We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was our fifth stay & we do feel home away fr home. Quiet resort..,not loud or busy or no party life. Perfect for us!! Service is great, food was the best ever this visit. Grounds were perfect. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piecingit2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.piecingit2gether,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, it was a pleasure to welcome you for your fifth holidays, our kitchen staff is pleased to read we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon at your second home!

Regards from the Catalonia Royal team.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,877
    1,518
    583
    191
    149
See reviews for
361
3,940
83
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very poor for the money.
We are here at the moment and have asked for the pillow menu on day 1 but nothing has arrived as of 7 days later. They ran out of steaks twice now and the lobster - we have water coming through the light bulbs and air con unit onto the floor - have told them everyday but no one has come to see - very dangerous as slippy and It's water dripping through the electrics. Our bath/tub doesn't work as the stopper is broken - no one cares. Don't come here for a 5 star holiday. To the manager we are in room 4409 please sort out the leak and can we have clean towels as ours are on the floor soaking up the water. We are not the only ones affected by this problem.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobdavies66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Second stay at the Royal Catalonia. Very nice with some need to rejuvenate. Breakfast buffet very good and the service is excellent. Very friendly staff that has obviously been trained very well. The GM of food and beverage - Luis Francisco Cedano - has done a great job with his people. Carlos A Guilera is a top notch server that remembered our names (4 of us) after the first day! Ask for him if you eat at the restaurant by reception.
The beach is beautiful and long enough for a nice walk.
If you are a non-smoker, there is not a lot of relief from the puffers. Even non-smoking rooms have the smell wafting up on the balconies. Regardless, a good spot and great value for an adult only resort that is quiet yet fun.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvocoBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. GGW17,

Greetings! Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for the second visit. We are content to know you received once again a great service; we will be delighted to share your kind remarks to Luis Cedano and Carlos Aguilera.

Thank you for your excellent recommendations and valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is an Adults-only sister property to the Catalonia Bavaro. In addition to the amenities of the Catolonia Bavaro, the Royal Bavaro adds 2 private pools and 2 outstanding restaurants. Both properties share the same beach which is beautiful. We were upgraded from the Catalonia to the Royal Catalonia and the Royal Catalonia is significantly nicer - more upscale. The rooms are spacious and the 2 restaurants were superb. I would avoid the catalonia Bavaro, but highly recommend the Royal Bavaro.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalterNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mr. WalterNewYork,

Greetings! Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. We are content to confirm our Royal services were of your expectations, thank you for recommending us and for your kind remarks of our facilities. We hope to be your choice for your next holidays.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

we stayed here from nov 1st-15th nov and there was 5 of us, me my hubby son in 1 room and son and partner in another and we had a great time. we had a ground floor room in blk 40 which was kept spotless by our maids, towels changes day and evening, plenty of drinks in fridge and clever towel designs left. only downside was the mossies coming in. the main pool was never busy and we always got sunbeds. waiters came round often for drinks so rarely had to walk to bar.some of our bulbs in the room were not working but were replaced straight away and the pillow service was quick too. I cant believe people saying the staff were unfriendly as we found them lovely, francisco was always waiting to make us laugh and the girls at breakfast always gave us a cuddle when we went in. The food was always well cooked and presented, the only complaint we had was the dinner, it was the same limited menu every night and we got quite bored in the 2 weeks even after visiting other restaurants. I was in a wheelchair but was always given a table which was convenient for us.The table wine was good and we only found out on our last day that you could have champagne with your meals free. The beach was restful and nicely shaded, the water was warm and just right for me asi cant swim. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and my son proposed to his girlfriend which was such a romantic place for it, and apart from being eated alive by the mossies and same old menu we would return. I must mention the thompson rep domingo who was marvellous and bought you creams or anything you needed in town for you which was half the price than on hotel pharmacy. thank you domingo it was well appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manicm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. manicm00,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro; we appreciate you sharing your comment on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to know you had a great stay with your family and had unforgettable moments like the marriage proposal! It was our staff pleasure to always provide a friendly and efficient service, especially Francisco and housekeeping.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and suggestions. We look forward to your next holidays with us.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for my partner’s 30th birthday present and we had an amazing time. Although, we did have a nice time, this review should tell you all you need to know about the hotel.
We were greeted in Spanish by the helpful concierges and given a free welcome drink before being given helpful instructions about the hotel in English. He will also give you details of the FREE watersports included in your package. This is a theme of the hotel, although the staff will greet you in Spanish, they will continue to talk to you helpfully in English. We only found a small percentage of staff that couldn’t speak English. We were then greeted by a nice man called Bernard, who along with Sammy ensured that we had a brilliant stay and helped us when we had any problems or issues.

Just something to be cautious of, the hotel operates what is a global policy of making you identify your bags, before sending you to your room and getting a bell-boy to bring your bags to your room. This happens at many hotels and is a bit contrived. This ofcourse helpful is a bit pointless if your room is only 30 metres away. They will also insist that a bellboy takes the bags to your room. The bellboy we had was a little irritating, we didn’t have any small change to give him and so couldn’t tip him at that point. We’d have been happy to tip him later but then he began to try and demonstrate how the safe worked (hint, hint) and left the room very slowly. Then everytime he saw us thereafter he didn’t really greet us and looked at us with a long face – totally out of character with the rest of the lovely staff at the hotel.

In your room

The room was lovely, clean and spacious, cleaned daily with towels changed and a further turn down service in the evening. Your bedsheets will be made up daily but not necessarily changed. The fridge was topped up daily with plenty of water, coke, pepsi and beer, but if you want more than that you have to pay extra. We had a bath and shower in our room. Our tips would be to try not to leave the balcony door open in the evening or at night, this will lead to mosquitoes coming into your room. Also there's a chance birds might come in (apparently this really freaked out another guest). The air conditioning works perfectly and if you open the balcony door it automatically switches off. If you turn the air-conditioning off when you leave the room it might result in quite a damp smell being left in the room. Not sure what this was but in hindsight it might have been our own clothes.
There is free wifi at the hotel (no password required). There aren't many spare sockets in the room and the best plugs to have with you are the flat 2pin plugs rather than the round 2 pin plugs.
You should check to see whether your room is on the ground floor, if it is try to change it as your balcony won't be as private and you can occasionally hear heavy footsteps on the staircase or room above.
Around the hotel

At the front you have the first pool. This is often busy and most Brits hang out there. You will also get livelier people from the family side congregating at this pool. Then you have two small jacuzzis and the gym both are surprisingly not that busy. About a 50-100m walk further down you have another pool which is quieter and mainly populated by couples.
The beach is divided into three parts. To the left of the small stream is a livelier part where most of the families and groups hang out, playing a range of sports including football, volleyball and table tennis. The middle (just to the right of the stream is the busier part of the couples beach with a lot more sunlight and sunbathers. To the far right (near the juice bar) is the quiet part, a bit more shaded and reclused. You will be approach to do activities by men wearing white or green t-shirts, if you say no they don't bother you again.

Restaurants

We found all the restaurant staff to be helpful, friendly,professional and the food to be of a high quality.
On the couples side, the main restaurant serves three meals a day offering a table service. You will be escorted to your table as with all the restaurants. The food is really good. There is a cooked breakfast and a buffet. The lunch is really nice, salad and a few dishes and dinner is superb. The steak isn't very lean though. Look out for Nicholas, Jorge and Dario who are all very helpful and friendly.

The blue restaurant further down (opposite the couples pool) is also nice but the service is not that great after 1500. Look out for Jeanty the nice waiter and the singing barman who is always smiling.

If you want a nice, quiet dinner try the Tapas. Great food but dinner only. No booking required as with most restaurants.

On the other side

Italian restaurant on the other side is really nice, and the staff are again very friendly.

We didn't try the Japanese restaurant.

The Mexican has a good atmosphere and whilst the starters aren't great the mains are superb. The staff are very well-motivated here but it isn’t that big so can sometimes have a bit of an empty feeling.

We didn't try the steakhouse as it always seemed too busy.

The main restaurant on the other side is a family restaurant, which is colourful although we didn’t eat there.

Most restaurants will give you a wine list. Just order house wine and all OTHER non-wine drinks should be included in the all-inclusive package. You may have to request certain brands though if you're particular as they tend to offer the local stuff first.
One other thing to note is that occasionally at peak times or when there are a surge of diners the front of house staff will make you wait. This is so that they can set the tables, manage demand and ensure you’re served quickly inside the restaurant.

Bars

The main bar at the front of the couples side is pretty decent and not very busy.
The Blue restaurant has a bar.

There is a bar on the beach. Try the sweet Mari Huana but not too many coco locos (it can be a laxative). The bar man is really nice. He also offered a "table service" on the beach. There is also a juice bar offering naturally fresh juices.

There are often night activities on the beach and parties there too.

There is a really cool night bar on the family side about half way down. It's normally empty and really chilled with neon lights.

There is also a night club called Cats and live night-time shows on the stage on the family side.

There are gyms on both sides of the complex.
You may be approached in reception to join the Royal Catalonia club. Although this is a polite hard-sell presentation, you have no obligation to do so and you can get a free bag of goodies worth $75.

One overall observation about the hotel is that it is quite dimly lit. I’m not sure if this is due to energy-saving lightbulbs or ambience but at times in our room and the restaurants it wasn’t so easy on the eyes.
Notwithstanding though, we had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
11 Thank The_Perreira_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear The_Perreira_Kid,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you had an amazing time for the birthday celebration.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are sorry for the inconveniences presented at check in, we take important note. We are glad you found our room accommodations lovely; in regards of the minibar we must clarify this service is included and restocked daily.

Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurants we are glad our variety was of your enjoyment. It’s a pleasure that overall you had an excellent holiday, we hope to see you back soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at the Catalonia Royal. I would stress that we were on the Royal side and I don't think my review would be as high had that not been the case. We definitely enjoyed the quiet and peacefulness of the Royal pools and beach area. We had pretty low expectations in terms of food and drink and were pleasantly surprised by both. We took full advantage of the unlimited drink options and were happy with the quality and friendliness of the staff. I would highly recommend the Cata Tapa restaurant on the Royal side. It was the best dinner we had by far. The themed restaurants on the other side were not so good, but I'm not sure why anyone would expect an Italian restaurant in a resort in the Dominican to be good. The staff on the Royal side was noticeably friendlier and seemed happier as well. I would also recommend asking for a room on the lake/pool side. Our room was on the ground floor on the opposite side of the buildings and seemed a bit darker.
Another pleasant surprise was that there are no other resorts near Catalonia. We went for long walks on the beach and barely saw anyone else. There are wierd shop things about 50 meters on either side of the hotel, but if you get past those, you will be alone on the beach for as long as you wish.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: rooms on pool/lake side seemed to get more sun. If you can afford the private rooms with pool, those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Nicole M,

Greetings! Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, we are thrilled to read in regards of your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It’s a joy to confirm you were surprised by our Royal services and enjoyed our restaurants and accommodations to the fullest. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to your next visit soon!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing