We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to the Dominican, 1st to the Barcelo Porta Plater and now here, Barcelo Punta Cana. It's located 45 minutes from Punta Cana airport which is a big plus.

Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming
Rooms are spaceous air conditioned & clean, room safe provided for free.
Main buffet; wide range of meals at all seatings, depending on the length of your restaurant seating are automatically arranged. The food was superb.

Evening shows were initially amaterish however they got better and better as the days went on to the point they were outstanding.

Plenty pool games, exercising in the water, dancing lessons and gym

Drinks flowed like the red sea

Downside- thought some of the pool repairs looked shabby, occassionally you can loose running water to your room at busy periods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,450
    2,467
    1,341
    796
    736
See reviews for
3,290
2,647
196
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my first all-inclusive resort experience. The resort was very nice and common areas were kept clean and tidy. The room was your typical two-queen bedroom, although I loved the view from my balcony. Every morning I paid a visit to the balcony to take in the sights and try to get used to the heat.

We (a group of 17) attended the Mexican Themed restaurant, which sadly to say was a terrible experience. The service was off quite a bit that night with half the group being served main courses while the other half was still on apps. Some people got the wrong order placed in front of them while one member of the group did not get their meal until the rest of us were almost finished dessert.

The second Themed Restaurant was for Japanese, which I am very happy to say was a much more pleasant experience. The chef preparing the food in front of the patrons is a great niche and kept most people entertained. There were still a few mistakes with the wrong food being brought to the wrong person, but these waiters/waitresses were much more accommodating when asked to fix the errors.

Lastly we attended the Italian Themed Restaurant. The food was average as well as the service. Nothing to complain about, but nothing that stood out.

Overall the service throughout the hotel was wonderful! The bartenders in the main lobby area, particularly Sandoval and Caesar, made the experience quite enjoyable. They were always were friendly and welcomed you back each night. After two days Sandoval didn’t need to ask what we wanted to drink, as he was very good at remembering our preference.

I look forward to when I may travel back to this resort again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra money. Elevators are very tiny. If you don't like stairs try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiche83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Iam staying at the barcelo punta cana. I found the service to be excellent. Also all of the restaurants on site were very good. The pool bar was lively and fun. There is always something to do at the Barcelo. Evening entertainment was great, piano bar, karoke. Also the drinks very good, ot watered down at all. I will be back again.

My friend and I were suppose to check out on the 30th,but due to the storm,we couldn't get a flight out. The front desk was helpful in extending our stay. Also Jose Carrasco, was helpful during our stay. He always had a kind word and a smile on his face. It is nice to see people enjoy their job and bring joy to the work environment.

Room Tip: Room 1114 first floor good view and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diddles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Though there were a few small issues upon arrival; Miguel(manager), Mabel (premium services) Arcelis, Ana Wilda,Yokayra (Staff) all went out of their way to treat us like royalty and make our honeymoon a wonderful event that will be remembered as an excellent beginning to the rest of our life together. I purposefully used the specific names of the staff because these individuals went above and beyond for our enjoyment. The rest of the resort staff all deserve honorable mention. They were all great. This was the best vacation ever. I've been on many Carribean vacations, scuba diving in almost all the Islands. There was such a good time had here that I didn't even think of diving. My wife and I will return here again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Actually the hotel and grounds exceeded our expectations, beautiful and clean. Check in was a snap, did see lines at onter times, but we wer lucky and the only ones there..... It is an excellent place to go if you like to party. the alcohol is not high quality. but my husband like the Presidente beer. The restuarants that we went to, French, Italian, Dominician, and Japanese were excellent. The buffet, not so much.........
the shows were......... er interesting and not very well attended. seemed like the shows were new and they needed more time to practice, but most of the dancers were quite energetic. The casino was small and deserted! the people were awesome, be nice to all the employees they work very hard for you!!
We were extremely disappointed in the diving and the snorkeling.....the only place they take you to snorkel, close by is packed with people on party boats and the reef is dead. About 4 different types of fish hang around ( apparently they have been fed a lot)
If you do decide to do excursions be sure to check out the guy by the pool with the swim up bar, he got us a better deal then the people set up in the lobby of the hotel,
they do have kayaks etc. that you can use, but they have no backrests, have you ever tried paddling a sit on top kayak without a backrest?, its a killer on the back and legs.
The beach is beautiful, but you can only go in and swim in a small area, it was rather rough surf.
Actually our biggest complaint would be some of the guests......a lot of pushy people, with no respect for lines , or toes!!! We also were in line at the buffet by the pool for lunch and had a teenager not like her choice of food and threw it back into the container!!! And her Mom said 'No problemo!" when people got upset......then another womans baby dirtied its diaper and she rinsed it out in the pool !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our first all-inclusive resort, and my boyfriend's first trip out of the country! The resort is lovely, and the service was excellent. Love the beautiful beach - white sand and turquoise waters. We had a great couples massage at the spa. We also went on a sightseeing tour of Santo Domingo: we visited a museum, underground caves, shopping centre, etc. I did enjoy the food (buffet and a la carte options had lots to choose from)...despite getting a severe case of food poisoning (DO NOT EAT THE SUSHI at the Japanese a la carte restaurant). The staff was extremely helpful during my sickness; they made sure I saw a doctor and checked up on me while I was resting. We booked a snorkelling tour through the resort that we had to cancel due to my illness, and they let us do the trip when I was better; no issues rescheduling. Despite this, we had a great time, making the best of a bad situation. I still recommend this all-inclusive...just be careful what you eat. (We visited August 2007).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christineisa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A group of 12 of us took a trip to Punta Cana last November. We weren't sure what to expect but after some research and reading reviews we gave it a shot. This resort exceeded our expectations for the price!! Here is a breakdown of our stay:

Check-in: This was very smooth. 6 of the 12 of us had checked in 1 day prior, our rooms were all over the resort, but after speaking with the front desk they had all 7 of our rooms in the same building and just doors away from each other, and in doing this we all ended up getting an ocean view room. We arrived at about 3pm and really didn't have to wait in a long line.

Rooms: The rooms were great. Very clean with everything working. Great view of ocean & pools, nice little balcony. This truly was "all-inclusive". They were sure to keep our in-room fridge fully stocked with El Presidente (their house beer), sodas and bottled water.

Food: This was the only part lacking on this trip. BUT, like I said for the price and for all-inclusive, the food was average. I have done other all-inclusives to know that food isn't always the greatest. Since we were there with a large group (our group ranged in age from 26-40 years old with some couples and some singles) we didn't expect to go to sit-down dinners every night. When we did we broke into smaller groups and you had to make your reservation for that evening fairly early in the morning. They did guarantee us 2 dinner reservations, however all of ours were different since we didn't book as a group. But, the daily buffets were edible..not great, but really not horrible and no one got sick on the trip. The lunches at the pool were probably our best meals of the day.

Drinks/Entertainment: I have to say, if you are looking for fun, this is the place to stay. As noted before, they do not skimp on the drinks. The would keep them coming and every bar/pool bar was so accomodating and made some stiff drinks. We brought our own 22 oz plastic cups and beer pitchers and they filled everything up for us with no problems, no questions asked. The Dominican Vodka had a bit of a funny taste, but when asked, they served ABSOLUT with no extra charge. The beer was probably equivilent to like a Bud or Coors Light. The entertainment staff was great-they allowed us to use our blow up beer pong raft in the pool and played a lot of fun pool side games. Now, I will say that we were a rowdy group and enjoyed this aspect, this was all done at the pool with the swim up bar. They did have a completely separate pool area for families and children. So if this sounds too wild, there were certainly more calm areas for those not wanting the day-time drinking/pool fun. We were there reliving Spring Break days so we were a bit on the not-so-quiet side.
The night life was decent, one club and lots of bars. We didn't spend too much time in the Casino, it was small.

It was a great trip, and we would revisit this resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,746 reviews
37.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 26 in Bavaro
1,254 reviews
16.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#88 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,273 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing