We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!! Would definitely recomment the place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
NB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it!! Would definitely recomment the place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had an ocean view room in the prestige class - loved it - our first time ever that we did go to A la carte meals and loved every one of them - Nothing negative to say about this place!! Check in was fast - but no bell boy to bring you to your room - make sure to get the proper instructions to your room at the desk - others had the same problem - a very minor problem in the least. The beach is super - with plenty of shady areas. Staff was very polite - and they have quiet pools as well as pools with activity. About 20 minutes walk from the nearest flea market but venders came to the hotel at least twice during our stay. The merchandise in the boutiques below the hotel have very decent prices - check those out b-4 you check out the vendors. All in all - cannot go wrong with this choice of accomodation. for more info on the location go to the www.guidepuntacana.com

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank copperbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,243
    2,331
    1,260
    759
    689
See reviews for
3,097
2,470
187
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This isn't the fanciest of hotels but for what you pay, this place was a steal. Its a great location on the beach with plenty of amenities at your finger tips. And its walking distance to the flea market area as well. The food is decent, not award winning, but you wont go hungry, there is plenty to choose from so even the pickiest of eaters will find something to eat. The drinks are plentiful and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. What more can you ask for? Upon check in there is an option to upgrade your room, from other reviews I did read that not all the other rooms have been renovated yet. We did not pay extra and we ended up in a newer room. So you might want to get your room first before opting to spend more just in case. Another con that I found about the hotel was there wasnt a late night snack option. If you missed dinner, then you were hungry until the next day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meems07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

make sure you print everything your print confirmation letter and bring it. book everything far in advance you will get a good rate

Room Tip: ocean view , its worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micha828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at the resort for a few days at the end our trip. We enjoyed the beach and the pools, our room and view were fantastic and the restaurant Paris was very good. Check-in was chaotic and I think they need more staff, the buffet was not great, but I am not a fan of buffets in general. Overall I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The people who complain about this hotel will complain about everything. We went with friends that we often travel with and all four of us agreed about the hotel. Starting with check-in, one room was ready but we got there at 12:30 so had lunch and walked the Beautiful and CLEAN grounds, then took a walk on one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. When we came back a little later, our rooms were ready. Both of our rooms were directly on the ocean with magnificent views, no problems here.
By the way, one moronic person complained about only hearing Spanish spoken here.
Number one it isn't true, two, your in the Domincan Republic. Last I checked it is a Spanish speaking country. The staff were very friendly at all times!!
This hotel hasd 6 different restaurants and a buffet for those who want to pig-out all day.
The restaurants all had very good to excellent food. We were lucky enough to eat at all of them during our stay. Make sure to get in the Dominican, Paris and Italian restaurants.
We walked the beach 1-2 times every day, it was immaculately clean and no one bothering you (like in Jamaica)
My friend and I took a 4 hour dune-buggy trip. Quite an experience and lots of fun, but only go if you can deal with being covered in mud.
Overall, we all rated the Barcelo Punta Cana a 10 out of 10. Sure you can spend more for fancier places but we found this hotel perfect in every way.
Thank you to the staff at Barcelo Punta Cana for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for oceanfront in buliding 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralphyboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We've traveled all over the islands and this is the worst resort we have EVER stayed in. Yes some staff members are nice but they don't have much to work with to help you solve problems or issues. We had problems after problems and we are quite easy going travelers!!! All we need is the beach and a clean room. Bottom line...the hotel is filthy dirty...never been really maintained even with the renovated rooms...so you constantly feel like you need to bathe. Here are some problems we had...my husband ate a raw meatball, the cleaning lady had put someone elses toothbrush with ours on the counter (I still don't understand how that could happen), no water to bathe, I got sick from the food and ate nothing but rice and grill cheese sandwiches (the hotdogs are even stale and rubbery!!!) The whole place should be shut down and cleaned-up.

I understand that it is a reasonably priced hotel however I personally prefer to pay a bit more and stay at a place that is clean...this place would never pass a government inspection on food safety and hygiene if it were in North-America!

redeamable points: great views from ocean-view rooms and a fun kids pool when it's not packed with kids on teh weekends!!!

We switched hotels for our second week...we are niow at the Hard-Rock next door and it's night and day in comparisson!!!

do yourself a favor...pay more stay and at a better place...vacations are for FUN and not for problems we have enough of those in our daily lives!

Room Tip: prestige deluxe ocean-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fun2travel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My fiance and I just got back from our stay at Barcelo and I must say that overall the hotel was good and rather large. Two little things that ticked me off: when we arrived at the hotel, granted it was 1:30 in the afternoon and check-in is not until 3:00, they told us our room would be ready in 10 minutes. We decided to take a stroll around the grounds to see the hotel and when we came back we were informed that our room would not be ready for another 2 hours, so we went from 10 minutes to TWO HOURS. The check-in clerks were diligent in trying to get us our room, though, the housekeeping was not answering their phone. We finally got a room at exactly 3:00-whatever. The room was really nice and clean, it had a flat screen, we had a view of the pool and in the distance, the ocean. The second thing that ticked me off a bit was the restaurants. We ate at Tokio which was pretty good, they do it hibachi style. We also ate Paris; when we booked this restaurant the girl helping us told us the restaurant is air conditioned-that was a lie. The windows were open and the fans were running but that didn't help the incredible humidity, so we ate sweating. Also, what should have been an hour dinner, it was actually a two hour dinner. The same thing with the Dominican restaurant, only it was air conditioned. The food I'll say was pretty good, the buffet was okay-always the same fare in the morning and during lunch time and different cuisine for dinner at night. We only ate there once for dinner. We ate lunch one day at the pizzeria across from the pool, the pizza is actually pretty good considering we live in New York with some of the best pizzerias around. The drinks were good, but the outside bar doesn't have frozen drinks so keep that in mind. The pool was rather large, it had a swim-up bar and it was pretty clean. The entertainment during the day was...well...entertaining with all the contests and dancing and aerobics. The staff was nice and friendly. The grounds were well kept and the beach was really clean. That beach is absolutely beautiful and so much fun with the waves, they even let you rent boogy boards which are really fun. We did the trapeze, scary but, really fun as well! Note, they have an amphitheater for the night shows (we didn't stay up for them, the beach knocked us out) and a casino. The casino is small and there are slot machines, black jack, roulette and poker. Overall, if we got the same deal we did we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ANTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
19.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
3.5 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#20 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
3.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Barcelo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing