We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,677)
Filter reviews
6,677 results
Traveler rating
3,607
1,869
730
259
212
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,607
1,869
730
259
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucaswim up bardeluxe junior suitesister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
2,977 - 2,982 of 6,677 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went for our honeymoon and had a great time. We would not usually plan an all-inclusive vacation, but were pleasantly surprised with this resort. The "royal" side of the resort is on the small side which we appreciated. There are 3 restaurants (all a la carte) and we thought the food was good. We rented a car and had planned to eat outside of the resort but ended up eating there often because we liked the food. There is also a fresh juice bar on the beach and an espresso bar in the lobby. The exterior and grounds are beautiful and have a very modern feel to them. The room was humid so we asked for a humidifier and the staff were helpful. If you are looking for a huge resort with a lot of entertainment, activities, buffets, etc., and a party atmosphere this is not it. But if you want something relaxing I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Lindsey C,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your honeymoon holidays! And for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We are content to know you were surprised with our services, and that we succeeded in achieving your expectations with our restaurant services.

We are sorry for the humidity, but are glad that our staff promptly assisted you in resolving this matter. Thank you for recommending our resort, we hope to welcome you back for relaxing holiday!

Warm regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Oct 2011 and couldn't wait to return. We were looking to have a relaxing, quiet vacation, which this resort offers. If you're looking for entertainment and nightlife, you will have to go to the sister resort next door for that. We went one night to check out the entertainment and it was definitely not up to par with other resorts such as Dreams Punta Cana or Iberostar Bavaro. For relaxation Catalonia Royal is #1 in our books! The first time we stayed in a deluxe jr. suite and opted for a superior suite this time. The only difference we could find between the two, was the deluxe is only slightly bigger but the biggest thing was the bathroom arrangement. This room had an open concept bathroom with a half glass door to the toilet and open shower area as you walk into the room. The superior jr suite offers a private bathroom with a door that closes off the shower, sink, and toilet area. The large soaker tub by the king size bed was the same in both rooms. So if you are travelling with friends and are staying in a room together you may want to opt for the Superior Suite for the privacy. We stayed in Villa 46, which is closest to the lobby, pool side. The house keeping staff were excellent, fridge was refilled everyday, room was always cleaned and decorated with beautiful flowers. Thanks.....
Now for the food, overall we enjoyed all the restaurants on the Royal Side. Can't comment on the Bavaro side, we didn't eat there except the buffet. We went to both buffets on the Bavaro side and found both to be subpar compared to other resorts we've been to. Didn't like the birds flying around the food. Back to the Royal restaurants: Our favorite was Cata Tapa (excellent ribs)!!! Thanks for making our meal so memorable "Sexy Cecilia"!!! You're a gem! Thalassa, they offer buffet breakfast, a la carte for lunch and supper. All the meals we had there were great! Loved the sushi at lunch!!! A special thank you to Jenny for exceptional service!!!! Sea Blue is a great place for a light lunch, they also bbq on the beach which is really convenient. They are also open in the evenings, serving grilled lobster. Thanks to Francesco for ensuring the service and food was always great. The Maloo Bar serves freshly blended fruit drinks on the beach, which are awesome! The beach isn't as big or water isn't as deep and wavy as other resorts but they have a man made reef which is great for snorkeling. The fish will eat from your hand if you bring some bread or banana with you! Hats off the gardeners, they work hard everyday to keep this property beautiful.
For those looking for a nice quiet and relaxing vacation, this is the place for you!!! The food was excellent, staff are incredible, and can't wait to return sometime soon for the third time!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trese_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

arrived home Friday from catalonia royal. we had an excellent vacation. we stayed in bldg 18 and our room was stunning. we stayed for 2 weeks and didn't want to come home. we have no complaints at all. food was excellent, staff were great and we were treated great. will go back again for sure.

Room Tip: try to get room 1821, it's like a little apartment,
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sue154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear sue154982,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro!

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, it’s wonderful to receive your excellent comments of our services. We appreciate your appreciation of our room accommodations, friendly staff and restaurant service.

We look forward to your next holidays!

Receive kind regards from the Catalonia Royal family!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Let's start off with the good. Lobster and lots of it. The Sea Blue snack bar by day is a fancier dinner place by night where they serve amazing grilled lobster. The food at the restaurants was delicious if not ample. We had a few hitches but nothing really to write about it. We also were in building 19 [same as last reviewer] and although it is not the room we expected and did not have some of the amenities as stated on website we enjoyed it. We were right between the 2 resorts so it was easy to pop next door for their buffet breakfast or lunch. We were right at the pool we wanted to be at.
Now in saying all of that we would not pay what we paid to go back. We are fairly experienced all-inclusive travellers and have experienced Mexico, Dominican and St.Maarten. I found the level of service lacking and not sure why. We tipped but not all the time [didn't always have $$ on us]. Meals sometimes came out wrong or parts didn't show up at all [missing soup, no desert,etc]. I really wanted to love this resort especially because we tried somewhere new and paid more than we normally would have for it but we did not. After all is said and done it comes down to price and I would rather give another place a shot for alot less money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hola2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear hola2004,

First of thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays, we appreciate you taking your valuable to share your comment.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our restaurants services at the Sea Blue Grill specially the lobster and other delicious plates. We are sorry to know the accommodations did not meet your expectation, but the location was best suitable to access the facilities, as Villa 19 y closer to the beach area and other services.

Please receive our apologies for the setbacks presented in the restaurant service, we will make sure to revise with the Food and Beverage manager to prevent this kind of situation to occur in the future.

We hope to change your mind and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We can sum up our disappointment by saying that we paid for and expected a 5 star resort and it was not. We had stayed at the Catalonia Bavaro a few years ago and thought this time an upgrade to a smaller, quieter, 5 star would be a nice change. We were very surprised to find ourselves in Building #19, which originally belonged to the Catalonia Bavaro and therefore our room was identical to the one we were in years ago. After two days in the room, we went to the front desk as our fridge had not been working and it was replaced the same day. One day, our bed coverings barely got pulled up and our dirty towels were removed and not replaced. This was the extent of how our room was cleaned that day. We didn't get beer in our fridge for 2 days, even after leaving a note, asking the housekeeper and also asking at the front desk. We also had to ask for sugar and creamer refills. The beach was a letdown - the roped off area was very shallow and very grassy. We went to the beach next door for deeper water. On a positive note, there was lots of hot water and the quiet we were looking for. We brought an Odor Eater that we bought at Canadian Tire and didn't have an issue with any musty smell. I think the hotel needs to put some quality controls in place for consistent service delivery. A guest should not have to ask for a working fridge or any room supplies. The staff should be expected to look for what needs to be replaced or refilled and the making up of the rooms should be very same everyday, even when your regular housekeeper is off. Sorry, Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we can't recommend you...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingalOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear travelingalOntario,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We are sorry to read our room accommodations did not meet your expectations, please receive our sincere apologies for the inconvenience presented. We take important attention to your feedback and will report to our maintenance and Housekeeping department to provide special attention to the points mentioned.

In regards of the beach our apologies for the discontent with the seaweed, we count with a cleaning staff designated for the beach area; they continuously strive to maintain the area for the better enjoyment of our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback, as our guest’s valuable opinion helps us improve daily our services; we would love to prove ourselves in a second visit.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews