2 pounds on this trip and that was due to the salt in the food. We won’t be going back and are waiting for an apology from the resort. This review is going to be sent to the Barceló Website via their e-mail.

Room Tip: Rooms 5433
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rosemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Rosemarie,
Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.
We wish to apologize for any instance of discomfort that you may have experienced in your room.
We also regret to hear that our gastronomy offer at our restaurants didn’t fulfill your expectations. Please allow us to inform you that our menus in each of our restaurants are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests from all over the world. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations.
We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of our service and facilities. Thank you to give us your honest point of view about our entire property and services. Be sure that all supervisors have been informed about the issues you faced during your stay with us and we are already fine tuning our hotel operation accordingly. On behalf of the entire Barcelo Punta Cana staff, please accept our apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered.
Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaseburg, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Traveled with my parents to the Barcelo Punta Cana 01/30 ~ 02/09 & then had my daughter and 13 more friends joined us from 02/02 ~ 2/09. Our ages range from 12yrs to 60yrs old. This was our 2nd stay @ the BPC. And we had a GREAT time and cannot wait to return again. We had some very minor issues but the Good so out wieghed the bad that it was just overlooked.

CHECK IN: No lines ( we must just get there at a good time ) front desk was friendly and helpful. I was just a little on edge with the long travel day , did get to the room and keys didnt work and the sliding glass door to patio didnt open.. but the bell boy guy took care of it for me in minutes. When the rest of the group arrived on Saturday all their check ins were seamless. Very easy and were all in their rooms within 30 mins from the time they got off their shuttles. All of our rooms were next to each other . Which was wonderful cuz we could chit chat on the decks.

BEACH : Blue, Beautiful, powdery sands, HOT, Cool ocean water, Clean...... JUST GREAT ! It is wavy but that is the fun part of it. Jumping in the waves and Boogie Boarding. If you are looking for activities they play Volley Ball everyday .. you can play soccer and there usually other things going on if you just dont like to sunbathe and people watch. ( they have a board with days and times of activities and they have a flyer by guest services with all the daily activities and times and themes of buffet dinners )

POOL BAR: yeah our group liked this area. Fun and Relaxing. Good music. it is a bit louder but that is the fun part of it. They also do activities around this area daily. Get involved and you will probably get alot of LAUGHs. I didnt participate but others of our group did and it is very entertaining. And a Shout out to my Favorite Pool Bar bartender Dorrito. He was on the ball and never let my drink go warm or empty. The Mudslides are a hit . But i pretty much stuck to my Cerveza and Rum& Coke with lime. MMMMMMM ! I read other reviews that they 'water down ' drinks??? really i had to ask for 'little" rum most of the time so i didnt get too Bombed ! The younger bartender Melo Yelo was also a charmer and their if you needed something if Dorito was busy.

QUIET POOL : This is the place to be if you want to sunbathe and relax. they have a shelf you can put you lounge chairs in and they have built in loungers in the pool. We spent an afternoon here just chillling out. They also have a bar a few feet away if you want a drink.

BUFFETS / RESTURANTS: OK. i am the pickiest eater ever. And i found the food better this year than 2 yrs ago. BREAKFAST is the best they have made to order eggs / omelets and an abundance of pastries and breads. And ofcourse everything else you could think of. If you cant find something you like then you are LOCO. HA ! LUNCH : again you should find something you like ... not only do they have the buffet by the pool and make hamburgers and frys @ the food hut ( only thing about this is that they run out too fast or cant keep up ~ but when you are on vacation who is in a hurry , just relax ) but they also have a Pizzaria and lunchette by the quiet pool ( you have to be dry to go to these but is a nice little break from the buffets ) SUPPER : Again and abundance of choices and they have a different theme every night like : chinese, mexican, medditerian, etc etc. Some of the food is a little different so just take a tiny bit of thing you think you may like and go back for seconds of what you definetly enjoyed. We had 3 resturants booked for 17 of us and they were very accommadating. we had two tables every time for our whole group. AND this year again the service was better and faster and the food was DELICIOUS in all. We ate at the Paris , Tokio and Marlin. Service was AWESOME and Food was great. Only thing that wasnt top notch was the wine. The soups are mmmm mmmm good. i had pumpkin cream and now i have to figure out how to make it. cuz i loved it so much. and at the Marlin we had Passion Fruit Mousse.. tastiest thing i ever had !!!! We also had a nice supper for our Welcome back supper.. that was pretty good too. the STEAK was really really good.

BARS : in the Evening we usually hung out at the 2nd bar. They would have a singer there and she was really really good. She should come to the USA and try out for AMERICAN IDOL. I am not sure if it that would work or not but she is that good. HA ! I dont get how anyone can say the Bartenders are rude... WOW. When we got there CEASER was there again. ( he was our fav bartender from 2 yrs ago ) and he even remembered my dad ! but he was on vacay so he was only there our first two nights. We really got to know one bartender in particular and that is PASCUAL MONTAS ~ he was AWESOME and very attentive and FUN FUN FUN ! One night we taught him " PIZZA CUTTER " and ha so many laughs with Pascual and others. I cant remember all the names but Edwin was just a sweetie too. They even invited us down to the BasketBall courts on Thursday evening to watch a game. We were bummed when it had to be cancelled due to rain. We still had fun and just hung out and talked to the Pascual and Edwin and other Barcelo employees on the team for a while... again haveing many many laughs. We didnt have any issues with any staff sometimes a language barrier but that it the fun of it trying to communicate with hand signals or trying to learn a few new words in spanish.

SHOWS : the FRIDAY night shows were the best and most entertaining. and the SUNDAY night Beach Party was SUPER FuN again. OH and they had the theater set up for the Super Bowl so that was pretty Kool that the resort went out of their way to set that all up for us FootBall lovers. ( we did get bit up by misquitos or gnats or something in the theater... so if you have some OFF or bug spray bring it with you... we had some and used it the future before we went to a show )

CLEANING STAFF : our maids were friendly and probably overcleaned our room everyday. it was clean, no bugs and they mopped all the time and it didnt need it. made beds , emptied trash not sure what else you expect them to do & and they were always smiling and said "HOLA" as you passed them in the hall. Our Room had a veiw from the OCEAN and was very very nice. We did have a few days without hot water and an afternoon of no water at all but we coped with it and knew it would be back on sooner or later. ( and it did in about 1 hr ) But they are always improving , cleaning, painting, sweeping, washing something or other. I found the resort to be very kept.

SPA : A few in our party did the spa / massages and they really liked them. My 20yr old daughter did the facial massage thing and said it felt incredible.

gosh i am sure i am missing something. so much to do and so little time at this resort. you want to keep going and going and going but you need to rest at some point. HA! over all had a wonderful time with my Family and Friends at the BPC and wouldnt trade the memories or the LAUGHS we had for a second. ((( and the 14yr old girl that went with us cried when she had to leave and wanted to stay for one more week.... so if that tells you how much fun we had i dont know what else to say and she was miserable with sunburned swollen lips and that didnt matter she wanted to stay because of the fun and the attentiveness Pascual gave her...HA ! ) So hopefully we can save our pennies and return again next year. SO if you have any worries about staying at the Barcelo Punta Cana put them aside and just enjoy the time you have !

And last but not least.... THANK YOU SANDY P for helping us make this VACATION happen for me and the rest of the group !!!!!!!!


Any questions feel free to message me. And hope to get some pics on here soon too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BNaegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such positive comments about your last stay with us, it is always great to read reviews from our repeat guests. We are delighted to hear that once again you had a great time with us.
Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip is also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation and we definitely hope to see you again, It will be our pleasure to welcome you again!
Sincerely
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Can hardly wait to get back again next year. This is the greatest place on the the planet to spend a few weeks if you want warm and good time. I would sugest that you would bring swim suits and good attitude, the beer is always cold and the people are so very friendly. It is the greaest place on the planet if you want to have a good time and lot's of sun and fun

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winnipeg5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for writing such positive comments about your last stay with us, it is always great to read reviews from our repeat guests.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation and we definitely hope to see you again next year. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again!
Sincerely
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Last week my daughter got married at the Barceló Premium in Punta Cana. The wedding was absolutely beautiful. The wedding coordinator at the hotel is a sweetheart. She was very organized and very helpful. I started planning the Wedding group travel in March of 2012 and Ariana answered every e-mail I sent within 1 day of my sending the e-mail. Every question was answered professionally and she always offered useful suggestions to make the day truly special for my daughter and son-in-law. Last year a friend of mine got married at Dreams La Romana and although her wedding was beautiful I don't think her wedding coordinator could have been any better than Ariana. Bravo Ariana! Muchas Gracias.

Ok, now my review of the hotel. We stayed in the "Prestige" section. I was very happy with my room. The majority of the wedding group were happy with their rooms and if they had an issue the front desk staff offered a solution as quickly as possible. I will say that being a Spanish student helped me communicate with the staff much more effectively. It seemed that if you respectfully tried to communicate with them they went out of their way to help. The Dominicans do their best but people need to remember that they also try to speak Russian, French and other Eastern European languages when their mother tongue is Spanish! They aren't even taught English in their public school system. If they want to learn English formally they must go to a private school which most can't afford. Otherwise they learn while they are dealing with tourists.

Although the "prestige" section is rated 4.5 stars I would say it is 4 star and the standard section is 3.5 stars. I thought the "a la carte" restaurants were good and I thought the main buffet was good as well. Don't miss the "Tokyo" Japanese restaurant.

As the mother of the groom said in the previous review Neilson was amazing. We met Neilson at the main buffet but he served us at the wedding dinner as well. He indeed took care of "the family"! I think could take a lesson or two from Neilson about customer service.

Last but not least way my new friend Riena at the front desk. Muchas Gracias Riena por todas!

I would not hesitate to go back to this resort again. If you understand that it isn't a 4 star you will appreciate it. You could not ask for a better beach!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1000islandgirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.com.
In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit, like Ariana, Nelson and Reyna.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and 2-year old at the time booked this hotel last minute and it was worth it for the price we paid. I will go over the good and the bad based on my experience:

-Beach - clean, crystal clear, soft sand. Loved it!!!!! The only issue was can't be controlled is when there is a strong undertoe. It is not safe. I saw some other parents letting there LO s go in and I was horrified!
-Water park - very fun for all our daughter!
-Pools - okay so there is good and bad here. the pool by the water park is quieter probably because there is no pool bar. However there is a bar out of the water, but not in the water which make a big difference. It is also cleaner than the second pool.
The pool with the pool bar is nuts. The entertainment staff are doing their programming which is really fun. And then there is a happening pool bar which is good too, but just beware if you have little ones hanging around. After lunch it gets crazy. I saw a group of young adults getting really drunk and even witnessed two of them puke and pass out just outside the pool. I must also point out that security came right away and took them away and threatened to kick them out of the resort for their carelss behaviour. The mess was cleaned up immediately. I also saw a young couple get into a physical altercation but again, security was close by and cleared it away. I never saw them again so I am not sure what happened.
Food: not the best but we all found something to eat. Our tummies were alittle upset by the end of the trip but that is a combo of a poor week long diet and lots of sun. The al la cartes were okay. I liked the italien best.
Nightlife - well we had a kid with us but there is a disco, casino and sports bar. We hanged out at the lobby bar mostly after diner. The bar tender was rude to us and i really don't know why.We tipped, said please and thank u, spoke as much spanish as we could. One night we asked him what would make him happy and he told us he wanted my husbands shoes...wierd. I guess just like anywhere else in the world, grumpy pants are here too!

I am writing this really late and since then I have been to a few five star resorts so my standards have increased. I probably would not go back anytime soon. If you have an open mind and aren't super picky. You will totally enjoy this place. Everyone has there own opinion and experiences. But i would reccomend this to a family as a good priced resort for families. Just stay away from the pool bar area with you have the kiddies with you!!!

Room Tip: Book with Air Transat and you get the newer section of the resort and 5 prebooked dinners at the al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cattielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Cattie,
First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community.
Please be sure that your observations are taking into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us
We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.
Warm regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall, on
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from the Barcelo on Feb. 03. We were there for my sons wedding. It's not the cleanest resort but it's not the dirtiest we ever stayed at. There is a BIG language barrier as not enough of their staff speak English but my only issue with this place is the front desk...they are under staffed and very slow. We are use to receiving our room keys as we get off the bus from the airport and we are used to servers bringing us our drinks at the beach and by the pools. I guess we got spoiled at our last resort in Mexico last year. Overall this was a very nice resort and all our family members enjoyed it. The little issues were the front desk...so slow and no order or line ups...just everybody making their own lines to get to their room keys. The restaurant staff are also slow at clearing the dirty dishes and bringing clean utensils. We made friends with NILSON and he made sure "the Family" got everything they wanted. He was the most efficient one there. We would return but maybe in a few years after they get a few things worked out. Our room 1223 was very clean, no bugs, lots of hot water at anytime of the day. Arriana the wedding co-ordinator was awesome and made our son's wedding very memorable. She was great. The food we would say was OK not the best but it was edible. The pools were nice and the beach spectacular...the colours of the water are undiscribable...so beautiful and the sand so fine. This resort needs work but with the right management and more renovations and a good cleaning, it could be a 5*...not now but maybe in the future. I would love to own it...I know exactly what it needs.

Room Tip: Get a Prestige room, they still could use some renovations but are much nicer than the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbugCornwall_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination.
We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.
We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. Please allow us to inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages, such as English, French, Italian, German, Portuguese, Russian and so on; and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to those in direct contact with our guests. However, please be reminded that Spanish is our mother tongue and our knowledge and/or pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.
We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our family Barceló Hotels & Resorts.
Sincerely
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
37.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#16 of 26 in Bavaro
1,442 reviews
16.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,326 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing