We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,730)
Filter reviews
6,730 results
Traveler rating
3,638
1,884
732
261
215
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,638
1,884
732
261
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal side infinity pool piano bar cata tapa thalassa restaurant tapas restaurant the sea blue restaurant tao cat rodeo steak house juice bar royal guests la toscana yuca swim up bar deluxe junior suite sister resort sea grass
Filter
Updating list...
3,010 - 3,015 of 6,730 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing week of perfect January Caribbean weather (25-29C every day with no rain) at Catalonia Royal with Sunwing. First thing, if you are going with Sunwing book Elite Plus. The extra legroom, additional checked baggage weight and preferential check-in & pre-boarding are more than worth it. This resort was exactly what we expected and wanted. Smaller, adults only and quieter than most resorts. It's also only about 20 minutes from the airport which is a bonus. Our room, 3623, was a Deluxe Junior Suite, in the buliding closest to the beach, and was one of the more recent refurbished units. A very nice room and the daily maid service was very well done. Be sure to tip your room maid. Also request a room facing into the property or you'll face the walkway behind that is also very tree lined & shady. It was a bit humid in the room but with the air and the ceiling fan running it was never an issue. We did the main pool the 1st day but then spent the rest of the time on the beach. It was too hot (not as much of a breeze) and a little noisier but it does have the swim up bar which can be important. The beach was perfect. Warm and alway a nice breeze. There was plenty of loungers no matter what time of day although you may have to move them around sometimes to get a better spot or in the sun (lots of palm tree coverage on the beach). Great place to relax, watch the Caribbean, enjoy a delivered pina colada (or other drink of choice) and the constant parade of people (which can be very entertaining). There is seaweed as most people note but it wasn't an issue at all and the fact that they clean it up all day is nice and greatly appreciated. We also spent time later in the afternoon at the infinity pool which is the better of the 2 pools in our estimation. This was the best time to get a chair there as this seemed the most difficult place to get a lounger unless you are up early and reserving (WHICH SHOULD NEVER BE DONE OR CONDONED BY THE PROPERTY) . The food at all 3 restaurants was good not great BUT this is not a major urban city so relax (that's why you're there) and enjoy the good food they do deliver. Our preference was Cata Tapa. The service and variety seemed best to us but Sea Blue was good as was Thalassa. The menu is the same each day for most meals so after a week that can get a little boring. We did room service breakfast a couple of times and it was also very good and fairly quick. There is a beach BBQ every weekday (not sure why not on the weekend). Service was mostly good to very good. Please tip these people. They work hard and are nearly all very, very pleasant so it is truly appreciated and also does improve the personal service and the fact that you have spent what you have to go here shows you can afford to pass along a few dollars. We took $70 in US $1 bills and that seemed to work just right for the week. Our only complaint is that the service time from when they take a food order to when you get your meals is excessively long no matter if the restaurant is busy or not.

Room Tip: Take some DVDs with you for watching in the room (they have DVD players in the room) in case you need some room time and don't like what is on TV.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxwood4126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Foxwood4126,

Thank you for recent holiday at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are delighted to know you had a pleasant return back home from a very relaxing holiday with us.

We are delighted to know the room was of your expectations and received an excellent service daily from housekeeping. Thank you for appreciating our staff work with the beach cleaning, we are glad to know you were able to relax and enjoy the beach area. In regards of the loungers we apologize for the inconvenience, please know the resort has a no reservations policy, thank you for informing us of this matter.

We appreciate your feedback in regards of the restaurant service we will communicate with our food and beverage manager to provide special attention to the efficiency in service.

Please know we appreciate your comments and recommendations on TripAdvisor; we hope to be your choice once again in the future for an unforgettable holiday.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have waited a little to write this review as I needed to digest and make sure I was giving information without the dissapointment weighting it. We went for a second trip to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro November 19th-29th and had decided to do 10 days and to book the swimming pool suite for the entire trip based on our experience earlier in the year. Though I must say a 10 day vacation was nice, by the 3rd day I realized we should not have booked it for here. The resort itself is nice but we found the food quality and the staff was not the same as last time. Some of the same staff from our prior visit were not near as friendly as the last time and were not enjoying their jobs near as much, the only meal we really enjoyed was at the Italian restaurant so we went there twice. Cata Tapa had been our favorite in the past and we tried this twice as well but were dissapointed both times. Many of the beach loungers were broken, the pads on the double loungers around the infinity pool all needed replacing and bar and drink service was difficult to say the least (and we tip very well). For the amount the trip cost (close to $6000) we realized for the same amount of money we could have received 5 star accomodation, food and service elsewhere. If you can get a great deal on this resort I would still suggest you go (would not pay more than $1300 pp for a week for the Deluxe room) but do not go with 5 star expectations as it seems service and food and some of the amenities are now running on 3-4 star standards.

Room Tip: swimming pool suites are nice but not worth the money. Deluxe rooms facing pool are not as musty.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachesfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear dtjbrown,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, and for choosing us for a second time for your holidays. We are disappointed to read our Resort did not meet your expectations. Please receive our sincere apologies for the discontent with the restaurant and staff service. We will provide special attention with our staff to search for improvements.

We are committed with our main goal of guest satisfaction. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, in regards of the loungers we are in the process of changing the damages loungers for our guest’s best comfort.

Once again thank you and it is our wish to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Royal between 7/1/13 and 21/1/13.Arrived at 6pm and check in was nice and easy.
We were shown to our room 3136 ,which was nice and spacious.(more about the room later )
All the restaraunts we ate in were nice,we especially enjoyed the steakhouse.
Beware of the beach BBQ,unfortunately the chef uses the same pair of tongues to cook raw and cooked food,we only ate there once and I was ill for 24 hours.
We had read about the damp/musty smell in some rooms on trip advisor before we left,alas we had one of those such rooms.We have been to countless carribean hotels over the years and our room has never been that bad with humidity.The bed and our clothes were very damp
We told our rep Felix,who said the hotel was 98% full and we couldn't move rooms,but the hotel would put a de-humidier in the room.This arrived within the hour.
To give you an idea of the humidity in the room we emptied the de-humidifier 7 times in 5 days !!!
There is the usual practice of people getting up at 6am to reserve sunbeds and some are left unoccupied for hours (oh to go to a resort where this is not allowed),with this we spent most of the following days at the catalonia beach (its bigger than the royal and you can find a quiet spot)
we moved table a couple of times at lunchtime due to people smoking (don't mind the odd person having a cig,but not chain smoking when you are trying to eat )
Yes the resort is quiet but that is what we wanted from our 2 weeks in the sun.
I would give this resort 7/10,higher if they sort out the damp room,smoking problem.

Room Tip: If its damp get a room change or a de-humidifier
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinnysouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Property is very nice. Rooms are spacious. We tried most restaurants and really liked the Tapas and Steak house. The weather was not great (early January) and this probably contributed to the condition of the beach - lots of seaweed! Although the staff continually cleaned up the seaweed, the constant wind kept the water stirred up and prevented any enjoyable swimming or snorkelling. Staff were very friendly. Probably because of the weather, 10 days at the resort seemed too long and we were ready to leave, even if it was returning to the snowy, cold north!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColeHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear ColeHorse,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent holidays in Punta Cana, and for taking your time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to read your stay at the Resort was misfortunate with bad weather, as mentioned on the beach our staff strives to maintain a clean are for our guests best enjoyment.

We are you received always a friendly service from our stay, we hope to have a second opportunity for a successful holiday.

Kindest regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

First time here. Like it, except for Internet which very slow with connections dropped frequently. Very hard to load any web page. I've heard lot's of complaints. Our friends with us from Canada, who have been here before say that this has been a problem.fro several years.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews