We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Punta Cana
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,112)
Filter reviews
8,112 results
Traveler rating
4,430
2,223
863
328
268
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,430
2,223
863
328
268
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea blue royal side infinity pool piano bar cata tapa thalassa restaurant tapas restaurant tao cat rodeo steak house royal guests juice bar yuca swim up bar sister hotel musty smell dominican republic pillow menu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 8,112 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good breakfast, friendly staff, good to walk around inside the resort since it is relatively large, the quality of food in some restaurants was not very good in Vabaro, lots of benches at the beach, but it was always too windy to stay at the beach, spent most time at pools, over all not bad for the cost

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adventure47688296283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a last minute holiday and didn’t have too much time to look through hotels. We decided on Catalonia Royal Bavaro from a few photos. It’s even better in person and couldn’t have enjoyed our holiday more. Attentive staff are always there to help and make your stay as good as it can be. Would like to say thanks to Alex (Head Bar Manager) going above and beyond during our stay. He makes sure his staff are keeping on top of you having a cold drink in your hand before you realise you need one.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank E4141WSbenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I write this whilst I’m still here, indeed it is 6am in the morning and I’d rather be asleep, but there are far too few sun beds at this hotel and the hotel policy (even though they say otherwise) is to allow people to reserve all the sun beds. So, if you want one you need to have your towel by the pool by the latest 7am. Personally I thinks it’s madness as do many other people here! Then about 20-25% of the sun beds aren’t used, sit there empty all day. If you point this out to management they just shrug and say “oh well”. Other than that the adults part of the hotel is lovely, the staff are very warm and friendly and the hotel and rooms are well maintained. The food in the adults side is 8/10 but on the family side only 4/10, the Caribbean and Italian restaurants are pretty awful actually. If you’re staying in the adults only section and you aren’t worried about a sun bed to lay on you’ll have a great time :)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Simon,

Thank you for share your review. It is good to know that you liked our facilities and customer service. On the other hand, we apologize for this situation regarding the sun beds. It is true that we are enjoying a good occupation and can feel with many guests however we are doing our best to satisfy all our guests. I would also like to share that we will be taking more stringent measures to enforce our regulation regarding sun beds. Our Guest service department is informed about your comment, please feel free to approach them and express your concerns, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

everything was good, the food was great. ask for a renovated room or your room will smell musky. also make sure your bring your own small bills to tip because this place did not have change at any point, ANYWHERE. made it very hard to tip the workers which I thought was super inconsiderate.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amanda7286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We spent a marvelous week everyone and everything was EXCELLENTE,service at the reception, restaurant and spa is perfect, Cecilia, Kenia, Marisol, Rosa, Nilsa, Beatriz, Joey and Wilson at the Sea Grill made all the difference between an ordinary vs extraordinary stay, special thanks to Enrique at the reception

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LLachapelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews