We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Our experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am writing about OUR experience at CRB the week of November 7-14.

This was our second visit to a Catalonia resort. We stayed at Catalonia Playa Maroma in Mexico. We feel that CRB really fell short in many areas compared to CPM.

Pros:
~Grounds/Landscape
~Pools
~Lounge chairs on the beach and around the pools
~Beach
There is seaweed/seagrass but the staff work really hard all day long to keep it as clean as possible.
~Water pressure/temp in the shower
~Two staff members stand out. Charlier a waiter in Thalassa and Carlos the bar tender at the swim up pool.
~Shade on the beach


Cons:
~Check-In: Manuel was checking us in when another couple walked in. He stopped helping us and asked them if they were checking in. Instead of finishing with us first

~Service: The service was lacking in all of the restaurants.

~Room: We were in villa 42 room number 4242. Horrible mattress, pillowcases are at least 6 inches too small for the pillow, lumpy smelly pillows, holes in the bedsheets, sink leaked and the faucet in the shower was loose. I brought all these issues to the attention of the front desk staff several times. The only thing that was 'fixed' was the mattress issue. I was told they would put a foam topper on the bed. Their idea of a mattress topper is a blanket. We had a dehumidifier in the room to help with the musty smell.

~Housekeeping: The maid exchanged our towels and made the bed daily and thats it. She never cleaned the bathroom or tub.....EVER. I was using clorox wipes to clean the bathroom/tub. The shower area was gross and dirty looking. We had to wear flipflops in the shower. We had a collection of dirty glasses in the room.....all week.

~Restaurants: Thalassa: This is were we ate most of our meals. One night they ran out of soup and salad.
Mexican: Once seated the waiter came over and took our order. After waiting 40 minutes for our drinks and food (which we never got) we walked out.
Italian: I ordered a Pepsi. I asked 4 different people for my drink. The waiter finally brought it over after I was done with my meal. I found this happened in most of the restaurants.

~Dress code was never enforced for men. Shorts and open toed shoes in ala carte restaurants. When I asked about it they told me because of the weather (rain) men can wear anything they want.

Food is very subjective. For the most part we found the food to be bland. Always had to add salt and pepper to everything.

I brought all of these issues to the attention of the front desk several times. I asked to speak to a manager. The girl at the front desk said she is the supervisor and that I had to speak to her.

I would like to thank the concierge (I don't remember her name) for giving us a late check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

Your comments and feedbacks are very important for us to receive. Your positive comments are much appreciated; Charlie and Carlos will be congratulated on your behalf. Regarding the setbacks presented with the room and restaurant services we apologize with for the inconvenience, we will make sure this kind of incident doesn’t repeat.

It would be an honor if you decide to give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards.
Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,946
    1,551
    590
    195
    154
See reviews for
370
4,030
84
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Catalonia Royal Bavaro for the first time in November 2012.

Pros: Great price for all-inclusive food and drinks. Nice and friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Nice pool. Good spa services. We were always able to find a front row palapa on the beach or lounger at the pool, and we did not have to wake up early to reserve a spot. We took the hobie cat out and snorkeled right off the beach.

Cons: Food was hit or miss. We found the dinners to be great, but the breakfast and lunches were just ok. We paid for a romantic dinner on the beach, and the lobster was horrible. I have never not finished an entree of lobster, but I could not finish the lobster. Later during our stay Thalassa restaurant served lobster and it was good, so we were annoyed that we paid extra money for a lobster dinner that was bad, then received free lobster that was good. So all in all the romantic dinner on the beach was a bust.

The deal breaker for us were the beds. We stayed in Villa 42, and the beds were very uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin and you could feel the springs. We complained to the front desk on Day 2 and they said they would give us a mattress pad. That afternoon we sat on the bed, and it was still hard. You could not feel the springs anymore, but the bed was still uncomfortable. We informed the front desk and they said they would send someone up. Later that night when we slept, we noticed a slight difference, but the bed still sucked. I slept ok for the remainder of the trip, but the bed was still too firm for my husband.

Overall, the resort was nice, but next time we go to Dominican Republic, we may try another resort. On the last day, my husband woke up sick with stomach issues so he must have eaten something bad that disagreed with his system. We don't know what what dish made him sick, but he felt sick for a few days after we got home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GaPeach81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your kind comments about our grounds and friendly staff. Regarding the stomach issues in some occasions the change of diet and water may cause some stomach disorders.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience we would’ve liked to be aware to assist you during your stay.

We hope to have the chance to be your choice once again in the future.

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I are just getting around to writing our review now. We traveled to the Royal Catalonia Bavaro in May 2012. First off, we would say we had blast!!!! Our first impression of our room was fantastic. We loved the bath in the room. The hammock on the deck was great. The maids did a great job re filling our fridge every day. We got room service one day for breakfast it arrived quickly and every thing was nice and hot. The food in general was great , especially at Thalssa. I didn't enjoy the food at the Italian restaurant as much but my boyfriend polished off his plate .

Drinks were good, we love the bar tender Manny in the piano bar off the lobby, he really made our vacation. My favorite night was our romantic dinner on the beach. The beach was nice but definitely get out there early to get a good spot. We snorkeled one day there wasn't a ton of fish but it was def. worth doing. We brought out some bread with us and it made a difference.

Over all, we had an amazing trip and were hopefully planning another vacation back there this May!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor! We are content to know you had a wonderful holiday at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us! We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The resort at first was amazing we stayed from Nov 9 - Nov 16 and stayed in room 4202. Staying at the Royal Bavaro gives you access to all the ammenities at the Bavaro Golf and Country Club next door. The gardens are gourgous, with lots of exotic birds and lush flowers. I liked the adults only aspect of the Royal but if I wanted a little more entertainment there was always nice excitement next door. The beach is still in the errosion process and not perfect on the Royal side but a 3 minute walk to the other side and the beach is exactly what you could ever ask for, clean sand, no weeds and lots of room to lay about.

The resturants were great as well. We ate numerous times at Tapas, Sea Blue and the Italian restaurant, never once had any issues with the food and the service was perfect. At the pool bar we had met with couple who had stayed at the Bavaro and Royal Bavaro 14 times. I completely understand why. Between Carlos and his catchy personality and Hector who would make hand squeezed lemonade for my wife who wasn't drinking alcohol, our maid for the week who took amazing care of the room, she set up the room with ballons on my wifes birthday and also helpped with the clean up when the patio flooded slightly during a freak rain storm Saturday night. The staff goes out of thier way to make sure you are happy with youre stay from the moment they greet you to the moment you leave.

My wife and I are already making plans to stay next year at the Royal Bavaro for her birthday again next year. It was our first stay at the Royal Bavaro and in Dominican Republic but will not be last. The only regret I have was not booking an Infinity pool suite when I first booked the trip. That will be a must for next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment and giving us a five star score on TripAdvisor! It’s a joy to read you had a fantastic vacation with us; it was our pleasure to create unforgettable memories!

We appreciate your kind comments about our staff they will be encouraged and congratulated on your behalf, as mentioned we will be waiting for your next visit next year!

Warm regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have just returned for the second year and am about to book for next year again,This accomodation is excellent value for money and the staff are all very friendly happy and helpfull.
I can only say that we both enjoyed our relaxing stressless time here so much that it can only be described as amazing.
Food excellnt,weather amazing,Hotel 100%.
I always said I would not return to places year after year but when you find a hotel as amazing as this it is hard not to want to return.
Food wise there is always something for everyone and the restaurant are never to busy so always plenty of food and time to relax and enjoy without being rushed.
As this hotel is adults only you can relax all day without any kids running around and screaming,although if you want to you can go next door to the sister hotel which can be as noisy as you like.
My only critisism would be of the shop which is in the complex as it is very expensive so try to avoid if possible.
The experience from the minute you arrive to the time of departure is absolutely fantastic.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to relax and have a fantastic and relaxing holiday with only food and drink for two weeks.What more could you want,
R & R Glasgow

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, and choosing us once again for your holidays! You comment proves us we achieved our goal once again to exceed your expectations; we are content to receive you kind comments and valuable feedback.

Once again thank you, we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned on Sun Nov 11th from another 2 weeks at the beautiful Royal Catalonia Bavaro. As usual it was wonderful. Wish we were still there. The staff are amazing. They are super friendly, have unbelieveable memories,and can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

Thanks again to Josep, Luis, Angela, Francisco, Julio, George, Carlos, Hector, Manuel, and all the rest of the staff whose names unfortunatley we don,t know.

The food in the Thalassa, and Tapas restaurants was excellant, and the service was also.

We met several couples from previous trips, so obviously many people think this is a wonderful vacation spot. So if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, great vacation, we highly recommend Royal Catalonia Bavaro,and we hope we are fortunate enough to return next year.


George& Judy Ontarrio, Canada

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, and choosing us once again for your holidays! Your comment proves us we achieved our goal once again to exceed your expectations; we are content to receive you kind comments and valuable feedback.

Once again thank you, we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

First, let me start by saying I spent the whole trip wondering what the h*ll some people on here were complaining about...then I realized while at the resort I could spot them a mile away, walking around with miserable smug faces while in paradise. They are probably the same people I waited on in college in restaurants who complained about everything. Anyway, enough with the negative vibes, I will break this review down into sections to be as helpful as possible.

The Rooms/Check In: We stayed in Villa 42. We adored our room, even though we were on the third floor and our view was palm trees, the point is you are never in the room except to sleep, shower, change clothes, etc. The bed, while not my orthopedic I have at home, was acceptable, we just wished for more pillows. I will give you a heads up, after there was a significant amount of rain at night during our visit, I would not suggest staying on a ground floor room. We were fortunate to be on the 3rd floor, but saw some flooding on ground floors. Our room was cleaned several times a day by the maids, and we never went without fresh towels.

Food/Drinks: This is another issue that people had that confused me. We just about loved every meal! The Blue Sea was our lunch spot, we enjoyed the California rolls, fish and chips, caprese salad and my boyfriend loved the burger here. The tapas restaurant sole entree was also excellent, as well as the tapas (the tempura veggies were awesome!). The Thalissa was our breakfast place, and if you can think it, they have it. Remember, you are not in your home country, I do not eat red meat or pork, but my boyfriend said the sausage was good but was like an American style hot dog. I loved my scramble eggs with cheese (the cheese selection is a must try as well, all very good). Dinner here was also great, I come from an Italian background so while I was not doing backflips over the risotto, it was still better than some Italian places stateside I have been to! We did not hear anything good about the Mexican or American restaurants next door, so we did not even bother and the buffet on the other side was not for us. We did go next door to have hibachi and had a great experience. It really depends on your chef and the crowd in your group. Our chef was great, but the only ones cheering and laughing with him were us and the couple next to us. For men, long pants and closed toe shoes are required at all restaurants except for the buffet (a pain, but they will not let you in if your not properly dressed). Bottom line, the food is much better from our experience on the adults only side than the family side (my only issue was the strawberry products tasting like bazooka gum, the ice cream and strawberry drink mix was a bit too sweet for me). This also rings true for the drinks, the martini bar and the main bar on the family side were great, but a trip to the poolside bar on the family side sent us running back to Carlos (best staff member!) at the main pool on the couples side. If you are still miserable with Carlos as your bartender, I consider you helpless.

We did not do any excursions outside of the resort (this was a strictly rest and relaxation trip) but other couples we met did and all found them enjoyable. We enjoyed making new friends from all over the world (if you are American, you will feel like you are in Europe/Canada for the week, but everyone we met and befriended were all wonderful people who we hope to meet again!). I was disappointed with the water at the beach, as the storm brought around a ton of seaweed but again, this is not the resorts fault (also if you are conservative, watch where you look at the beach...after spending 3 years in Europe I was not surprised by the topless sunbathing!).Also, the gift shops are a bit pricey and do not take cash. They have a "flea market" set up, and while it is a hassle, you can talk them down in price if you really love a product The key is to be open, realize that you are not at home and things will not always be as they are at home (however, we did get to watch Sunday football at the Blue Sea!). I would also like to add to be kind to the staff. These are very hard working individuals who all treated us with kindness, respect and bent over backwards to make sure we stayed smiling our entire visit (the service does not end at checkout, we had full glasses of our favorite drinks the entire hour we waited for our ride to the airport). Parting with a few dollars to show your gratitude in the form of a tip wont kill you!

Overall, we are so happy we picked this resort over the Majestic or the Riu (a chain after Mexico I vowed to never stay at again). My boyfriend and I both agreed it would be hard returning to the DR and not coming back to this resort. I beg of you, dont take my word for it (or read too much into the negative reviews) and go see for yourself!

Room Tip: spend the extra money if you can for the private villas...stay off the ground floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tds1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, and choosing us for your holidays, we are content to receive your comments and be aware our services were perfect for a successful vacation stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, Carlos will be congratulated on your behalf; of course it will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next holidays!

Kind regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing