We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frisco, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st class paradise”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night trip at Tortuga Bay. Let's just say to start off, 4 nights isn't nearly long enough, 5 would have been perfect. The resort is extremely quiet and you hardly see anyone else. There were many times we were the only couple at breakfast. The staff there is truly amazing. Jose, Juan, Francisco and our favorite bartender Rafael! Everyone is very attentive. The free kayaks were very fun, we did it everyday and got to see some great sea life! There was quite a bit more seaweed than we anticipated but they have people cleaning it all day. The restaurants that are nearby are pretty expensive, you can expect to pay anywhere from $200-$300 per dinner, but they were all very lovely and in our opinion, worth it! We did the romantic beach dinner for our 10 year anniversary and it was amazing. Do it! The staff surprised us with candle light and ride petal turndown service. They also had a warm rose petal bath waiting for is after dinner with a banner and balloons that said happy anniversary. Again, 1st class. We went to Hard Rock one night for dinner and gambling and couldn't wait to get back to our quiet, quaint resort! A trip to remember. We will definitely be back to see our friends!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennybgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Jennybgraham,


First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a "a one - of a kind Leading Experience''.


Yours sincerely,





Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    58
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
173
350
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our second stay. The first 2 years ago was wonderful...Lovely service, beautiful suite,great beach...We went with friends in JA. 2014 for our second visit. The trouble started before we arrived when we learned that our stay and our friends had been pre charged on our credit card. While this was clearly against the policy ALL attempts to rectify it failed. We were subjected to many assurances that the charges had been credited back, & they never were. After wee arrived, we protested to the manager that we were supposed to be in villas next to each other...He was argumentative, escalating and rude...But things went RAPIDLY downhill! Our friends unit was old and tired looking...unlike the very healthy roaches that were scurrying all around their fruit platter, refrigerator, night table and eventually their bed. The manager was AGAIN outrageous insisting that all of the units were "sprayed," & insect free! He insulted us wi/ an offer of a free night or two in the middle of the summer when we wld never come!! Finally he gave us a dinner and a beach barbeque ...then, on night three, moved our friends. In the end, they credited two nights of the stay to us and to our friends. It was all VERY stressful...horrible actually. We will never go there again. It wld have made a huge difference if the manager had been polite, professional and immediatly moved our friends and offered some compensation. None of that occurred without many confrontations with him, and many e-mails to our travel agent at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank 456ScreenName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. 456 ScreenName1,



First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your stay in Tortuga Bay. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest's total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay . At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in Tortuga Bay and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Fax (809) 959-8230
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent 4 days of our honeymoon here in early June 2013, will just run through the benefits sequentially:
-Customs/getting through the airport upon arriving was extremely painless, very well taken care of.
-Receive a golf cart upon arriving, which was fantastic for heading over to La Cana (neighboring private property with the spa/golf), Westin (can probably skip, still a bit under construction - although looked nice and Brasa was not a bad steak!) and La Yola/Marina (our favorite piece of travel).
-If you're going to go, get an Ocean Front villa suite (top floor) - fantastic breeze + as close to the beach as I have ever been at a hotel (see pics).
-Food at the resort was great - free breakfast (well stocked) + decent snacks menu (for beach eating) and the dinners we had at the Bamboo restaurant were FANTASTIC.
-Nice little cigar lounge/bar next to the main restaurant - they have music Thurs-Sat and Rafael (bartender) is a pretty nice guy (ask him for his cigar "tip" haha)
-Close to an "ecological reserve" which was kind of cool but ultimately can probably be missed (the local kids hang out there a bit and do some diving).
-La Yola is fantastic for a meal - recommend getting there a bit early if on Fri-Sat, otherwise think you can go whenever and get great service. Ceviche in particular was a highlight.
-Spa was nice but ultimately a tad forgettable - the bar at La Cana right next to the spa is quite nice though, so do check that out.
-The 9 at Arrecife (La Cana) is a fun play if you want a quick bit of fun (the Tortuga 9 was closed when we were there, would recommend that one if it's open). Don't miss Corales if you are a serious golfer, beautiful/well-appointed golf course with virtually no traffic...

A few cons (very minor in the scheme of things...)
-We had a few nights where we woke up with some nastyyy bug bites all over our legs - presume they were some of the little guys that had snuck into the bed. That was unpleasant but oh well.
-Be aware that it gets to be a fairly pricey trip if you plan on enjoying yourself at dinner/otherwise - as a frame of reference, we roughly came out at ~45% of room bill in dinner/extras over 4 days.

Overall, fantastic place to go for some peace and quiet - as long as you can afford it!

Room Tip: Believe the 1-bedroom "Villas" are the top floor options, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdriggs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Bdriggs ,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .



Vincenzo Calcerano
GERENTE GENERAL TORTUGA BAY
809.959.8229 Ext.7220
MOBILE:829.797.1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Starting with its exquisite dinning options, Tortuga Bay Hotel offers all the amenities couples, family and friends are looking for in a perfect stay. Ideal place for people to enjoy a wonderful experience. Come visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eloisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mrs. Eloise,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Welcome to paradise is the greeting one receives when they arrive at Tortuga Bay. The experience is extraordinary from the time that you are picked up on the tarmac at the airport until the time you are left in the VIP lounge before you leave. (Avoiding all the crowds) Everything is simply perfect. The staff is wonderful even when something goes wrong everyone smiles and works as hard as they can to make it right. It's an experience that well exceeds anything we've ever enjoyed in the Caribbean. The golf is fabulous, rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious.
It's all pulled together by the extraordinary manager Vincenzo Calcerano who oversees all with a European flair that's unmatched in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The upstairs junior suites vary some with An outdoor Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Sandra G,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from you about Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you another“ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience.

Your sincerely


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I escaped NYC and popped down to Tortuga bay a couple weeks ago. Let me start by saying this...this is the first Trip Advisor review I have ever written...from the moment we got off the airplane there was a nice lady waiting for us at the bottom of the steps of the plane who whisked us off in a golf cart and whisked us right through customs...it's worth taking that option when booking. We were in our room in about 30 minutes after touch down. The resort is impeccable. Clean, a friendly welcome, and people who obviously care about how they way to represent their business and their home country. Thinking about it, I am pretty sure every villa has some sort of ocean view, but it is really worth booking the "Ocean Front Villa". The beach is nice, and we ordered lunch on the beach every day (go with the Wagyu burger). We had our own golf cart and they gave us a phone so that we could call our Villa Manager at any time during the day (to book restaurant reservations for that night etc)...activities included beach, snorkeling (fun, lots of fish), ecological reserve (cool natural lagoons to dive into), and Seg Way through the forest/petting zoo. We had a blast! I will be sending friends and we can't wait to return. Have fun!

Room Tip: ocean view villa worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. HJ,


We appreciate that you took the time to write a review on tripadvisor to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a "a one - of a kind Leading Experience''.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bra, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Impeccable service, great food, SO clean -- and an unbeatable beach with countless activities. Snorkeling, ecological reserve, petting zoo...during the day. The spa was phenomenal. The Westin and other hotels are easily accessible (not that you'll ever want to leave Tortuga Bay!) We didn't golf but the course was gorgeous. Honestly, nothing beat breakfast by the pool and a day lounging on the beach just walking on the sand. For a real vacation, this is the best you can ask for!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiceifilikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear , Mr. / Mrs. Twiceifilikeit,



We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club family.

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay and give you another" One- of a- kind Leading experience".


Your sincerely



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,833 reviews
11.6 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
14.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,290 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing