We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service, mediocre food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The villas are amazing and huge. We always had staff catering to our every need - maybe too attentive at times. The spa was not a spa and the massages were inferior. The village in town was a joke (no people), but nice store. We are at least 30 minutes away from restaurants and other hotels. The PADI dive operation was sketchy and not up to snuff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Kipl,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Your sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 636 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've had the benefit of traveling extensively to beautiful places for pleasure and it is not often that I rank a resort with such high remarks. My daughter got married at the Iberostar Grand with 40 guests a few weeks ago and I knew I'd want a place that was quiet and relaxing after all of the craziness of the wedding. Tortuga Bay was PERFECT! It is definitely the WOW factor for someone wanting to chill, relax, have no one to bother you, etc. The service was outstanding...everyone knew us in the short 2 night stay. The grounds were fabulous, the beach was quiet, a very long beautiful stretch, and was fantastic. The villas are decorated beautifully...as I would call it, casual elegance. High ceilings, canopy bed, large deck to enjoy the stars. We ordered room service both nights and that was the best room service I have ever had. The steak was perfectly cooked as well as everything else. We ate breakfast every morning which was included and that was awesome. We so much enjoyed taking the golf cart around and enjoying the beautiful scenery. The entire resort is pristine...the crew was cleaning up the entire beach every morning. They know how to treat their guests and I am a huge fan now. Thank you Tortuga Bay for helping me to decompress after the wedding!!

Room Tip: The oceanfront villas would be my first choice but we still had a very nice view with the ocean view...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Bug,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment your plane arrives when you are picked up by a cart next to the ladder, until you are taken back to the airplane for your flight home you are pampered by your personal consierges or managers. You can litterally just call and ask for what you would like. Apart of playing golf in some of the most beautiful golf courses you come back to your private villa put your bathing suit on and walk only about 30 meters onto the beatiful Carebean beach. You can after head in your private golf cart to one of the many very good restaurants which were reserved by your manager.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salomon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Salomon ,

On behalf of our team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to write to me and comment on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay.

Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with my team members!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “a one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently went to Punta Canta on a big family trip. We started our vacation staying here. The condo was beautiful and situated idealistically right on the beach. Well kept. Very friendly staff. The actual grounds of the resort could use some major work. The first day we were a bit un-nerved by the groundskeepers holding machetes and a run down, vacant looking area of the resort. But the all inclusive breakfast, convenient golf karts, and beautiful restaurants make up for it. The beach is beautiful, however, it is definitely made for couples or more low key groups. If you are looking for lots of music, drinking on the beach, and water sports, good waves, that scene isn't here. However, you can go through this jungle on the resort and swim in beautiful natural spring water ponds, you can rent fishing poles, there is a beautiful golf course, you could go on sunset sails, etc...

To wrap it all up and conclude my review, I would say if you want a calm, quiet beach, and just enjoy the company of the people around you-these villas are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhiannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Rhiannon,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the third year in a row that my wife and I have stayed at Tortuga Bay. They literally whisk you through the aiprort when you land. Upon arrival they give you a golf cart and a cell phone dialed directly to your Villa Manager. It is a small, quaint resort with all of the rooms within 50 yards of the ocean. You can get anywhere on the property in mere minutes. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food at Bamboo restaurant is wonderful. From the Wagyu steaks, duck, risotto and especially the whole Snapper caught locally. Two beautiful and challenging golf courses are tied to the resort. Corales Golf Course is a close second to Pebble Beach with its finishing holes. At the attached La Cana Beach and Golf Club they have a great outdoor restaurant with spectacular views. The spa is top notch with their Signature Massage rounding out the perfect stay. The staff is friendly with minimal turnover. Everyone remembers our names from prior visits. Hats off to Vincenzo Calcerano and his staff. They are friendly and welcoming. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Mark,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Tortuga Bay Punta Cana is a refined, intimate, exclusive, luxury hotel, with a wide beach (a rare thing in Costa del Coco). This is not an all-inclusive resort as the Punta Cana’s tourists are used to. The hotel is a mix of tropical luxury and Dominican hospitality ideal for bon viveurs, for golf lovers, as well as for honeymooners. To stay in one of 15 villas designed by the famous Oscar de la Renta is a dream come true. I really enjoyed the elegant rooms, decorated in a colonial style in soft colors of white, beige, yellow, green and salmon, all in perfect harmony with the green tropical vegetation. It’s a great feeling to be able to drink your perfect Dominican coffee on your terrace and admire the lovely view of the ocean and the private white beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Eturia,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am a business traveler so I have fairly high expectations when I travel. I read Trip Advisor reviews but have never felt compelled to write a review until staying at Tortuga Bay(TB). Leading up to this vacation, I cant tell you how excited I was based on the reviews. Here a few of the highlights; airport service...its all real...while the masses are shuttled through like cattle, we were picked up on the tarmac in a golf cart...10 minutes later we had our luggage and were in a van on the way to TB, another 10 minutes later we were in the lobby...unreal. The Villa Manager service was awesome; Belkie provided the kind of service I have only seen on Life Styles of the Rich and Famous. Loved having our own golf cart to get around. Our room was spacious, comfortable and cleaned meticulously (and straightened up again with the turn-down service). Corales Golf Club was Grade A;. After logging 43 of the top 100 golf course in the US I found the newest member of my top 5 in Corales Golf Club. Great service, caddy program was amazing, food was amazing, and the views and condition...I thought I was in a tropic Cypress Point. Wifi, everywhere....even on the beach...cigars, plenty and fresh. Juan, Miguel and Manuel and the team at Bamboo (continental breakfast) were amazing, great way to start and end the day One morning I asked for coconut water....2 minutes later someone climbed a tree and got me fresh cocnut watert...no joke. These guys could not have been more friendly, I can honestly tell you that I will miss their company. I had the pleasure to meet the Manager of the facility, Mr. Vincent Calcerano. Truly a gentleman who is running an amazing program and I cant speak highly enough about the new meaning of service that I learned on this trip. Top of the line service while some how not feeling pushy. My wife enjoyed two trips to the spa, again good service, impeccably clean and friendly. I hadn't been on a dive in a good few years, Marc and his team at the dive shop made me so comfortable that I did two amazing dives. I have been on dives in the past where they are just trying to make a few bucks. instead we worked on getting comfortable and had a once in a life time experience...Thank you Marc and team for getting my sea lungs back. The ecological park was enjoyable as well. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic, relaxing retreat with first class service, golf and spa then TB is the place for you

Room Tip: Get a room with the outdoor tub, great way to end a day!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandmanfromphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Sandaman,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience .

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
11.6 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,860 reviews
14.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,312 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
11.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $172 - $1,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing