We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Naragua(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,363)
Filter reviews
6,363 results
Traveler rating
3,460
1,794
684
238
187
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,460
1,794
684
238
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,551 - 2,556 of 6,363 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed there for 2 weeks, rooms were very comfortable and very clean, choice of restaurants on site - great, staff very friendly, went out of it's way to make sure we were fully satisfied, plenty of things to do, lovely views, could not fault a thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bartosz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Mrs. / Mr. Bartosz S,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro! It’s a pleasure to receive your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know our services and staff exceeded your expectations! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Welcome to the Dominican Republic. This is the story of the Royal Catalonia Bavaro on the North and Eastern most tip of the Atlantic Ocean, the time, Christmas 2012.
At $400 a night, and equipped with a 5 star rating, I think that you might have pretty lofty expectations as did I.
In defense of the indefensible, the front desk staff's damage control skills were on display, pressed into full and continuous service, and thanks to their tremendous will to please and kind hearts, what would have surely provoked a shouting match Stateside was narrowly averted, however as you will now read on, actual results simply couldn't be accomplished.
Want drains in your shower that drain the water away, no can do.
A steak knife to cut the leather tough meat at the lunch buffet no can do.
AC that cools your bungalow no can do.
AC that showers the bed with condensed water, standard, and drips in the bed all the time.
Internet connection, absolutely [--] NO CAN DO.
Mold on the wall, standard, and in plentiful supply
Smoke in the room from past guests, standard and in plentiful supply.
Smoke in the restaurant, standard and in plentiful supply.
Smoke on the beach, standard and in plentiful supply.
Smoke everywhere you can think of, standard and in plentiful supply.
Smoke blown straight into your face, standard and also in plentiful supply.
Fully cooked chicken, no can do.
Cup of coffee from room service, no can do.
ESPN in English, no can do.
FOX Sports in English, no can do.
Soda water in minibar, no can do.
US cash from ATM, no can do.
Change for Dominican Pesos that the ATM forces you to buy, no can do.
Skum in swimming pool from the great unwashed, standard and in plentiful supply.
Other than that, the place was paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1962--AJ--1962--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Mrs. / Mr. 1962--AJ--1962--,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we appreciate you choosing us for your holidays and for taking your time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to read the inconveniences presented during your stay in December and apologies for these setbacks. We are glad our Front desk staff provided a pleasant service.

We take note of your comments to make sure it does not repeat, in regards of the smoke our resort counts with “no smoking” areas including the restaurants. Regarding room service, we have available in our room’s coffee machines for our guests as well as a variety of channel displays in different languages.

As part of our services the resort counts with a Bank located at the Catalonia Bavaro Resort for transactions and change.

Please know guest satisfaction is our main goal, we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and prove the excellent service we are known for.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very clean. The staff went out of it's way to make sure we were satisfied at all times. You are also allowed to use the sister hotel which is just as amazing. The shows are amazing as well. The food was good. I carry medication that needed to be refrigerated and our room refrigerator was not the right temp so they keep it in there main frigde and I was able to sign it our twice a week I stayed for two weeks. I did 4 excursions and they were all great. The be ach was magnificent and the water pristine. The pools are amazing and was tough to decide to go to the pool or beach. I have made wonderful friends to this day with the staff and hope to go back within the next year. My little piece of heaven. I traveled June 2012 I went with my mom this time. It ask when you travel the only date I can put is Aug it does not go back further but my trip was June 2012

Room Tip: you want to make sure you are in between the front and the pool. That is the biggest resort I have ever been to. I have been to many all- inclusive in the DR. Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnamoo225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Mrs./ Mr. Donnamoo225,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays in Punta Cana. We are glad to receive your review on Trip Advisor.

It was our staff pleasure to provide a one of a kind service for your holidays; it’s a delight to confirm our services met your expectations! We look forward to your visit next year!

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Room very nice but air conditioner barely worked. Had to call several times to just get regular amenities like towels, face clothes, etc.. Pay for an ocean view - walk out on your balcony and look all the way to the left - there's the ocean! Pay for an adult only - have to go next door to the bavaro where all the kids are for restaurants, theatre, etc... Rather disappointing for the price. Don't think I really recommend it. Save yourself some money and go somewhere else! Lynn

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Mrs./ Mr. LynnGlenn,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holidays and for taking your valuable time to share your review.

We are disappointed to read the inconveniences presented, please receive our apologies. Our managers well revise the areas mentioned to make sure it does not repeat.

We must clarify our resort does not count or advertise ocean view rooms. In regards of restaurant services Catalonia Royal has three restaurants available and five bars, plus all the services at our sister resort.

Once again thank you, we hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Catalonia Royal Bavaro is an EXCELLENT resort! Service there is nothing less than top notch!

Our vacation was a wonderful and rewarding experience from start to finish. As soon as we cleared customs, Olympus Tours quickly greeted us with warm hospitality, gathered our luggage, and transported us to the resort. Once at the resort, we were again greeted with warm hospitality and a couple of sweet, but refreshing beverages. After check-in, our Olympus Tours representative, Señor Ruber Peŕez gave us yet another warm welcome that included a few basic *do’s and don’ts* to ensure our stay was a most pleasant one.

The grounds:
In a word… IMPECCABLE! Lawns are meticulously manicured – pools are crystal clear – beach is pristine. And the one thing that stands out the most… NO bugs. Well, I spotted maybe two beetles and a caterpillar in five days, but I wasn’t on a bug hunt LOL!
Bottom line – the grounds are IMPECCABLE!

The room:
Spacious and attractive. Balcony had a GREAT view. Staff members kept our room refreshed throughout. Loved it!

The food and drink:
All of the restaurants and bars were excellent, but Cata Tapa was simply outstanding. We visited this restaurant on our last night at the resort; it was, by far, the BEST meal of the trip!

Our stay was from June 28 – July 2. We highly recommend this resort and would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cobbler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Cobbler69,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are delighted to receive your review on Trip Advisor of your recent stay, and to confirm we have achieved to exceed your expectations!

Thank you for appreciating our services, we strive to create unforgettable memories. We are thrilled our room accommodations and restaurants services especially Cata Tapa were of your enjoyment.

Thank you for your wonderful recommendations, we hope to see you back soon!

Best regards from all the team!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews