We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great weekend!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived a day late due to our flight being cancelled which was a shame because we ended up missing an entire day at this great resort. Once we arrived though everything was amazing, the room was gorgeous, the grounds were beautiful and the staff was very pleasant. This was our first time staying at an all inclusive resort so we weren't quite sure what to expect. Turns out, it reminded us a lot like being on a cruise. The food wasn't the best and the portions were very small if you ate at any of the specialty restaurants but all in all we had a great time. One of the factors that played in a role in booking there was that it had a casino, well it was horrible to say the least. First of all it didn't even open until 7pm and most of the machines weren't even on. We like to play the $1 machines and they didn't even have any. They had about four quarter machines and the rest were nickle machines so if you like to stay at a resort with a casino this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. Denise B,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are content that our room accommodations and friendly service met your expectations.

We take important note and value your feedback and suggestions as we strive to continuously provide an excellent service.

Once again thank you, we hope to welcome you back for your next holidays in Punta Cana.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,655
    1,408
    550
    184
    162
See reviews for
331
3,677
78
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We initially booked with Thomson for our 3rd visit to this fabulous resort. I emailed Josep (general manager) and within an hour he had arranged a surprise upgrade for my husband for our wedding anniversary. The surprise continued as we were greeted at reception with a fab cocktail and taken to our villa with its own private pool.
Thank you Josep and your lovely team my husband was truly surprised and the villa was absolutely amazing!
Throughout our two week stay we were looked after by all of the hardworking staff.
Our villa was cleaned twice a day( including fab flower and towel arrangements), room service was prompt and the grounds were just beautiful!
The range of food on offer has continued to grow with each visit and we particularly enjoyed dining outdoors at the grill.The food was fresh , tasty and our glasses were kept topped up by efficient and friendly staff.
We had a loss of electricity to our villa during our second week but within 5 minutes of our phone call to reception an engineer arrived and fixed the problem immediately! Now that's what I call great service!
The Royal is the place for relaxation within beautiful surroundings with its spar, great pools, excellent food and fab cocktails. Entertainment is available - piano bar, beach BBQ and Dominican day but if you want a little more noise venture to the sister hotel next door ( just a few steps away) and watch one of their fab shows.
Extra touches include 3 full bottles of premium spirits in your villa, fruit platter on arrival, turn down service and a fab team that will arrange anything from golf to dinner on the beach.
Thank you Josep and your lovely team for your hard work and excellent customer service.
We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMorrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My new husband & I were well pleased with the honeymoon suite and it's extras such as wine, fruits, & chocolate amenities on our first day there. The housekeeping was excellent and any issues addressed immediately. The property is very level; so, walking was convenient - quick shuttle service was also available as well as entertainment nearby. There was no pressure from vendors or travel services constantly botthering us. This was a pleasant change from most resorts we have visited. Charlot at the front desk was extremely helpful to us.

Room Tip: Bottom Floor room spaced almost evenly between front lobby and beach is excellent for someone with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr. Patricia H,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon holidays in Punta Cana! We are enchanted to receive your comment and confirm our services met your expectations. It was our staff pleasure to provide a pleasant service, especially Charlotte at the front desk! We will congratulate him on your behalf.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My daughter and I are checking out this morning and have had a fabulous 6 night stay. The staff was excellent and everyone was always smiling. There were no communication problems. The room was beautiful, not musty. The air conditioner worked fine. Wifi worked perfectly. We loved the quiet of the adult only side and also enjoyed taking part in some of the activities on the other side. The shows were great - especially Saturday Night Fever and Michael Jackson. Both the beach and the pool were wonderful places to spend the day. Food ranged from average to excellent and there were plenty of choices. For the most part the food was not 5 star quality, but neither was the price we paid. I have visited more expensive resorts that were not as nice. Honestly I cannot understand why anyone would not love this resort. It was my first visit but will not be my last.

Room Tip: We had the least expensive room and it was perfect. We were in building 44 which was close to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank patti723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mrs/ Mr. patti723,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We appreciate you sharing your review on Trip Advisor and to confirm you have return back home with unforgettable memories. It’s a joy to know our services provided you the best holiday experience and received always a remarkable treat from our staff!

Thank you for recommending us we hope to welcome you back soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stood here for a week and left our hearts there!!! It was beautiful, it was relaxing and if you wanted entertainment it was a short walk to the sister hotel. The rooms were a little musty at first but wasn't bad after that. My husband is a very picky eater and he loved the food, yeah there were times that we didn't care about the food but we just got something else. The restaurants were a lot better at the sister hotel like the steak house and Japanese restaurant. Hanging out poolside was amazing, waitstaff was awesome especially EDDIE and CARLOS. They laughed and joked with us the whole time. 5 stars to them!!!!! Thanks guys for an amazing time!!! Our room was always cleaned with inviting flowers everywhere. We will be coming back really soon!!! I can't believe how friendly everyone is here, for those who had problems here... I'm sorry but your full of it!!!! Go in with a nasty attitude and you will get it back its life!!!! We're not picky people we just like to have fun. The beach was beautiful and clean, with all the beautiful palm trees and drinks served to you without you having to get up. We loved loved this place!!! If I was forced to complain about something it would be that the AC was a little loud but really didn't bother us because it blocks the noise out from the halls. But like I said I'd didn't bother us at all. Thank you Catalonia Royal for an amazing week!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Sandro M,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana. We are thrilled to receive your comment on Trip Advisor, your review confirm us we have achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations!

We will be delighted to share your encouraging words to Eddie and Carlos to continue the excellent work. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking forward to receive.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Receive warm regards from the team!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Catalonia Royal. The service was outstanding. The staff went out of their way to make our vacation a pleasant experience. In particular Nilda at the Thalassa restaurant. The facilities are very well kept and the design of places to relax are dream like. I specially enjoyed the beds around the pool.
Reserve your expeditions in the main lobby only!
We were hoping to enjoy more traditional Spanish food. But the variety of restaurants almost makes up for it.

Room Tip: We had a floor level room and had no issues with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Jorge M,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana, it’s a pleasure to receive your comment on Trip Advisor, thank you for sharing your experience in regards of your recent stay. We are glad to read you had an outstanding experience and received the most especial service from Nilsa, she will be happy to receive your congrats!

e will be waiting for your second holiday with us!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time for a full week. We arrived on July 20th and met Moses. He was the best waiter at the resort. Drinks were top shelf and the beach was perfect. If you book an excursion, find holly pierre on the beach. He will give you better deals than the ones at the front office.
The people we met were fun to hang out with. There was this one night that some old woman yelled at us. She said we were talking too loud. She must have been going through menopause because she was very rude and seemed to have a sad and lonely life.
That did not bother us at all. We thought it was very funny and we felt sorry for her husband.
Our favorite group was Denver kush club, two handed mikey, Eric, mr. Montreal, stacy, Debra, Scott and Erin !!! Thanks for making the DR a fun party!!
We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diggler420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#40 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#27 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#76 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#36 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing