We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Chill Out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrival to Punta Cana Airport very stressful line-up to pay your $10 each, get back into line, new people arriving all of the time absolutely chaotic. Arrival at hotel good, room 4245 3rd floor escorted to room by concierge small tour excellent, cases arrived immediately our room exactly like pictures in brochure beautiful. Air-conditioning very loud most nights but put this down to being on the 3rd floor. First night Cata Tapa Restaurant food good however a little confusing for the first night. Went to two beach parties BBQ, music and dancing both nights great fun. Sea Blue Restaurant lunchtime food very plain, evening food lobster & steak fantastic met an american couple there for only 4 nights they had 8 lobsters between them in one sitting nothing was too much trouble. Piano Bar (Mr Banker) was fantastic never had to wait too long, service always excellent and the best Irish coffee ever. Thalassa Restaurant breakfast good great choice - unless you love garlic do not eat the sausages (a bit too much in the morning), lunch lovely most days, dinner most enjoyable. Pool is really nice however the steps are very high and very difficult to get in/out and a bit tired. You had to get up early to get a sunbed people putting their towels on at 7:30 am and not getting to the pool until 3:30 pm this certainly needs to be addressed by the management. Pool Bar excellent service at all times. Towel girl certainly an experience had to fight for clean towel everyday defiantly not happy in her work. Tried room service and could not fault, rooms were kept clean and tidy at all times by housekeeping. Little niggle housekeeping knocked at same time every evening just as you were having a sleep. Service good at all restaurants with the exception of the Mexican. Lots of seaweed in the sea and on the beach. Weather was beautiful everyday could not have asked for more.
Nothing to do with the hotel but BEWARE TRIPS VERY VERY EXPENSIVE, H&S NOT A PRIORITY

Room Tip: Don't go on the ground floor, standard rooms blocks 1 - 4 overlook pool. 3rd floor end rooms can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamaica2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Jamaica2011_11,

Thank you for sharing your comment of your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro on Trip Advisor.

We are content to know you were greeted to the resort with the best impression, thank you for your comments regarding our services; it’s great to know you enjoyed our beach party and beach BBQ.

We take note of your important feedback regarding the restaurants.

Regarding the loungers please receive our apologies for this inconvenience, please be aware the resort has a no reservation policy, we are currently providing especial attention to address this matter.

We take note of your feedback regarding the towel service and turn down service; we will revise with the departments in charge.

Once again thank you for taking your valuable time; it will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,404 - 2,410 of 5,892 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Overall good holiday.

Facility was clean, staff were very nice, grounds were excellent.
Security was very good. Presence of security staff was present all over. (beach, pathways, grounds)
Food was average, not impressed but I'm pretty picky.

Junior Deluxe room was large and cleaned regularly. Mattress was a bit damp.

Beach area was excellent. Chair hunt was a pain! My boyfriend would go watch sunrise at 5:30 am to reserve a chairs/hut at the beach. Chairs at the pools were a bit easier to get.

We enjoyed the nightly theatre entertainment next door at the Catalonia Bavaro. We danced nightly after the theatre show at the lobby bar where a singer would sing meringue tunes.
Great fun.

Airport experience was very good for arrival and departure. Sunquest provided private transportation for both ways.

Room Tip: If you like sun in your room pick room facing the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Mrs. Monique L,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bávaro for your holidays. It’s a pleasure to receive your comment.

We are glad to read overall you had a good holiday. Thank you for your appreciation of our staff service, we are content to read our grounds, facilities and accommodations were of your expectations. Please receive our apologies with the inconvenience with the mattress; we will make sure to correct this matter.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the loungers; the resort has a no reservation policy and is currently providing special attention to correct this matter.

Thank you very much for your review, we hope to be your choice for your next visit to Punta Cana.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfriend & I went for 7 nights Feb 24-March 3, 2013. Another couple traveled with us as well as a single friend. We are all in our late 30's early 40's. We booked the Deluxe room which was larger, closer to the beach and had a larger bathroom area with seperate toilet & shower. Our friend's room was the standard room and nice, just not as large as ours.
The food is decent at most of the restaurants - The variety is quite nice but if you are a gourmet or food snob this is not the resort for you. We never went hungry and the service was good at each restaurant with the exception of the Mexican restuarant (skip it). The Steak house, Italian, and Sea Blue were better. We ate at the Sea Blue twice because of the surf & turf which is offered nightly.
Most of the available bars offered top shelf but you do need to ask. They are always accomodating. I didn't feel like I had to have a few bucks showing in order to get a drink (as compared to Cancun). The drink servers on the beach also come around more than I was expecting. This was a nice treat.
The pool near the beach was not often used except for those seeking a lounge chair and the sun. The pool closer to the main lobby area was large, had more people in the pool and had a swim up bar.
There is a hot tub near the spa/salon but it shuts down at 6PM - Not quite sure why a hot tub wouldn't be available at night when the temperatures are cooler. This was one thing we were annoyed with.
Most couples are in their 40's or 50's but there were a few scattered honeymooners and couples into their 70's. If you are single and looking for other singles this is not the resort for you.
The action....well there wasn't much for activities or entertainment so plan on the type of vacation where you eat, drink, nap, sit in the sun or lounge by the pool or beach. We typically like more planned activities but we still had fun despite the lack of in your face entertainment. It was actually a nice change to just sit & relax!
We booked 2 excursions (one thru Island Sun and the other at the resort) and enjoyed both. I recommend the Eco Segway tour which costs about $75 US per person.
This resort is adjacent to the family resort which hosted about a billion kids. We avoided this area during the day since it's full of rowdy children, strollers, messy buffets and general noise.
This was our 1st time in the DR. The beach was by far better than Mexico. Expect seaweed. The swimming & beach area is spacious and offers plenty of lounge chairs. People start saving chairs early especially those with shade for hot afternoon sun. The weather was beautiful!!
The casino is ok - nothing spectacular but another option for night time entertainment. We did catch a few of the night shows on the family side. Kind of hokey but of course they are free!
Generally speaking the Royal side is nice but not fancy. We are not fancy folks so it met our expectations and we did not feel uncomfortable in any restaurant or bar wearing jeans and t-shirts. The resort is clean, well kept, and the staff is friendly. If you don't speak spanish, you will have a hard time communicating with the servers and maids. Brush up on the basics and you should be good. Keep in mind that people who speak english are a monority here - get over it and learn some basics like "Cerveza" "Bano" and "Gracias"
There is a "shopping" mart just a short walk down the beach. Avoid it like the plague unless you don't mind being badgered by the vendors. The prices are negotiable but there isn't a lot of variety - "We all have same stuff so buy from me" is what they'll tell you. There is also a ratty shack there that offers massages for $30. Get one!!!! It was one of the best massages I have had. Just close your eyes and pretend you are in a pricey spa and you'll feel the same results afterwards.
Last advice- skip the Mexican restaurant, bring singles for tips, bring a large cup for drinks so you don't have to refill as often, and don't drink too many drinks that contain coconut as it's a natural laxative.

Room Tip: There are only stairs to the top floors. Corner rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Mrs. Cindy D,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor; it was our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

We are content to read our restaurants services achieved your expectations, especially the Sea Blue Grill; it was our staff pleasure to provide a very nice treat during your holidays.

Regarding the hot tub thank you for your feedback, please know these services belong to the Spa therefore function in the schedule according. Regarding the local vendors on the beach area, we kindly inform you these facilities do not belong to the resort, for our guest well being and safety we count with high quality and standards spa services at the Resort.

Once again thank you very much for your overall comments; we look forward to be your choice in the future.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I (mid-20s) just returned from a 5-night stay at CRB, and had an amazing time. It was everything we expected and more.

Location: <20 minutes from the airport. We booked airport transfers through Expedia, and they were super easy.

Room: The room was outstanding. Great porch, tons of space, A/C and fan were strong, and the bed was comfortable. The housekeeping staff was terrific.

Lounging: This was the most peaceful/relaxing place I have ever stayed. The beach and pools were excellent, with plenty of chairs. Shaded areas were competitive, but not impossible to secure.

Activities: The CRB side was very relaxing, but a few activities would have been nice. Still, the other side offered a nice change whenever we wanted to be active (tennis, kayaking, casino, etc.)

Food: The food was surprisingly great, particularly Cata Tapa and Sea Blue. I anticipated an all-inclusive to focus on quantity over quality, but both these restaurants were terrific. I was also impressed with the beverage selection (good house wine, Stoli, Johnny Walker, Dewars). Room service was mediocre, but that wasn’t surprising. Also, the availability of espresso and cappuccino at the Piano Bar was a nice touch.

Staff: The staff was incredible, but the language barrier was challenging in some circumstances. Most of the staff was fluent in Spanish or French, but very little in English. This created a problem for us at the Spa, but the resort was very helpful in resolving the issue. The wait staff at the Piano Bar (Manuel, Alba, Aldeso, and Domingo) as well as in Cata Tapa (Joel and Ms. Mercedes) were fantastic.

Overall, I would definitely return and recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went with a friend for 5 nights in January. We had a great time. This was our first time to the Dominican Republic and I chose this resort based on trip advisor recommendations as well as staying at the Catalonia resort chain in Puerto Aventuras Mexico. My priorities were a smaller resort that had a nice beach, hobie cats and calmer water. This resort really fit all of those requirements and at a great price. This resort is a place to sit relax and unwind. It is nice that you can go to the larger family side of the resort if you want entertainment. The room was nice and the room service was nice as well. All of the restaurants were fine. We preferred Sea Blue. I think it was pretty typical resort food. I found the staff to be very helpful. I had no issues being able to communicate with any of the staff while only speaking English. My overall impression is great value, clean, safe, friendly and very relaxing. The beds are hard. They make a great drink. Beautiful beach. Close to airport. Would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beaches867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Mr./ Mrs. beaches867,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your first visit to the Dominican Republic; it’s a pleasure to receive your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know our resort met all your priorities and expectations, following for a wonderful holiday experience. We are content that our services were of your enjoyments especially the Sea Blue restaurant. Regarding the mattress in the room we are sorry for the inconvenience; it’s a pleasure to inform you were currently acquiring mattresses for improvements of the villas.

Once again thank you! It’s an honor to know you will consider us again in the future!

Kindest regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at the Catalonia Royal. Overall it was a nice experience with a few minor issues along the way. I'll start by mentioning that we are well seasoned travellers having vacationed in many areas of the Caribbean and we are in no way new to the all inclusive experience or to spending holidays surrounded by people from a variety of cultures so the language barriers and different ways of dealing with people are a non-issue for a travel review in my opinion.
Our accomodations were for a deluxe junior suite and it was wonderful. The room was spacious, immaculately clean and met all our needs. The cleaning staff does a superb job. Mini bar is stocked daily with plenty of water and sodas and lots of towels too. We had an issue one evening where our safe was malfunctioning and after a quick call to the front desk, someone was up within 15 mins to fix it. The shower was devine ! Giant roomy rain head main shower with a seperate hand held option for showering. My only issue with the room would be the glass door that is in the toilet area. The door had a stopper that didn't allow the door to be opened all the way so it was difficult to fully open the door to the toilet. Great water pressure, no lack of hot water at any time of the day, it was great.

The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The staff works hard to keep things looking great and it shows. The guys that rake up at remove all the sea grass on the beach do an excellent job of keeping up with the endless supply of sea life that washes on shore. I hope they know how appreciated it is, this is not easy work. My only concerns with the grounds is that long walkways and how uneven they are. I suffered a bruised heel from walking on it barefoot, so keep your sandals on your feet no matter how tempting it is to go barefoot. My other issue is kind of ridiculous but I just have to say it.... that crazy water fountain and pond area are a serious design flaw. This is an enormous waste of space and a high maintenance feature that seems kind of useless. Although this is a small resort, don't be fooled into thinking there is little walking. Things are very spaced out and there is a lot of walking.

The food is the only downfall of this resort. It was largely hit or miss. The resort next door proved to be the same as far as consistency. Although the service is super, the menu selections and preparations of those selections were sketchy. Sometimes things were over cooked, others they were overcooked. Breakfast was always a safe bet though. My only suggestion for breakfast would be to make the coffee be a self serve option rather than have to wait for a server to bring it to you. Although I could say tons about what we ate I will leave it at we were not impressed with the food, but we did not go hungry either. We enjoyed Thalasa and the Sea Blue for lobster ( langostine ) dinner.

The bars are well stocked and yes... you can get a decent Ceasar made for you!
The beach is lovely, plenty of shady spots and yes, the towel game gets played by anyone wanting a piece of prime beach real estate very early in the morning. And yes, many ignorant people stake their claim and then never return until late in the day or not at all. If you`re prone to bug bites bring bug spray as the little critters are quite active at dawn and after dusk in the whole area of the beach. The beach is riddled with guys trying to sell excursions, they are annoying. Also, taking a long walk along the beach to the right away from the resort area will afford you the experience of being yelled to and pestered by the vendors in the little area that sells tourist junk near the resort. They too are annoying but easy to shake off. The girls giving massages in that area are amazing however and worth the minimal cost to have an hour long massage. Many guests had their massages there... the building is very seedy but totally safe and no one we spoke to had a bad experience.

The option of having the resort next door to visit and take advantage of was great. We took in one of the evening shows, standard resort type stuff. The shopping area is fantastic. There is a drug store, an ice cream shop, clothing stores, a mini mart and many more. The casino is small and ok to spend a little time at to break up the evening but don't expect any big wins. The buffet there is good, the japanese restaurant is good, the italian restaurant is ok. The grounds there are nice as well. Both resorts are well kept and very clean and very safe.

Overall we had a relaxing and nice holiday, met tons of great people from all over the world and enjoyed our stay. We would not return for the simple reason that we rarely return to places we visit since there are so many more places to see in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms seem like a waste of money unless you don't plan to leave your room for a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silverfoxsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Mr./ Mrs. silverfoxsgal,

Thank you for sharing your comment of your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know you found our room accommodations fantastic and received an excellent service from our housekeeping department. Our apologies for the inconvenience with the safe deposit box, it was our staff pleasure to promptly assist in resolving this matter.

Thank you for appreciating our well maintain grounds, we will make sure our staff receive your encouraging words as they strive to maintain the beach area in the best condition. We are sorry to read the inconvenience with the food service; we will take special attention to your comments with our F&B department, but are glad you enjoyed the services at Thalassa and Sea Blue.

Regarding the local market we must clarify this is not part of the facilities of the resort.

Thank you very much for your comments, it’s a pleasure to know overall you had a relaxing a nice holiday, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just got back last night from a weeks stay. The resort is clean and most of the staff was very nice. Whenever you go to a foreign destination you will always find some servers that are not to your liking, but that's everywhere. The food was okay, not 5 star, but who goes to the caribbean for the food. It isn't Italy. The Thalassa was good and the hostesses were always pleasant. Good gnocci for dinner. The Cata Tapa was excellent. Had dinner there twice. The Sea Blue was good for lunch, good salads, but the service was slow (again the Caribbean where time is it's own pace) but steer clear for dinner there. The restaurants on the other side are available for dinner. The Mikada and the La Toscana (get the Lasagna) were both excellent. The Rodeo Steak House was not to good, I'd go to the others.
If you need help, Jenny the concierge, was a pleasure to deal with.
Regarding golf. If your a player, go to the 18 hole course. They were nice, it was a good resort course and the greens were in great shape. Just don't read too much break in your putts.
Last thing, the Junior Suite was plenty large enough for two people.
I know my wife and I would go there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor pool view if a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark4208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,882 reviews
42.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,418 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
57.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $204 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing