We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficulties abound at this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Difficulties abound at this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from this venue and there were issues at the get go. We were booked in the Prestigue Class category which meant a separate line for quicker check in, but while there was indeed a separate line, there was no person manning that line so our group waited as long as the rest of the people not in the Prestigue Class. It became even worse when another bus load of tourists arrived. There are always long lines at the front desk as there are usually only 2 people there and they are typically dealing with customer problems/complaints. Our "superior" room was typical of a "standard" room anywhere in North America. There were hot water issues (sometimes none other times only luke warm). The person I spoke to said that was an issue over the entire complex and they may not have another room to which we could move. I checked this out with other Canadians who were also there during our stay and they too were angry and upset they had no hot water. From reading other reviews prior to our stay, it is obvious that this is a long standing problem which they haven't yet resolved. While the food was varried, we didn't find it four star caliber (stay away from the beef as it seems to be cut from between the horns). The main buffet does not have A/C so it can become quite hot and stuffy. The al la carte retaurants are passible (Japenese and French were our favorites) but again no great shakes for a supposed 4 star hotel. If you are expecting large portions in the a la carte restuarants ..forget it!You have to line up at nine when the consierge comes on duty to book one of the a la carte restaurants so the line can reach 20 deep early on. So again not enough personnel to accommodate the many guests. The beach was a highlight of the trip. As one previous reviewer stated the pool was indeed cold. The various bars at this hotel are also understaffed and some of them may not be able to make the drink you want. Always ask them to make your drink stronger as the booze is quite watered down to my taste. All in all, my partner and I won't be coming back here again as I have to believe there are much better hotels probably similarly priced that do not have these many issues

Room Tip: Make sure that you have hot water!! Also ensure that the hair dryer is operational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for chosing Barcelo Punta Cana as your Holiday destination.
We also wish to thank you to take your time to write a review and share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
We sincerly appreciate your personal opinion about the hotel, the staff and the food.
We take all guest feedback very seriously, as our aim is constantly improving all aspects with honesty. Our guests feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.
Thank you very much again to give us your opinion and we hope you will accept our apologize on behalf of the entire Barcelo Punta Cana staff, for any instances of discomfort that you may have encountered.
Please feel free to contact us, in case you decide to visit us again.
Yours Sincerely,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,294
    2,375
    1,289
    772
    702
See reviews for
3,149
2,524
190
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very nervous before going reading all the bad reviews but this family of 6 plus 3 loved Barcelo Punta Cana was great from the service to the food the shows we had 3 rooms were cleaned daily and water and pop were always replenished rooms could use some tlc but we didn't go to spend our vacation in the rooms . we had a great family trip I am looking forward to going back some day . All the staff we meet were fantastic the views were amazing . The Micheal Jackson Show was a must see . The pizza was very good . All in all was a great family resort

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from the Dominican Republic and thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your family vacation. It was a pleasure to have you with us,
Thanks for taking time to value and rate our product and services, We are pleased to read that you and your family fully enjoyed our resort.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you happen to visit Punta Cana in the future.

With best regards,
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Barcelo Punta Canada is a good four-star hotel, so you can expect that everything will be OK instead of fabulous.It is less expensive than a five star and is great value for money. A nice feature is that your room is never too far from the beach and that everything is in one building so you don't need to go out when it rains. I have been there twice at Christmas time and I would recommend it to anyone. My cleaning lady Jovany Desten was an angel and she always left the room perfectly clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran_ois_C961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you spent sharing your review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
In the name of our entire staff, we thank you for highlighting out the excellent service of our friendly staff. Thank you for naming those who made a difference during your visit like Jovanyy. We will be honored to welcome you back for Christmas 2013!!! Please do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Kind regards
Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

well this resort is very close to the airport so your bus trip there is very short, but beware !check-in time is 4.pm!..plan your flight time around that ,also when you need to leave to head back to the airport the bus leaves 4 hours before flight time and did make 2 other resort stops .
the resort itself is very pretty ,lots of gardens and especially gnats..no- see ims....beware if you have the attracts all bugs , type of skin like mine:they like the elbow area: staff seems to be well trained and very pleasant,but alot do not speak any or very little english,there is always a manager walking ,or lurking ,or watching and helping out when needed which obviously keeps all staff in line ..so drink service is exceptional..a good tip also hepls!
the drinks pour non stop here,but do bring a large plastic with lid cup..otherwise you get the small plastic cups and have to keep going back to the bar,they have a very good selection of alcohol and being a rum drinker the white ron barcelo rum tasted great...they also have a beer"presidente" a very nice clear smooth no after taste beer...might even switch to it here..
the food at this resort is fantastic!,a very large selection of all the food groups ,but if you adore roast beef keep dreaming,steak at the ala carte's is awesome or cubed beef on sticks will be the closest you will get to roast beef ,
always a great selection though of other meats and the ala carte' restaurants do a very nice job...service is somewhat slow but the food makes up for it..
the rooms are very simple but work well. the shower door could be abit longer ..oh well....,if you go,try for a superior room ocean view..the view from there is spectacular.but if you get a garden view, you then see a pathway ,some vegetation and get to listen to the boom, boom, boom, of the amphitheatre right behind you..now this is in the prestige" area..the rooms and other buildings in the standard room section are abit older but closer to the larger pool and swim up bar as well as the outdoor bbq hut, and the activity stage...
the other pool is closer to the kiddy pool and the le mirador restaurant as well as a bar down below open almost all day and very easy to get to ,and not busy ,so when on the beach in this area very easy to get a refill..
the beach is awesome very nice white sand recliner lounge chairs and also with a whistle love to blow life gaurd on duty...the whole beach is rather wavey,and snorkeling here is non enjoyable but if you like to jump in the surf and get knocked around or act like a kid"like me"..it is awesome..
they have alot of excursions ..but abit pricey...we did a snorkel boat excursion and was well worth the $40- each...it also gave you a chance to boat by numerous other resorts and get to see them ..
our only issue was of course " getting what your package included"
it seemed we had to call guest services and ask for the right amount of everything bath towels,beach towels "including our bar fridge contents " and had to ask to have the proper amount based on the occupancy brought to our room,man...who wants to keep complaining?and everyday?
the weather was awesome...32f almost everyday,no humidity,but lots of cloud breaks,and some rain very late /early morning,but dry by sun-up,
the show at x-mas was fantastic...so you did feel the chrstmas spirit
if you need to talk to the travel rep "if it is air transat" be prepared to wait ..alot of time was spent waiting and trying to talk to them about trying to get our room straightened out.
overall I spent a very lengthy time looking at resorts ,reading reviews ,looking at pics,and seeing what gives me the best deal for my money as well as flight times ..and well my whole family says dad did a great job.....but you decide ,but, I am sure you will not be dissapointed if you choose this resort .happy new year /2013

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Also to you a very Happy 2013!

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments regarding our services and facilities. Posts as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.
Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you a great time, which reflects the commitment and quality of service that we wish to project.

Please be assured that your comments have been already brought to the Housekeeping staff, in order to analyze your observations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again with your family!

Kind regard regards,

Sandy Pfeil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We bought our airport transfers through the hotel. I called the mooring of our departure to confirm we would be picked up at the airport. After calling 3 different phone numbers, I finally spoke to someone that confirmed we were on the list. When we arrived at the Barcelo counter, the guy had no idea who we were, after he made a call he to me everything was ok. We jumped on the bus and were taken to the to Barcelo Bavaro Beach, I told the driver "I think we are at the wrong place", he told me "this is the place" and unloaded our bags. I showed him our reservations and assured him we were not at the right hotel. He made several angry phone calls in Spanish and then took us to the right one. He was always nice to us, I think he was very angry with his buddy at the airport that put us on the wrong bus. When we finally arrived at the resort, it was outta control! There were 4-5 employees behind the counter at the check-in desk, no one was in lines, everyone was just cutting each other off and yelling at the employees that they had been there for hours waiting for a clean room. This was at 3:15 and checkin time is 4pm. We we finally got to speak to an employee, we asked her how her day was going and joked with her, it took her about 10 minutes to find our reservation and she told us our room was not ready, gave us our room number and towel cards in a envelope and to check back in an hour. We had 2 choices, yell at her, or head to the bar for an hour and make the best of it. We checked back at 5pm and the gentleman I spoke to made a call and told me another 30 minutes, back to the bar! We went back again a 6pm and the girl we first joked with when we began the process, saw us, checked again to see if our room was ready. It was not! She said since we had been so nice she was going to find something, she disappeared to the back room and came back with a new room that had a great view of the pool. Getting your room after 6pm kinda sucks, but I can't understand people yelling at employees. That should be directed at management.
If they had one line for check-in where they helped the next in line and another line for those that had checked in, but were waiting for their room the process would've been much better.
The room was average.
Beach and pools were great.
I can't see how anyone could complain about the customer service, it was better than many high end resorts we have stayed at. We didn't eat anywhere except the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but out coffee cups, orange juice glasses and drinks were always refilled before they were empty and always with a friendly smile.
We are pretty much drinking and pool people so we don't really get worked up about the food, BUT out of 30+ all inclusive stays, it was amongst the worst were had, but it didn't kill us.
The price was right and if they would fix their check-in process, we would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelopc, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all our best wishes for a Happy New Year and thank you for having chosen Barcelo Punta Cana as your holiday destination.

Our sincere apologies for the confusion with your transfer. We are happy to know that the driver handled the situation well.

We thank you for your suggestion regarding the check in process, which will be certainly taken into consideration, in order to avoid the situation that you have encountered in the future, and for which we wish to express our apologies.

We appreciate you nice comments regarding our costumer service.

We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our Barceló Hotels & Resorts family.

Sincerly

Sandy Pfeil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I drove from Santo Domingo to stay overnight at the Barcelo Punta Cana.After bringing our bags to the front desk,it took almost an hour to check in.The hotel staff barely spoke English,which is a major problem,especially if you've never been to the property and have questions.
While my husband waited on line,I went to get reservations for dinner.All the restaurants (7)were sold out,except the Dominican restaurant at 9:30 PM.The food was OK at best.
All that you can get to eat in between mealtimes are disgusting hot dogs and hamburgers by the pool.The drinks(Piña Coladas)were awful.
now the room.....The TV remote didn't work,the room safe didn't work,the doors to the terrace didn't lock,we only got 1 towel in the bathroom,no WIFI,the toilet didn't flush properly,and we could clearly hear our neighbors.
BUT..........the beach was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

first hello to everyone and a happy new year to anyone planing a trip to punta cana in 2013 this place is about the best place for your buck, 2 lovely pools 1 quite 1 noisy one of the best beaches in all of bavaro lovely ocean view rooms for those who choose buildings 2 to 5 have the best ocean view we have made this place our destination for the last 6 straight vacations and have had no regrets,remember to travel with an open mind and that your on vacation you will have a good time if you need any other tips or have questions drop me a line, if you should encounter any problems look up the very courtious and helpful hotel director (SANDY PFIEL)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morningsidetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
2.6 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing