We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good and bad, hope it helps you choose...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The good and bad, hope it helps you choose...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hello fellow Trip Advisers...
We were three Canadian Couples who were at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro the last week of January 2013.
The resort is the adults only portion of the Catalonia, and its only about a 15 minute ride from the airport if you arrange your own driver, that's a big plus. The entrance is quaint but nicely done, not opulent by any means. The front desk staff are awesome. Rooms are dated, but you can see how they have been maintaining them with new grout etc. One of our rooms had no air conditioning for the entire stay, even with numerous complaints and an attempt at fixing it. There was no other attempt by the staff to make it right, no mention of any refund or extra amenity.Also, building 36 was fumigated for roaches while we were there, none of our party were in that building, but other travelers told us.
This side of the resort is much better liquor; Canadian Club, Jim Beam, 3 Irish Whiskies, Baileys (you have to ask for it), good vodkas, and occasionally Clamato !, which is usually impossible to find for Canadians who like a Caesar. I ventured to the other side, ordered a whiskey and got something that to this day I cannot identify, except to say it was not fit for human consumption, but I'm sure it could clean a pool.
The Sea Blue for Lunch is awesome. Open air, next to the infinity pool and the beach, you will have something new and good every day, and the wait staff was excellent. Don't waste your time anywhere else for lunch
We also really enjoyed the Japanese and the Tapas, really good food and wait staff were fun and attentive. The Thalassa for breakfast was good, but didn't measure up for dinner.We went to the Italian one night and everyone who had the Ravioli had a stomach flu the next day, the rest of the party absolutely loved it. The service was very quick so I'm guessing Ravioli was pre made and left out, hence the problems we had.
The Beach is very quiet, and has a nice little beach bar, and servers who were really good, There are just a few of the usual guys trying to sell excursions, but they aren't rude or as annoying as some Ive seen. The beach itself is weedy, this isn't a place that you walk out in sand and blue for a hundred yards, its not very inviting.
The main pool area can sometimes get a little boisterous, but nothing compared to the other side. Its a fairly small pool but well set up with different depths, loungers, bubbler etc. One big plus is there are always available loungers and shade. I kind of wished they had mixed up the music they played, the Dominican version of "Sugar Sugar" by the Archies still haunts me, you will hear it at least twice a day.
The big plus to this place is that its not packed, there are no lines, and the staff are excellent.
I hope this review helps someone.

Room Tip: over looking the pool is best, upper two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SouthsideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear SouthsideTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor and for choosing us for your holidays, we hope you and the rest of the party had a pleasant return back home.

We are sorry to read the inconvenience with the A/C, when this kind of incident occurs we promptly assist with our maintenance department, or provide a room change. In regards of the fumigation we clarify that the resort has a planning for preventive fumigation in all areas to maintain the quality standards.

We are glad to read you enjoyed our bar variety, we apologize for the inconvenience on the neighbor resort, we will make sure to pass your comments. As well as the Sea blue restaurants we will congratulate the staff on your behalf.

Once again thank you for your feedback and suggestions, we take good note for improvements. It’s a pleasure to read our staff provided an excellent service for your stay.

We look forward for a second visit.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,946
    1,551
    590
    195
    154
See reviews for
370
4,030
84
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff all of them day or night were lovelly. From check-in to roomate also bar pool Carlos, Virmaria, George, Hector all of your staff were wonderfull, People at front desk # 1, SeaBlue very good plate also service. Bar at beach staff are # 1, I will return any time. Please keep all of you personals. One thing restaurant Thalassa the was not good as last year, pork not cook. beside that I juste love your Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Helene S,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal! It’s a pleasure to receive your comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your excellent comments regarding our staff; they were content to provide the best service for your holidays. We will share your congratulations it will greatly motivated them!
Our apologies for the inconvenience at Thalassa restaurant, we take important attention and will review with the department in charge.

We look forward to your next holidays!

Receive warm regards from all the staff.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I went to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro (Adults Only hotel) during the second week of December 2012. The hotel is only a couple of years old and is part of the adjacent Catalonia Hotel Bavaro. People from the Royal are allowed to use the facilities next door as well.
The rooms are really great: huge bed, huge rain shower, bath tub, flat screen TV, everything you can dream of. This was a big change from the hotel we stayed at the week before (Grand Palladium Palace – see review). The hotel also offers free internet, although reception was slow in our room. They have three pc’s available in the lobby (free of charge) and internet works better on those pc’s.
The beach is amazing. Great lounge chairs, nice towels. There is even a waiter/waitress bringing your drinks to your lounge chair. If the waiter is not around, you can get the drinks yourself and enjoy the beach bar. There is also a fruit bar at the beach (natural juices) which serves fruit drinks made on the spot and which are pretty amazing too. Next to the hotel (50 meters) there is a small shopping center run by the local population. The hotel also has a shopping center but the prices are definitely higher.
What’s so great about this hotel and the beach is the fact that there are no other hotels in the area. When you’re on beach and you walk to the right, you can walk for miles without seeing a soul, nothing but endless sandy beaches and palm trees. Same thing when you go to the left. The closest place to the hotel is the place where you can swim with the dolphins, but that is at least a twenty minute walk, or longer.
The hotel has three restaurants. The one at the reception is where you have breakfast buffet. If you like you can order eggs/omelets/etc through the waiter (who gets them from the buffet for you). So basically you can get them yourself  What bothers me a lot is that although breakfast is a buffet, there is no one at the entrance of the restaurant giving you disinfection lotion. This lotion has been a “rule” for at least three years in the Dominican Republic. So how come this rule does not apply to this hotel?
The à la carte restaurant serves Mediterranean food (tapas). We did not go to this restaurant as again, as is the case in most à la carte restaurants in the Punta Cana hotels, men need to wear long pants and closed shoes. Pants just above the ankle are not allowed, and neither are sandals (although women can go in half naked). Where’s the logic?
So instead we went to the beach restaurant several times where they serve grilled lobster and steak every evening. The first time the lobsters were completely burned (read: black). I did not eat anything that evening. The second time they were ok, the third time they were more or less ok. Service is great.
We also tried the Thalassa restaurant in the evening (no buffet this time). The food was really good, service was great. We even had the best rum ever at this place.
We also tried the buffet restaurants next door. People from the Catalonia Royal can sit in the “privileged” section of the next door hotel. This means better tables and chairs, yet same food as the other guests. The food there is definitely 4 star food. Good, however nothing extraordinary. One night we ordered rosé wine at dinner at the buffet restaurant. It took them a long time to bring it, so we knew something was wrong. And indeed there was, the rosé wine looked completely different from the one we had the night before at the same place. We found out they mixed white wine with red wine, which was disgusting. I would have preferred them telling us that they were out of rosé wine rather than giving us this awful mixture. So we never went back there.
The hotel has two pools, one close to the beach (the infinity pool) and another one close to the reception area.
Overall this is a great place if you like to relax in a quiet environment. Great rooms, great beach, kind people, and above all, great rum (Ron Barcelo Imperial) !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Soniake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Soniake,

Greeting from Catalonia Royal! It was a pleasure to welcome you for your holidays. Thank you sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our room accommodations to the fullest, as well as the internet service. We appreciate your comments of the Bar Maloo, we are glad our fresh fruit juices were of your liking.

We are sorry to read you were not able to enjoy our Cata Tapa restaurant; we apologize for the inconvenience with the dress code. In regards to the Sea Blue we will make sure to provide your comments to the Kitchen to improve in this area, but are glad to know the service was always great.

We are delighted that overall you enjoyed a great holiday with us, we look forward to your return!

Kind regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the third time back to this resort and will be going back next year . If you are a golfer excellent course and only $35 for a cart ... The staff are very friendly and if you ever have an issue it is dealt with straight away. If I had to moan about any thing it would be the WI FI , but that is a small detail and any way you are on vacation so just relax and enjoy the resort .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear edewing,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal for your third holiday! We are delighted to received your excellent review, it proves us we have accomplished to exceed your expectations.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and golf services. About the Wi-Fi we are sorry to read the inconvenience, please receive our sincerest apologies. We will make sure to revise this issue with our technician.

Once again thank you, we look forward to a fourth visit!

Receive warm regards from all the staff!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assitant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Catalonia Royal (8-22 Jan2013) in room 3842. it was fantastic. if you want a lively resort, don't go there! it's just so quiet and relaxing. just great to unwind. The room was fantastic and was kept spotless by the staff. As were the grounds. The food in all the restaurants (7 off) was of a very high standard. We can't wait to go back and meet some of the staff again, as they made our holiday special. Yes there was some seaweed on the beach but the staff kept clearing it up. It didn't spoil our holiday at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear colin p,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal! Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are content to know you had a fantastic holiday with us, and that our accommodating and relaxing ambiance was of your expectations. We appreciate your excellent comment regarding our room cleaning service, grounds and restaurant services and beach cleaning staff. We will your kind word share with our staff!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest regards!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just got back from this resort. We found the service was excellent and the rooms were very nice. There are some weeds in the water but it never presented a problem for swimming. There was plenty of loungers at the beach and never a problem getting a couple together. We found that the meals overall were very good and the staff very friendly and gave good service. All the staff were very pleasant and many went out of there way to help you any way they could. It was nice having the sister resort next door. It wasn't far to walk to meals and the walk was enjoyable as the grounds on that side were pretty with the different birds and the water areas. We were in villa 44 which was close to the lobby but a little more of a walk to the beach and the only drawback to this location (which isn't a big drawback) was if you wanted to sit on your balcony and enjoy some quiet to read of whatever, forget it. You are in front of the pool with the swim up bar and the party pool. It can get quite loud. We would definitely go back to this resort and probably will next year.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor on Royal side closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barmcm1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear barmcm1405,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, we hope you had pleasant return back home with unforgettable memories!

It was our staff pleasure to go above and beyond to provide the best service for your holidays. We are delighted that our room accommodations, beach and restaurants were of your liking.

Thank you for recommending us, it’s wonderful to know you will choose us for your next holidays!

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First off if your looking for a place to party this is not the place for you. If you are looking to get away for some relaxation then I highly recommend this resort.

We stayed at this hotel from Jan 11-18, 2013. We are 30, from Canada and opted for a pool suite.

The beach:
As other reviews said yes there is a lot of seed weed, this didnt bother us, staff is constantly working their hardest to keep the beaches nice. There are quite a few palm trees so it wasnt ideal for soaking up the sun, as compared to other resorts we have been to (Cuba, Mexico, Bahamas & Costa Rica). However we did enjoy our time on the beach. We did find there were locals on the beach trying to sell excursions, we would tell them no and they would leave us alone. The shops to the south of the beach (about 50 yards down) they were quite pushy, but I found it kind of fun. We did the couples massage on the beach, $40 for 25 minutes, this was relaxing and enjoyable. Also the juice bar, located beside the massage was a favorite of ours for fresh fruit smoothies (no alcohol)

The Room:
I would recommend spending a little extra and getting a pool room. We LOVED it. On days that were to windy to be at the beach we lounged around our own personal pool, because of the walls on each side of your patio there is very little wind. You have a lot of space, my only complaint would be there is not a lot of privacy in the room, the bathrooms have slats on the doors. The bed was comfortable, AC worked well, furniture was all in good condition. Jet tub was confusing to use. Shower with the rain head was wonderful.

The food:
If you are a foodie I would not recommend this resort. The food was ok, but I would by no means consider it to be 5 star. I would recommend the Cala Tapas, we ate 2 suppers here, the veal and the pork ribs were amazing to say the least. Sea Blue was ok for lunch and we had one supper there, the food wasnt to bad, burgers and lobster were both dry. The Italian on the family side was also pretty good. I found the room service food to be below standard, food was cold and soggy by the time we got it. The buffets (on both sides) were just ok, filled us up but that's about it, definitely have experienced better at other resorts.

The grounds:
The landscaping is wonderful and the staff work tirelessly to keep them looking spectacular.

The pools: we spent zero time at the pools (because we had our own that we didn't have to fight for a chair at) they looked to be kept quite clean and the double loungers at the infinity pool looked relaxing.

The Service:
Everyone was very nice to us. Our room was always cleaned, with turn down service at night, although the cleaning was never at a consistent time (which I prefer then u can be away from your room). Our mini bar was always stocked, and if we asked for extra anything they had no problem providing it for us. Not that this was a huge deal, but we brought DVDs from Canada to watch in the evenings if we didnt feel like going out or the weather was bad, the DVD players here (and only the DVD no other electronics) are European so none of our DVDs would play, you can rent at the front desk, $10 USD for movies 3+ years old- no thanks! When we asked for a North American DVD player they could not provide it. Again not a huge deal just something to keep in mind.

The Excursions:
We did two excursions. The pirate ship (which we bought on the beach) it was a half day, leaving the resort at 1:40 and returning around 6 for $75/ person. It was a fun afternoon, drinks included. They took you out about 200 meters from the shore and we snorkeled for about 1/2 an hour, then you cruised along the shore line, then stopped to swim / party in a shallow part of the ocean, it was a good time, lotsa dancing and music (which isn't really my thing) but it was fun to watch everyone.
Helicopter tour. I did this one and would HIGHLY recommend it. It was $220 for 30 minutes. We flew over the coast line and it was absolutely amazing! The pilot took us right over our hotel. The sights were amazing! (See pics)

WIFI: Wifi was a hit and miss, it always worked in the lobby, and about 1/2 the time it worked in our room. Mornings seems to work best from the room.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. It is quiet and there are quite a few older people, if you want to party u can slip over the the family side, which we did a few nights. If u are just looking to relax definitely go to this resort. This overall has been the relaxing most vacation I have ever been on!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the pool room! we loved it!!! We had room 3411, if I was to go again, i w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing