We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,676)
Filter reviews
6,676 results
Traveler rating
3,608
1,868
730
259
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,608
1,868
730
259
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucaswim up bardeluxe junior suitesister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
2,974 - 2,979 of 6,676 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the third time back to this resort and will be going back next year . If you are a golfer excellent course and only $35 for a cart ... The staff are very friendly and if you ever have an issue it is dealt with straight away. If I had to moan about any thing it would be the WI FI , but that is a small detail and any way you are on vacation so just relax and enjoy the resort .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear edewing,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal for your third holiday! We are delighted to received your excellent review, it proves us we have accomplished to exceed your expectations.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and golf services. About the Wi-Fi we are sorry to read the inconvenience, please receive our sincerest apologies. We will make sure to revise this issue with our technician.

Once again thank you, we look forward to a fourth visit!

Receive warm regards from all the staff!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assitant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at the Catalonia Royal (8-22 Jan2013) in room 3842. it was fantastic. if you want a lively resort, don't go there! it's just so quiet and relaxing. just great to unwind. The room was fantastic and was kept spotless by the staff. As were the grounds. The food in all the restaurants (7 off) was of a very high standard. We can't wait to go back and meet some of the staff again, as they made our holiday special. Yes there was some seaweed on the beach but the staff kept clearing it up. It didn't spoil our holiday at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear colin p,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal! Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are content to know you had a fantastic holiday with us, and that our accommodating and relaxing ambiance was of your expectations. We appreciate your excellent comment regarding our room cleaning service, grounds and restaurant services and beach cleaning staff. We will your kind word share with our staff!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest regards!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just got back from this resort. We found the service was excellent and the rooms were very nice. There are some weeds in the water but it never presented a problem for swimming. There was plenty of loungers at the beach and never a problem getting a couple together. We found that the meals overall were very good and the staff very friendly and gave good service. All the staff were very pleasant and many went out of there way to help you any way they could. It was nice having the sister resort next door. It wasn't far to walk to meals and the walk was enjoyable as the grounds on that side were pretty with the different birds and the water areas. We were in villa 44 which was close to the lobby but a little more of a walk to the beach and the only drawback to this location (which isn't a big drawback) was if you wanted to sit on your balcony and enjoy some quiet to read of whatever, forget it. You are in front of the pool with the swim up bar and the party pool. It can get quite loud. We would definitely go back to this resort and probably will next year.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor on Royal side closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barmcm1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear barmcm1405,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, we hope you had pleasant return back home with unforgettable memories!

It was our staff pleasure to go above and beyond to provide the best service for your holidays. We are delighted that our room accommodations, beach and restaurants were of your liking.

Thank you for recommending us, it’s wonderful to know you will choose us for your next holidays!

Warm regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First off if your looking for a place to party this is not the place for you. If you are looking to get away for some relaxation then I highly recommend this resort.

We stayed at this hotel from Jan 11-18, 2013. We are 30, from Canada and opted for a pool suite.

The beach:
As other reviews said yes there is a lot of seed weed, this didnt bother us, staff is constantly working their hardest to keep the beaches nice. There are quite a few palm trees so it wasnt ideal for soaking up the sun, as compared to other resorts we have been to (Cuba, Mexico, Bahamas & Costa Rica). However we did enjoy our time on the beach. We did find there were locals on the beach trying to sell excursions, we would tell them no and they would leave us alone. The shops to the south of the beach (about 50 yards down) they were quite pushy, but I found it kind of fun. We did the couples massage on the beach, $40 for 25 minutes, this was relaxing and enjoyable. Also the juice bar, located beside the massage was a favorite of ours for fresh fruit smoothies (no alcohol)

The Room:
I would recommend spending a little extra and getting a pool room. We LOVED it. On days that were to windy to be at the beach we lounged around our own personal pool, because of the walls on each side of your patio there is very little wind. You have a lot of space, my only complaint would be there is not a lot of privacy in the room, the bathrooms have slats on the doors. The bed was comfortable, AC worked well, furniture was all in good condition. Jet tub was confusing to use. Shower with the rain head was wonderful.

The food:
If you are a foodie I would not recommend this resort. The food was ok, but I would by no means consider it to be 5 star. I would recommend the Cala Tapas, we ate 2 suppers here, the veal and the pork ribs were amazing to say the least. Sea Blue was ok for lunch and we had one supper there, the food wasnt to bad, burgers and lobster were both dry. The Italian on the family side was also pretty good. I found the room service food to be below standard, food was cold and soggy by the time we got it. The buffets (on both sides) were just ok, filled us up but that's about it, definitely have experienced better at other resorts.

The grounds:
The landscaping is wonderful and the staff work tirelessly to keep them looking spectacular.

The pools: we spent zero time at the pools (because we had our own that we didn't have to fight for a chair at) they looked to be kept quite clean and the double loungers at the infinity pool looked relaxing.

The Service:
Everyone was very nice to us. Our room was always cleaned, with turn down service at night, although the cleaning was never at a consistent time (which I prefer then u can be away from your room). Our mini bar was always stocked, and if we asked for extra anything they had no problem providing it for us. Not that this was a huge deal, but we brought DVDs from Canada to watch in the evenings if we didnt feel like going out or the weather was bad, the DVD players here (and only the DVD no other electronics) are European so none of our DVDs would play, you can rent at the front desk, $10 USD for movies 3+ years old- no thanks! When we asked for a North American DVD player they could not provide it. Again not a huge deal just something to keep in mind.

The Excursions:
We did two excursions. The pirate ship (which we bought on the beach) it was a half day, leaving the resort at 1:40 and returning around 6 for $75/ person. It was a fun afternoon, drinks included. They took you out about 200 meters from the shore and we snorkeled for about 1/2 an hour, then you cruised along the shore line, then stopped to swim / party in a shallow part of the ocean, it was a good time, lotsa dancing and music (which isn't really my thing) but it was fun to watch everyone.
Helicopter tour. I did this one and would HIGHLY recommend it. It was $220 for 30 minutes. We flew over the coast line and it was absolutely amazing! The pilot took us right over our hotel. The sights were amazing! (See pics)

WIFI: Wifi was a hit and miss, it always worked in the lobby, and about 1/2 the time it worked in our room. Mornings seems to work best from the room.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. It is quiet and there are quite a few older people, if you want to party u can slip over the the family side, which we did a few nights. If u are just looking to relax definitely go to this resort. This overall has been the relaxing most vacation I have ever been on!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the pool room! we loved it!!! We had room 3411, if I was to go again, i would opt for room 3402-3404 they are closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went for our honeymoon and had a great time. We would not usually plan an all-inclusive vacation, but were pleasantly surprised with this resort. The "royal" side of the resort is on the small side which we appreciated. There are 3 restaurants (all a la carte) and we thought the food was good. We rented a car and had planned to eat outside of the resort but ended up eating there often because we liked the food. There is also a fresh juice bar on the beach and an espresso bar in the lobby. The exterior and grounds are beautiful and have a very modern feel to them. The room was humid so we asked for a humidifier and the staff were helpful. If you are looking for a huge resort with a lot of entertainment, activities, buffets, etc., and a party atmosphere this is not it. But if you want something relaxing I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Lindsey C,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your honeymoon holidays! And for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We are content to know you were surprised with our services, and that we succeeded in achieving your expectations with our restaurant services.

We are sorry for the humidity, but are glad that our staff promptly assisted you in resolving this matter. Thank you for recommending our resort, we hope to welcome you back for relaxing holiday!

Warm regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews