We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 15, 2013

not long got back from an 11 night stay at the Catalonia royal, this was mine and my partners first time visiting the DR, what can I say it was amazing from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. After reading some of the review on here I was worried from the negative comments that kept coming up, such as the rooms not being that great, the food being poor and the beds by the pool being reserved at silly o'clock in the morning. I had none of these problems and I really don't no what people are moaning about, I guess some people have to moan! well firstly all the staff are friendly and willing to help! most of them can speak really good English so its not hard to communicate which I was also worried about as some comments had mentioned on here. The rooms are lovely! there huge! I paid the little extra for the deluxe suite and was well worth the money! there cleaned every morning and every evening there's a turn down service which was really nice. The food was nice, made a nice change from normal buffet style meals that you get with most all inclusive holidays, also when they say all inclusive it really is from the meals, to the mini bars in your room to all the drinks on offer they even did named drinks that I new which was good! the pools are lovely no one gets up to put towels down and its not packed either which is really nice, so u have a good choice of beds anytime of the day. I don't have anything bad to say about this resort! I will defiantly go back but next time get a private pool suite as they looked amazing! defiantly come here if u want a relaxing child free holiday!

Room Tip: private suites are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoe1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Zoe1992,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are thrilled to receive your comment on Trip Advisor regarding you recent stay with us.

We are content to know we have exceeded you expectation providing you an amazing holiday experience.

Thank you for your greats comments of our striving staff especially from our housekeeping department. It would be of course our pleasure to welcome you back for a second visit!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,270 - 2,276 of 5,896 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week with family and friends for a destination wedding. For the price, it's definitely worth paying a bit extra to stay on this "5-star" resort in the Dominican. My expectations were pretty low since we've already been to Punta Cana and had a mediocre experience on our last resort (poor service and food quality).

Overall, I would recommend this resort if you're staying in Punta Cana, but if you're looking for a Caribbean vacation I would avoid the Dominican altogether and go somewhere else like the Bahamas or Jamaica.

Definitely eat at the Tapas restaurant, Thalasa (main lobby) and Sea Blue (beach bar) for dinner. The buffet on the family side is great for breakfast with tons of selection and variety of breakfast foods. There's a separate section for guests to eat who are staying on the Royal side. Also, room service was amazing! A really nice treat to have when you're away. Fresh DR coffee, juice, tea and a full spread of whatever breakfast you order. A must-have! I mostly stuck to fish, fresh fruit/veggies and tried to keep the sugary alcohol drinks to a minimum to avoid any stomach issues.

We stayed in the Junior Suite Superior and much rather preferred it than the Deluxe rooms, which are more expensive. We had our own separate bathroom with a door for privacy. Yes, we're married, but I still need a door on my bathroom. The Deluxe rooms have an open bathroom with a glass door to the toilet and the shower is basically out in the open. If someone were to come into your room at the right time, they'd get quite the eye full.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 46 which was closest to the main lobby and pool bar and farthest from the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katgaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Mr./ Mrs. katgaskin,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We appreciate your comments on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay, thank you for recommending our restaurant services, we are glad they were of your enjoyment, especially our Room Service.

Once again thank you for your overall feedback being our most valuable tool to improve our services. It would be a great honor to have the opportunity of being your choice once again in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first time to the DR. I thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the beach, the two things I came to the DR to do! The room was nice and clean, the staff was friendly. The food was decent. We stayed for 6 days and of all the food I enjoyed the Dominican buffet at Thalassa the most. We ate at all the restaurants on the adults only side and also tried the breakfast buffet, the hibachi, the Mexican restaurant, and the Italian restaurant on the Bavaro side. You will not go hungry at this place. I really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere on the adults only side, but that we could also venture over to the Bavaro side and participate in activities and shows on that side. The drinks from the juice bar were also very good. There was never any shortage of chairs by the pool or the beach, so it was nice to not have to try to "reserve" seats early in the AM. I would recommend this resort to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Raina D,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your first holidays in Punta Cana.

It’s a pleasure to confirm our accommodations and restaurant services were of your expectations, and that our beach and pool facilities were of your enjoyment.

Thank you for your overall comments and recommendations, we look forward to welcome you for a second memorable holiday.

Best regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First, you cannot really complain about anything here, you are in a great tropical setting with food and drinks flowing, two pools on the adults only side plus the beach. Nice rooms, friendly staff, the works. Sure, there are little things that could be improved, mainly the food is not the best food ever. It is good food, not great. You will not go hungry. In a six day stay you will probably experience one or two minor mistakes, like they will forget to bring something to you or you will get the wrong drink. If that makes you write a negative review then the problem is you! When I think about the price that we paid for the hotel stay we got MUCH MORE than our money worth. However, I would probably try somewhere else if coming back to the DR just to get an idea of what else Punta Cana has to offer. For all inclusives we felt Excellence Cancun was better in terms of food and overall atmosphere if you are comparing resorts. But comparing this to just about anything else this is much better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mrs. / Mr. Jay B,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays in Punta Cana.

It’s great to read you found our facilities accommodating and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback regarding the F&B services and apologize for the setbacks presented. We take important attention to your comments to make to improve in these areas.

Once again thank you and we wish to be your choice on your next visit to the Dominican Republic.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 days at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It’s first important to note that the hotel is part of a larger resort which also includes the Catalonia Bavaro hotel. The Royal is exclusively for adults, but you can use all the facilities of the sister hotel (whereas guests there can’t use any of the facilities at the Royal).

Accommodation: the rooms were very well appointed with huge beds, hot-tub, large bathrooms, a couple of arm chairs and a sofa, coffee table, dresser, mini-bar, TV with plenty of English-speaking channels and outside balcony with hammock. The rooms were spotless and cleaned each day, with daily fresh flowers. Each room has its own WiFi rooter, giving a very strong and fast connection.

Pools: there are two pools just for Royal guests. The ‘infinity’ pool, which overlooks the beach, is very quiet, while the second pool had a swim-up bar which became lively from mid-afternoon – everyone was very friendly and we met some lovely people (special mention to Carlos behind the bar!). Both have plenty of free sun loungers throughout the day. There is another large pool in the Bavaro, but we did not feel the need to use it. Both pools have WiFi.

Beach: just what you would expect of the Caribbean – golden sand, blue seas, palm trees! Royal guests have their own dedicated child-free area. There are plenty of comfortable sun loungers and bamboo umbrellas with waiter service throughout the day. The sea is shallow for a good 50m, with excellent snorkelling over the artificial reef – the fish are amazing!

Food: The main restaurant in the Royal is simply fantastic. Very high quality dining with excellent service. The other exclusive Royal restaurants (one on the beach for lunch, and a tapas restaurant for dinner) were also excellent. We could also use the main buffet and four theme restaurants (Italian, Japanese, Mexican and American) in the Bavaro without reservations – and although they were not of the quality of the Royal restaurants, were still good. There were a few nice surprises as well, with lunchtime BBQs on the beach and a traditional Dominican buffet by the pool on Sundays.

Drinks: truly unlimited. The local beer is good, the rum better! Beer is served by the half-pint (which is good as it quickly goes warm) and spirit measures were generous. There is also an extensive cocktail menu. The staff here genuinely don’t like you to see the bottom of your glass!

Resort: immaculately maintained and beautifully landscaped. The staff are all very friendly and speak great English. Everything is within easy walking distance. Just a 15-minute transfer from the airport as well. Guests ranged in age from early 20s until retirement. There was a good mix of nationalities, with Americans, Canadians and Brits forming the majority.

Overall – couldn’t recommend this place more for a relaxing couples holiday. The slight extra cost for the Royal compared to the Bavaro is unquestionably worth it. I couldn’t have picked a better place to propose to my fiancée.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - you will be able to make more use of your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. davidjones533,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro! It’s a pleasure to receive your comment on Trip Advisor, we always looking forward to read in regards of your recent holiday.

Thank you for your overall appreciation of our services, we are content to read you enjoyed the best of both worlds thank to our Royal services and our sister resort.

Your comments proves us we have achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations, but most important it’s a pleasure to read you found in our Resort the ambiance for such a memorable occasion as the marriage proposal!, we hope to create unforgettable memories once again in the future!

Receive warm regards from all the Staff.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I just returned from CRB after 11 days. I can say I am glad that I have chosen this hotel according to its good reviews in tripadvisor. Everything was really good. I like adult only resort and this one was really quiet, very well kept and not overcrowded. Room - we booked juniorsuite deluxe in building 38, 3th floor. It was large but little bit tired. At the beginning we were disappointed because of really bad smell and we wanted to change our room. We were shown three another rooms but the smell was the same so we decided not to change. We were given a dehumidifier and then it was quite OK. The rooms are little bit tired. The beach was really nice with lots of shade not overcrowded and we found free sunbeds at any moment. Food and drinks - really good and well prepared. Staff - always smilling and willing to help you with everything. We had the small problems during our staying - our cardkeys didnt work twice so we had to go to the lobby to unblock them. Our toilet was broken four times - no water inside the tank. Everything was fixed after our complaining immediately. Infinity pool - really nice and quiet.
Shops - there are some shops with alcohol and gifts, If you want to buy something then you will buy there - cheaper than at the airport. Photographers - two guys on the beach taking you the photos with parrots - unbelievable expensive 12$ per one photo! No animators - I like it, no noise, just quiet, sun, beach, relax, good food, everything I expected from my staying :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mrs. / Mr. ivanya,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

We appreciate you taking your time to share with us your feedback. Please receive our apologies for the inconvenience in the room, it was our staff pleasure to promptly assist you in resolving this setbacks.

We take important note to make sure it does not repeat. In regards of the room cards, we kindly inform you this may occur due to placing the cards near cell phones or credit cards. It’s a pleasure to know you received a friendly service from our staff, and enjoyed our restaurant services.

Once again thank you, we hope to be your choice once again in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me & my husband recently returned from Punta Cana and stayed at the Catalonia royal Bavaro hotel for our Honeymoon. On arrival we received a welcome drink and the staff straight away were very friendly.
Our room was a junior suite and consisted of a large 4 poster bed, sofa and chairs, shower, and bath tub which was huge, and a balcony with a hammock. The room was absolutely gorgeous and was cleaned efficiently everyday and fresh flowers placed around the room. Drinks in the room were topped up daily free of charge also.

The hotel was a adult only hotel and was peaceful. The pool was lovely and cool and has a swim up bar where the staff make you the most amazing cocktails. There was always a place by the pool so you never needed to get up at the crack of dawn to get a sun-bed. The pool was always clean to.
The beach is literally 2 minutes away from the hotel and was amazing. The sand was so white, the sea was lovely and warm and staff always came round to offer drinks and would bring them to you. The staff that walked around on the beach selling excursions were also lovely to. They always stopped and spoke to you and were so friendly. They would offer excursions available and were never to pushy.
You also were given fresh beach towels everyday to.

Being on the adult only side - you could still go to the other side which was the family side and could eat there where it consisted of a buffet restaurant, Japanese, Italian, steak house and Mexican restaurant. We always had the buffet for lunch as you had so much to choose from. The best place we found to eat was the Steak house. The meat was amazing and the staff were so so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Staff in the steak house who we would like to give a huge thank you to are:
*Freddy Batista
*Freddy Riviera
*Elvin Mercedes
These guys were amazing and helped make our vacation even more enjoyable.

We also loved the Mexican restaurant - that was fun and here we met a waiter:
*Pedro
who was funny and again couldn't do enough for us.

The staff in the hotel were also great. We met a lot of staff who helped us esp when we got sun burnt and needed medical assistance. These guys are:
*Jenny Demonte
*Yeily
*Jesus
These guys were on the service desk at the front of the hotel and were amazing. They helped us every way possible and always noticed us whenever we were in the hotel lobby.
Also:
*Helen Ventura (check in desk)
*Winberto Castro (bell boy)
were absolutely great. Winberto always took us around in his golf buggy to and from places and helped us with anything and Helen on check in was so polite and friendly and again so helpful.
All these guys made our holiday well worth the money and have made us want to go back even more now. We just hope that because of all the hard work they do, that appreciation is shown and they get rewarded. We love these guys and have be-friended them on facebook lol.

The whole holiday itself was amazing and I didn't want to come home. Hotel is great, food is amazing and lots of it to, staff were amazing, scenery is magical and overall I would recommend this holiday and hotel to anyone. We will def be going back again soon.

To people who leave bad reviews about this place..........I don't know how you can leave such rubbish. Some people just expect far to much and cant help but complain which is sad as this destination is one of the best......probably the best that we have ever been on. But then you always get some people who expect so much and moan about things. DONT LISTEN TO ANY OF THESE BAD REVIEWS...............!!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms with Jacuzzi bath tub and hammock on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolliff_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,883 reviews
42.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,419 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
57.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $206 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing