We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,680)
Filter reviews
6,680 results
Traveler rating
3,607
1,871
730
260
212
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,607
1,871
730
260
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucaswim up bardeluxe junior suitesister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
3,721 - 3,726 of 6,680 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2011

we have been to punta cana 14 times and this was our first time at this resort.
there were 8 of us
. from the moment we arrived we loved the resort.
excellent service/ excellent food / very organized./ no lineups.
your wish is my command attitude/ everyone went out of their way.
smaller resort so everything was within walking distance/ the lobby the pool/ the beach.
great beach and pool
short drive from the airport .
hasselfree vacation
will go back

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

travelled to Catalonia Royal last week of January. Enjoyed every minute of it. The food, the beach, the room and especially the service. We were there for golf and what's good about it is that it takes less then 4 hours to play so you're back on the beach by noon. The food was very good and so well presented. The wine they serve is also very good compare to all resorts we have been in Dominican republic ( 5 others) This is the best hotel we stayed at so far. Our only dissappontment is that , on our last day, the hotel was apparentely full, and even though our bus was picking us up at 12.40 at night, we had to leave our room at noon that day ( no late check out availiable) and no courtesy room either so we had to go take our showers at the SPA. There was a locker to leave our things during the day but we still had to carry our important documents and cash with us all day. But despide this, we are planning to return with friends in April 2011.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniellebreton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in posting your review about Catalonia Royal Bavaro on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. All your kind comments with regards to the the food, the beach and the service are greatly appreciated.

It is always a pleasure to have you all as our guests and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerly,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was our fifth visit to Dominican Republic and the best value for money. We stayed two weeks at the Catalonia Royal in January. The grounds are well kept, the landscape beautiful and services very good. The food and beverage staff speaks many languages , are kind, well-mannered and always helpful. The restaurant Thalassa is very very good. Food is tasty, nicely presented with European style portions ( i.e. not too big ).

Alain & Lorraine

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alain075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Catalonia Royal Bavaro experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities at the property.

Hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We were there the last week of january 2011, we are 4 couples from Ontario and we all had a great time. From the airport to the resort was quick and pleasant experience and only took about 45 minutes to 1 hour from the second we got off the plane. Check in was quick and first impressions were great, we left our bags there and had about 2 hours till our rooms were ready. The resort itself and our room was very clean and in 1 week I can't complain about too much noise from maitanence. The weather that week was amazing we had 15 minutes of rain 1 night, about 28 to 30's all week . The ROYAL resort itself is not big so your never too far from any thing, and is a very nice looking resort, at the beach area there is a infinity pool, a great place to eat , a beach bar with seating, The beach are was very large and we never had a problem getting eight lounge chairs. We all booked Junior Deluxe rooms of the 4 couples 2 of us got rooms facing the center of the resort and the other 2 couples had rooms facing the back of the resort. The 2 of us that got facing the front were happy were our rooms, the shower was a walk in with a rain shower head and the toilet had a door and the size was good. The balcony was an ok size but the sun got really hot from about 8am, to 3pm no big deal. The rooms mini bar is 1 small bottle of good amber rum the first day and 3 beer and pepsi and water, The beer and water and pop is every day but alittle inconsistent the rum is only the first day.Over all we were pleased with the room and the room service. The 2 couples who got the back of the resort were not happy, the rooms smelled and were not as big and not as nice looking they went the next morning looking to switch rooms and decided to up grade to a villa for $100 american a night . They say $80 a night but will come down once your there, there seemed to be 1 or 2 villas empty all week, they have there own infinity pool and they are really nice we had a fantastic time every day coming back to one of their villas and relax in and around the pool while ordering room service for a late lunch. The Dominican people are very nice and we never had any problem with the staff in any area, the language barrier was only a liitle tough with the cleaning and maintenance, the service staff at all bars or restaurants and the beach were great and friendly. The food was fantasic and lots of it, never a need to be hungry and I am a fussy eater. We ate at the main dining room 2 nights and enjoyed it alot, we also ate at the Italian restuarant , the Cata Tapa, the Japanesse restuarant, theSea Blue by the beach and we enjoy them all. The only dinner we were not impressed with was at the American Steak House, The food was okay but the service and the atmosphere was not up to par with the rest. Over all I would recommed this resort and so would our friends who have a lot more experience, it is quiet and still fun, with the family resort next door you can go there if you want some night life and more to do.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

In a nutshell, I really loved this resort, hubby is still a little on the fence.
Check in was quick - loved that this resort is only about 20 minutes from the airport. We were the only ones from our flight that were going to this resort, so we were checked in within 15 minutes. The drink that is presented at check-in was delicious - I meant to inquire about this drink at the bars but completely forgot about it until the day we left and watched people getting served this beverage upon their check-in. But as I remember it was like a sparkly fruity type drink. Yummy.
It was almost 9:00 by the time we got to our room and wandered about the grounds. We hadn't realized that the restaurants close at 10:00 pm so we never got dinner that first night. We ordered room service which was just okay. The selection that late at night consists of a choice of just 4 sandwiches. That was a bit of a disappointment.
One thing to keep in mind - the air conditioner only works when your patio door is completely shut ... it took us about half an hour to figure this out ... once we did though we had no problems with the air conditioner or the large fan over the bed. Our room was always cool.
Mini Bar in the room was always stocked the next day. Towel and turn-down service every evening when you went out for dinner - that is a really nice touch. Never had to worry about beach towels ever.
Beach - it is spectacular. We found that you do indeed have to get up early and put towels, etc on a couple of chairs if you wanted a specific spot, but there are always chairs available. Some people were holding 4 - 6 chairs that appeared to be for just 2 people, so we found that a little frustrating (and rude).
One of the beach waiters was carrying a tray of drinks on his head as he walked - amazing - even in the wind he was able to stroll from the bar all the way to the customers with a tray of about 5 drinks on his head the entire way. I hope he got lots of tips - that was so cool to watch.
Snorkeling is amazing! Lots of fish to see and my husband even saw a small octopus!
We didn't do any excursions nor did we do anything at the resort except hang out and relax. The beach is perfect for this.
Pools - we loved laying one whole day by the infinity pool. What a view. The other pool was way busier and noisier, but it was also a lot of fun. Great drinks at the pool bar. The Banana Mamas were made with real bananas - what a treat! We both drank a lot of those!
Restaurants - for the most part were pretty good. I enjoyed almost all of the ones we tried, my husband not so much. He is not normally fussy but he didn't really care for the food. EXCEPT - the PIZZA! The pizza (once we found the place) was amazing as was the roasted chicken at the same place. I loved that rotisserie chicken and pizza so much that we went there for lunch everyday for our last 4 days. You have to try it!
We tried the Steakhouse - hubby compared it to a Ponderosa type restaurant, but I thought it was pretty good. Italian was just so-so but perhaps it was the dish we ordered. The Mexican was pretty good. Thalassa was great for breakfast and lunch but we didn't care too much for the dinner we had. Again, could be just what we ordered - other dishes may have been better. Sea Blue by the infinity pool was really good. I loved the calamari (squid) and the burgers were good here too. We did dinner here once and they had lobster grilled which was excellent. There was no extra charge for the lobster here, but I had seen on other menus where you could order lobster for a $20 charge to your room.
We did not try the Japanese restaurant but I heard a few people talking about it and said that it was really good.
We hung out at the piano bar several evenings - loved that they served real Bailey's. That was nice after a day of drinking and eating to just sit outside or inside the Piano Bar and talk to other guests.
There is also the Maloo Bar - on the beach - they make about 6 different fruit juice drinks - all made with fresh fruit - this was really nice in the morning on the beach ...
We golfed twice - one day at the Catalonia Caribe (18 hole) and once at the Cabeza De Toro (9 hole). We booked the package that included golf (I think Westjet and Sunwing are the only two Canadian tour companies that offer this) and we paid $35 per person for the cart. It was almost too hot to golf - the weather in Punta Cana is awesome - but if you go early enough it is doable. One really nice little extra - when we got back from golfing one day, we came back to our room to find that a bath was drawn for us! What a nice touch! We found it too hot for a bath so we showered instead. We left the bath water in the tub until we came back about 4 hours later to find that the water was still warm! I think these are heated tubs. I am sorry we didn't use it - just not into warm baths in the tropics!
Only complaint I had for the week we were there was the multiple power outages. One night it was around midnight so that wasn't so bad. Once during the day the power was out so no blender drinks for about an hour! Horrors! Kidding - it wasn't that bad.
A couple of nights later the power went out again - it happened around 8:00 and several patrons were in the middle of dinner so I felt bad for them. The power was off and on for about an hour. It's really dark so unless you are carrying a flashlight around with you all the time, all you can do is find a spot to sit and wait it out. Fortunately we were finished dinner and had made our way back to the Piano Bar so we were able to sit and have a couple of drinks while waiting for the power to go back on (so we could find our way back to our room).
So all in all this place deserves to be in the top 10 in my opinion. I really don't have anything to compare to in the DR but I would compare it similar to my favourite place in the Riveria Maya. If we were to come back, we would probably choose the Cat Royal again, but would definitely upgrade to one of the villas with a pool - just to try that once.
I hated the flight home (about 16 hours of buses, airports, airplanes, tarmacs and shuttles) but that is nothing to do with the resort so I won't even mention this, but it may affect our decision on whether or not we come back to Punta Cana for future vacations, but we loved the fact that we can make it a golf vacation, plus enjoy some awesome beaches.
We loved the beach, the staff is excellent, the ambiance is great and weather is fanastic. I would highly recommend this resort ...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews