We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Naragua(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,372)
Filter reviews
6,372 results
Traveler rating
3,466
1,797
684
238
187
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,466
1,797
684
238
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,647 - 2,652 of 6,372 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is ideal for a relaxed adult couples vacation. The service is top notch, the rooms are excellent and the price is good. Restaurants are walk-in "no reservation", the food is good compared to other all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRZBravopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Mr./ Mrs. CRZBravopapa,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are content that our Royal services, accommodations and ambiance exceeded your expectations. It would be a pleasure to be your choice once again!

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 2 weeks here, and we will definitly return. What a gorgeous resort and excellent service. Moses and Jorge were the best servers, and all the staff in the lobby bar were phenomenal. The pools were beautiful, but the only quirk is that you had to get up early to reserve a nice chair even if there was a "no reserve" policy. All in all excellent.

Room Tip: We were originally in block 36 in room 3607, and the AC didn't work properly and was extremely humid. They gladly changed us to block 40, and the room war perfect.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here from the 9th april until the 24th April 2013. We loved the resort and would definately recommend to friends and family. However there were some small issues, but ultimately it didnt ruin our experience but its things that could easily be changed.I will list pros and cons shortly.

First off the weather was amazing not one horrible day and 30+ almost every day gorgeous! The transfers from the airport to the hotel ran smoothly (with Thomson) and when we arrived we were gladly greeted by a gentleman handing out cold towels (godsend when you've just had a 9hr 30mins flight and now stood in 30+ heat) and a nice refreshing fruit juice. We were taken by a buggy to our room with all our luggage too. The room was very nicely decorated and we had a small balcony with hammock and table and chairs. I was initially very pleased with the room however (not sure if this is the hotels fault or Thomsons) me and my husband had paid extra money around £530 for the "Honeymoon Suite" and I was VERY disappointed to find out they were no different at all to the other rooms. In our block there were two rooms on the very end that had slightly larger balconies but we had not been allocated these. I think the only difference with booking a "honeymoon Suite" was the extras, they were a couples 30 mins massage, a private romantic set dinner on the beach, t-shirts, champagne breakfast and champagne and fruit on arrival. Now as lovely as those extras were we would not have paid £530 for those extras, we were under the impression we had paid the extra pounds for a better room than other guests, however this was not the case. We did speak to reception regarding this but to no avail.We have now taken this up with Thomson. So a tip for Honeymooners dont pay the extra for a honeymoon suite!! If I were you Id pay the extra for the swim up suites as they looked absolutely stunning.

The grounds of the hotel were impeccable, ive never seen staff work so hard on a large resort to keep it looking amazing! The pools and beach were always spotless. Yes the beach does have some seaweed, however the staff work hard at removing it , and once your in that gorgeous warm sea you dont even notice. Both pools are lovely and unlike literally every resort ive been to you dont need to get up at silly o clock to reserve a bed. I would say however if you want shade on the beach go down reasonably early.

The food was lovely and presented very well, however there was quite a big issue with the food being just warm when served, so by the time you were half way through the meal it was nearly cold. And to be honest it did spoil the meals just the tiniest bit. But there was a good choice and variety available as your able to use the normal catalonia side so we didnt find ourselves getting bored with the food at all.We especially loved the Dominican Buffet so tasty and the hog roast was gorgeous, the hotel also bought in some local musicians which was a lovely touch.

We didnt really think too much of the entertainment, especially on the Royal Side. The beach parties were great but I think this was the only thing the Royal side did. We did venture over to the Normal Catalonia side to check out their shows but it was always packed out so we didnt stick around too long. But you can easily amuse yourself with all the gorgeous cocktails available :)

Overall me and my husband had a fantastic honeymoon, because its what you make of it! We didnt focus on the tiny downs of the holiday we focused on all the good parts and there were a lot of those! But I thought I would write an honest review.

Here are the pros and cons below:

Pros:

1.Gorgeous well kept grounds
2.Gorgeous Beach
3.Gorgeous swimming pools and lounging areas
4.The staff were (mostly) very friendly and helpful
5.Lots of variety for food choices
6.You dont have to get up at silly o clock to reserve a sunbed
7.The rooms (most are the same) are decorated well
8.Drinks (cocktails) are amazing!!
9.You get snorkelling,Kayaks and catamarans included in your package great fun!


Cons:

1.Food was never hot
2.Honeymoon Suite no different to the rest of the rooms
3.Had to pay extra for speedboats and snorkelling boats(thought this would be included considering the price we paid)
4.We did have to figure a lot of the stuff out for ourselves as upon arrival the staff werent very helpful in letting you know whats available etc
5.Rooms were a little humid and damp


Im sure ive missed out some of the pros but all I can think of right now. I would definately recomment this resort for a relaxing , sun filled holiday! gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for honeymoon suite!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great overall experience especially since we got a cheap deal. Staff were pretty much always very friendly however there were a few that lacked english so it was hard to communicate.

If you are not extremely fussy but are used to luxury (like us) then this resort is perfect.

A lot of the complaints on here won't be experienced by the average hotel guest looking for a relaxing stay, nice beach and not michelin star food.

Room Tip: When reading the comments here i thought all the buildings would be very far away and different.. they are in a straight line and yes buildings 36 and 38 are 30seconds closer to the beach and infinity pool but come on, it really doesnt make that much difference. We stayed in building 40 which was right in the middle. If you insist on not walking at all then buildings 36 and 38 are the right choices for you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoncaT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had such a great honeymoon here at this resort.
The only thing I didn't like was the topless women...
The restaurants were amazing, and loved that you didn't have to make reservations, and that you could try a new one every night!
Wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKamphuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Mr. /Mrs. JKamphuis,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro! Thank you for choosing us for your holidays and for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that your honeymoon holidays were unforgettable, thank you for appreciating our services; we look forward to your next holidays with us.

Warm regards!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews