We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,676)
Filter reviews
6,676 results
Traveler rating
3,608
1,868
730
259
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,608
1,868
730
259
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanayucaswim up bardeluxe junior suitesister resortsea grass
Filter
Updating list...
2,980 - 2,985 of 6,676 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

arrived home Friday from catalonia royal. we had an excellent vacation. we stayed in bldg 18 and our room was stunning. we stayed for 2 weeks and didn't want to come home. we have no complaints at all. food was excellent, staff were great and we were treated great. will go back again for sure.

Room Tip: try to get room 1821, it's like a little apartment,
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sue154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear sue154982,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro!

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, it’s wonderful to receive your excellent comments of our services. We appreciate your appreciation of our room accommodations, friendly staff and restaurant service.

We look forward to your next holidays!

Receive kind regards from the Catalonia Royal family!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Let's start off with the good. Lobster and lots of it. The Sea Blue snack bar by day is a fancier dinner place by night where they serve amazing grilled lobster. The food at the restaurants was delicious if not ample. We had a few hitches but nothing really to write about it. We also were in building 19 [same as last reviewer] and although it is not the room we expected and did not have some of the amenities as stated on website we enjoyed it. We were right between the 2 resorts so it was easy to pop next door for their buffet breakfast or lunch. We were right at the pool we wanted to be at.
Now in saying all of that we would not pay what we paid to go back. We are fairly experienced all-inclusive travellers and have experienced Mexico, Dominican and St.Maarten. I found the level of service lacking and not sure why. We tipped but not all the time [didn't always have $$ on us]. Meals sometimes came out wrong or parts didn't show up at all [missing soup, no desert,etc]. I really wanted to love this resort especially because we tried somewhere new and paid more than we normally would have for it but we did not. After all is said and done it comes down to price and I would rather give another place a shot for alot less money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hola2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear hola2004,

First of thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays, we appreciate you taking your valuable to share your comment.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our restaurants services at the Sea Blue Grill specially the lobster and other delicious plates. We are sorry to know the accommodations did not meet your expectation, but the location was best suitable to access the facilities, as Villa 19 y closer to the beach area and other services.

Please receive our apologies for the setbacks presented in the restaurant service, we will make sure to revise with the Food and Beverage manager to prevent this kind of situation to occur in the future.

We hope to change your mind and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We can sum up our disappointment by saying that we paid for and expected a 5 star resort and it was not. We had stayed at the Catalonia Bavaro a few years ago and thought this time an upgrade to a smaller, quieter, 5 star would be a nice change. We were very surprised to find ourselves in Building #19, which originally belonged to the Catalonia Bavaro and therefore our room was identical to the one we were in years ago. After two days in the room, we went to the front desk as our fridge had not been working and it was replaced the same day. One day, our bed coverings barely got pulled up and our dirty towels were removed and not replaced. This was the extent of how our room was cleaned that day. We didn't get beer in our fridge for 2 days, even after leaving a note, asking the housekeeper and also asking at the front desk. We also had to ask for sugar and creamer refills. The beach was a letdown - the roped off area was very shallow and very grassy. We went to the beach next door for deeper water. On a positive note, there was lots of hot water and the quiet we were looking for. We brought an Odor Eater that we bought at Canadian Tire and didn't have an issue with any musty smell. I think the hotel needs to put some quality controls in place for consistent service delivery. A guest should not have to ask for a working fridge or any room supplies. The staff should be expected to look for what needs to be replaced or refilled and the making up of the rooms should be very same everyday, even when your regular housekeeper is off. Sorry, Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we can't recommend you...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingalOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear travelingalOntario,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana.

We are sorry to read our room accommodations did not meet your expectations, please receive our sincere apologies for the inconvenience presented. We take important attention to your feedback and will report to our maintenance and Housekeeping department to provide special attention to the points mentioned.

In regards of the beach our apologies for the discontent with the seaweed, we count with a cleaning staff designated for the beach area; they continuously strive to maintain the area for the better enjoyment of our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback, as our guest’s valuable opinion helps us improve daily our services; we would love to prove ourselves in a second visit.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Six of us women friends stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro (Adults Only) resort. Excellent in every way. I would go back in a heartbeat. Rooms were beautiful, spacious and clean; Restaurants excellent. Especially enjoyed the Thalassa for their wonderful breakfast and the scrumptious bacon!! Also the steak house, the CATATAPA for their ribs, the japanese meal with Chef Marty; the Italian restaurant for their lasagna. All very good. The beach was awesome; water so nice! So what if they had trouble keeping up with the sea weed; it certainly didn't stop us for enjoying it every day. Both pools were fabulous. Drinks were super good and those banana mamas and mamawanas were hard to beat!! Beautiful grounds, surroundings; great hot tub. Went to the spa and enjoyed the aftersun full body massage, WOW!! But the very best thing about this resort was the STAFF! We fell in love with most of them. At the Thalassa, Nilza Castillo, Cecilia (little darling), Moise, Victor, Virmaria, wonderful people. Bartenders, Carlos, Hector and Aldenta.......Drivers who made my stay what it was because after the 1st night I would have panicked at all the walking if not for them. Commendations to Juan, Wimberto Castro (aka 007 James Bond), and Pablo. They were the sweetest people one could ever meet. To the Catalonia manager, cherish your employees, for they are the best. I am sure I am forgetting someone! Oh yeh, the little short a bit older lady who had all the kids and so sweet; can't remember her name but she was so sweet and nice; worked at the Thalassa.

Loved loved this resort and hopefully will go back next year or latest the year after 2015. Thank you so much for everything. We had a most memorable time. Nicolle Desveaux, sexy mama!

Room Tip: Personally I will always try to go to an Adults Only resort. If I went back, would choose a room on first floor with no stairs to climb or the suites that have their own little swimming pool and large patio. Very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0lle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Nic0lle,

Greeting from Catalonia Royal Bavaro!

Thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays in Punta Cana! It’s a pleasure to receive your review on Trip Advisor.

We are content to read you and your friends had an excellent holiday at our Resort. Thank you for your kind appreciation of our room accommodations, restaurants and Spa services. we will sure to provide all your encouraging comments to the staff to keep up the great work specially Nilza, Castillo, Cecilia, Moise, Victor, Virmaria, Carlos, Hector Aldenta, Juan, Wimberto, Castro and Pablo for going above and beyond with the service.

Once again thank you, we hope to welcome your party back again in the near future!

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing week of perfect January Caribbean weather (25-29C every day with no rain) at Catalonia Royal with Sunwing. First thing, if you are going with Sunwing book Elite Plus. The extra legroom, additional checked baggage weight and preferential check-in & pre-boarding are more than worth it. This resort was exactly what we expected and wanted. Smaller, adults only and quieter than most resorts. It's also only about 20 minutes from the airport which is a bonus. Our room, 3623, was a Deluxe Junior Suite, in the buliding closest to the beach, and was one of the more recent refurbished units. A very nice room and the daily maid service was very well done. Be sure to tip your room maid. Also request a room facing into the property or you'll face the walkway behind that is also very tree lined & shady. It was a bit humid in the room but with the air and the ceiling fan running it was never an issue. We did the main pool the 1st day but then spent the rest of the time on the beach. It was too hot (not as much of a breeze) and a little noisier but it does have the swim up bar which can be important. The beach was perfect. Warm and alway a nice breeze. There was plenty of loungers no matter what time of day although you may have to move them around sometimes to get a better spot or in the sun (lots of palm tree coverage on the beach). Great place to relax, watch the Caribbean, enjoy a delivered pina colada (or other drink of choice) and the constant parade of people (which can be very entertaining). There is seaweed as most people note but it wasn't an issue at all and the fact that they clean it up all day is nice and greatly appreciated. We also spent time later in the afternoon at the infinity pool which is the better of the 2 pools in our estimation. This was the best time to get a chair there as this seemed the most difficult place to get a lounger unless you are up early and reserving (WHICH SHOULD NEVER BE DONE OR CONDONED BY THE PROPERTY) . The food at all 3 restaurants was good not great BUT this is not a major urban city so relax (that's why you're there) and enjoy the good food they do deliver. Our preference was Cata Tapa. The service and variety seemed best to us but Sea Blue was good as was Thalassa. The menu is the same each day for most meals so after a week that can get a little boring. We did room service breakfast a couple of times and it was also very good and fairly quick. There is a beach BBQ every weekday (not sure why not on the weekend). Service was mostly good to very good. Please tip these people. They work hard and are nearly all very, very pleasant so it is truly appreciated and also does improve the personal service and the fact that you have spent what you have to go here shows you can afford to pass along a few dollars. We took $70 in US $1 bills and that seemed to work just right for the week. Our only complaint is that the service time from when they take a food order to when you get your meals is excessively long no matter if the restaurant is busy or not.

Room Tip: Take some DVDs with you for watching in the room (they have DVD players in the room) in case you need some room time and don't like what is on TV.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxwood4126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Foxwood4126,

Thank you for recent holiday at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are delighted to know you had a pleasant return back home from a very relaxing holiday with us.

We are delighted to know the room was of your expectations and received an excellent service daily from housekeeping. Thank you for appreciating our staff work with the beach cleaning, we are glad to know you were able to relax and enjoy the beach area. In regards of the loungers we apologize for the inconvenience, please know the resort has a no reservations policy, thank you for informing us of this matter.

We appreciate your feedback in regards of the restaurant service we will communicate with our food and beverage manager to provide special attention to the efficiency in service.

Please know we appreciate your comments and recommendations on TripAdvisor; we hope to be your choice once again in the future for an unforgettable holiday.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews