We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5 for 5 and ready for 6th visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“5 for 5 and ready for 6th visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I had to write this after seeing the recent review were things were described as "awful"
Cant believe that is written by a true guest (maybe a competitor?)

If you have an issue with anything at this hotel, the villa manager will be right there to get it resolved if possible (some guests may be impossible to please!)

My wife and I will be making our 6th visit to TBH in November over the past 3 years. I travel the world for business and I use our time here for absolute relaxation and challenging golf.

The management and staff at TBH are what make this a super place to visit. We cant wait to go back next month. 25/30% of the guests are returnees which shows why it is so highly rated on this site.

If you can, go play golf next door at Cap Cana's punta espada (correctly rated #1 course in Carribean/Mexico). Much cheaper if you go and play from 2pm on). Also consider going to dinner at Mitre one night there just to walk around the Cap Cana Marina.

Another day trip is to go up north 1 hour and do the dune buggy ride on Macau beach (first there 30 years ago when I was a Peace Corps Vol. in the DR).

Have fun here and enjoy the DR!

dd

Room Tip: get ocean front villa and choose the second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
12th October 2011

Greeting from all the team members

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in November, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    53
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
153
315
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Everything that could go wrong went wrong! We were given a dirty bug infested room, and it took 4 day after we had first complained about it before the manager came to see the room. They then downgraded us to a smaller room and would not reinburse the difference. We will not be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
30rd of September 2011

Greeting from Tortuga Bay,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us through Trip advisor why your stay at the Tortuga Bay did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve every maintenance issue, you must understand we are in the tropics and it is extremely difficult to control mother nature.

Would you please give me more information about your stay; In which villa did you stay in July to identify the staff involved. You mentioned you have spoken to the General Manager, I don’t recall or have any record of the incident my email is vcalcerano@puntacana.com.


I wish to make my best attempt in regaining your confidence in our hotel and I would like to invite you to Tortuga Bay for 3 days anytime at your convenience, depending on availability and experience the 5 star feeling you certainly deserve to have.

We have already evaluated how we can prevent these problems from occurring again in the future.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconvenience we have caused you. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a happy guest.

It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and will hope to serve you again soon.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were at this wonderful resort last November and were so happy we are going back with our entire family in a month. We are golfers so getting the golf experience and playing at the Corales was a treat...a beautiful course along the ocean. The staff at Tortuga is very nice and helpful and speak better English than at other resorts at Punta Cana. Getting off and on the plane (customs, security) is very easy with the hotel's help. Breakfasts are very good. The exercise area could use more equipment but isn't used that much. The biggest issue here is getting hot water in our room...a continuing issue. Dinner at the hotel is pleasant enough but if you want more easygoing take your golf cart to the adjacent punta cana resort or for a nice view dinner at the marina.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjjja97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
24th September 2011

Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just returned from Tortuga Bay last night . We are going to Tortuga for 3 years now. I was very concerned & scared of hurricane Irene, so we called hotel and were told not to worry, weather was perfect. Few hours later we got a call from general manager Mr. Vincenzo Calcerano. Wow !!! That is what I call "superb customer service". He told us,that DR is safe to travel , there is no rain or storm etc. Whatever he said was true,indeed. Mr.Vincenzo is most efficient ,professional, multilingual general manager. Also a very pleasant gentleman. Whenever he met us on the property, he made sure we were happy and satisfied with everysingle thing. I can't describe romantic dinner by the beach he planned for us !!!! I cried , it was fabulous !!!!!!!!! It takes THE perfect manager to run this perfect hotel with it perfect team.We stayed a week, enjoyed every second and we are already planning next trip with family & friends. Food was great too. We always had lunch in Bamboo. Most of the dinners -in Italian restaurant mamma LUISA in the Village as every year. Villa managers are always doing great job. Thank you everybody. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
17th September 2011



Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We planned a large (18 person) family trip and chose Tortuga Bay. We had 3 three bedroom villas on the beach that were impeccable. They are furnished well and were clean and well kept. The staff is attentive to every need and could not have been more helpful or nicer. For example, our children asked for beach toys...and were given these as well as tubes, snorkels, bicycles, etc.....without our involvement. The golf carts for resort transportation are a lot of fun and contribute to the experience. The property is huge, with great jogging trails and views. Activities we enjoyed were the ecological reserve (swimming in the water 'ponds') and the segway tours. We did not play golf, but heard from others it was also excellent.

Only two issues. First, although the beach looks great it always seems to get plants (algae), and there are areas with coral that hurt to walk in the water if you are not careful. Second, we enjoyed their breakfast restaurant Bamboo (which is great), and the Grill (for lunch), but we did not enjoy dinner at either Franco (pizza/Italian) or La Yola (seafood). La Yola food was just ok but very overpriced. The resort did provide free transportation to a nice shopping area where there were three pretty good restaurants. The best was Mama Luisa's.

Overall it is a very quiet, secluded 5 star resort where we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amlianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
17th September 2011



Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield hills, mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Tortuga Bay is beautiful. The grounds are lovely. The rooms are very beautiful and spotless. The staff was incredible...Beddy at the bar was amazing. He was friendly and worked hard every minute on the job...as did all of the people who worked at this beautiful resort. The were attentive and extrememly friendly. It is very quiet here. We would come back however, we would stay only 7 days instead of 10. There is not a lot to do. There is not a lot of variety at the restaurants and with their menus so the food got to be a bit tiresome...It was excellent...but, by day 8..we would have liked more variety.
The best part of our day was heading over to the bar at the pool for happy hour with our friendly waiters...starting with Beddy...they made our day!
The BIG negative at this resort was the very unfriendly manager, Vincenzo. He had zero personality with the people paying thousands of dollars staying at his hotel. The atmosphere and mood of his employees would TOTALLY change as he walked into the area...it was SOOO sad. He was a very miserable man. We are considering coming again this April, however, the only thing that is stopping me is that I swore I would never go back to Tortuga Bay because of this groucy man!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elise007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at
Tortuga Bay on the Trip Advisor website.


I am very proud to hear that your experience at Tortuga Bay was
excellent and of course I will share these comments with my team.

Concerning myself, I truly regret not being able to meet your
expectations, but I assure you that on your next visit, I will do my
best to be more sympathetic and exceed your expectations.

At the same time, I want to share with you that I have been working at
Tortuga Bay for the past 5 years and have been successful in creating
this incredible team. I appreciate your comments regarding my persona
and hope to be able to improve upon your impression of me at your next
visit.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in
April!

Warm regards,

Vincenzo Calcerano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

After three nights spent in the sister Punta cana resort & club we moved to Tortuga Bay for a week.
Comments about food,sea and landscape are the same of the ones I put on the comment made for Punta Cana resort & club. If you stay in Tortuga Bay you can go also to the Bamboo Restaurant that is a beautiful restaurant set in the middle of the Hotel, close to the swimming pool, gym and Jacuzzi. Great breakfast waits for you each morning and if you want to spend more than in the other restaurants of the complex you can find elegant dinner and good lunch.
Rooms are actually very nice villas most of them ocean front, very well appointed, with beautiful patio where table, chairs and sun beds find place. Housekeeping is great and the villa manager can help you in everything.
We enjoyed each moment spent here using bikes, cart and kayak that come with the accomodation. The only thing but, it is obviously not fault of the Hotel, was the beach, hit by a strange storm of seaweeds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2016
Dear Mrs. Daniela T,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#4 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 4,443 reviews
10.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
26.5 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#1 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
10.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
12.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing