We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punta Cana trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #69 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I just returned from Punta Cana with a group of 9 people, 4 rooms. The hotel is very nice but don't think it's a five start resort. The food was good but it was the same food every night. The steak house steak had a wonderful taste (the best I probably ever tasted) but it was so tough you couldn't chew it. We had three people in our room & they gave us a room with a king size bed & a pull out sofa. When we asked for a room with 2 beds, they offered us a room with a couch that was ripped beyond repair and had no fabric on the cushions. The hotel manager suggested we lay towels down. After a brief discussion they did change our room to one with a great view. The wait staff wasn't very attentive, but there were a few that made our trip wonderful, Samuel & Valerio were great and made our drinks as we ordered. The beach is amazing and worth the trip back to Punta Cana. We also did the Dr. Fish excursion, which I would highly recommend. It is worth every penny of the $154 charge. This was the highlight of our trip. The night life is non-existent. They have a daily show that lasts about an hour & a live band plays a while before & after the live show. The live show isn't really live, it's lip synced and they had to start & restart it a few times. The drinks were not very strong & unless you asked for alcohol, they didn't put any in your drink and they were very warm. When we asked for frozen drinks, we got a drink with a few ice cubes. A couple with us had issues with their maid(s), they believe they were eating their food they brought from home and going through their clothes, in fact, they believe they tried on a few of their dresses. I may return to Punta Cana but I don't think I would return to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa3074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 5,178 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is no where near a 5 star hotel it is more of a 2 star, I went with my family we stayed in 3 rooms one of which was a suite. My parents had their safe robbed losing around 2000 dollars together...and management was extremely rude and did nothing for them. In all the regular rooms there is no lock on the door, any maid or drink refill man can use their keys to get in any time (no bar latch)and walk in regularly even with a "don't come in reply". The staff was extremely rude and not helpful ever, except the staff by the beach and pool. the buffet was decent although the food was the same everyday. The specialty restaurants are a joke, you have to wake up early and book them all or else you can eat there and the food is horrible at all of them, that you end up going to the buffet after anyways. Also not a lot of night activities. The water sport kiosk that they have scammed us by charging us higher then everyone else and lied about what we were getting, he said we were going to a coral reef for snorkeling and a catamaran trip and private beach. But we only got catamaran 1/2 way and the way back was speed boat, with no snorkeling, with a bad beach.
Please do not waste your money or time on this hotel, and if you go don't leave young girl unattended the employees do not know boundaries and act inappropriately.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katerina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We was in this hotel for one week. Amazing!!!, enterteiment was good, Mr. Cartier and his boys were very funny and these gays work pretty hard for the customers. Food was good too. In the buffet they have many food options. They have a server, his name is Joel, good person and better profesional in his job.
Congratulationa to all workers in the hotel. Hightly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rolando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

first time in a RIU hotel

Booked this as it looked big bright and good beach.
From stepping out of the private taxi to checking in was excellent
rooms were large (didn't upgrade ) spotless bedding excellent we were on the back of the hotel but had a bit more privacy we thought than pool facing or by the main walk way.

Restaurants exquisite food for every body never had a complaint even the fussiest of eaters could find something.
breakfast was excellent omelettes my fav made fresh.

Joseph our morning waiter always greeted with a smile and new when you needed a 2nd pot of tea
all the guys were good but we had our favourite
.
patio eating was excellent and Rubi the manager was above and beyond helpful
My husband took a shine to the champagne and he always got a good smile from Rubi.

pool guys again never without a drink they walk some miles to serve every body if yr on a lounger in the small pool .

Beach loved it no hassle no beggars no pushy sellers only Jesus and his work colleges with drinks on trays shouting Dr-inky Dr-inky

rooms cleaned daily and turned down nightly that was lovely.
Sports bar was excellent used it quite a bit which is unusual for me as i don't like the noise of any foot ball.

this was an excellent holiday had no trouble with tummy's or sickness

entertainment was excellent the guys round the pool made it big thanks
.
Water if you wonted water they brought you fresh glass with ice every time also on the beach the guys carried a tray of fresh water .

Please ignore negative review we have been to Dom rep 5 times and different hotels and not suffered any thing.

Thompson rep he was the best again went above and beyond it was our anniversary and my husband arranged with him to get tickets for Julio engasius concert tickets
which he did in his lunch hour.

We also liked the way the Management came down and had there evening meals in the main restaurant .
we also noticed how the staff were laughing and joking with the managers this reflected in the attitude to the guests from the staff .

met some lovely people from america Mrs Vegas new York Kentucky and good old Scotland

we will use a riu again and again and hope its as good as this 1 was.
we weresad to leave but will be back xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: we had room 1154 on the back of the hotel but we found it more private as people went walking past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lorrainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our first time in the Dominican Republic. Riu Palace gave us a very warm welcome, especially Erik O. The fun buffets were special by the friendly staff, kudos to Miguel and the ladies. The swim-up bar was a hoot and the pools were great, especially the big round pool. Expecting the sea to be calmer-more like the Gulf Coast of Florida, but it was more like the Atlantic off the Florida coast. The nightly entertainment was very good as we danced every night. We highly recommend the Riu Palace for a wonderful vacation spot and would definitely return again….We were treated like King and Queen….It was my hubbys birthday and they went the extra mile in our room plus the dining room with a cake and a bubble bath with flowers..It was totally an awesome experience…Love and miss you all …Bon and Tom..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile


Pros
Welcoming staff- shaggy and Garcia were great!
Swim up bar was very fun
Buffet was the best to eat at
Bartenders brought you drinks on the beach
Room was very big


Cons
Pool was very warm- probably swimming in everyone's pee
Staff was overly flirtatious
Maid skipped a few days on our room
Steak house is horrible
Not much to do at night- nightclub on Caribbean street isn't fun, they only play Spanish music

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Mel_blair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from the Riu Palace and enjoyed 11 nights here. We stayed in room 1049 on the second floor overlooking the fountains and near to the pool area. We found the room very clean although the decor a little tired. Our room was always cleaned well and our fridge restocked daily.
We tried all the speciality restaurants and found the steakhouse and the Brazilian our least favourite but enjoyed Krystal and the Italian restaurant. Our main gripe was you had to book for these and they only have two sittings 6.30pm, too early and 9pm a little late. We preferred the buffet as you could choose what time to eat and there was always a good choice. The main restaurant was very busy at breakfast and not always the greatest breakfast although a lot of choice.
The beach is fantastic lots of sun beds and plenty of
shade under the palm trees.You can walk for miles in either direction and the "drinkey drinkey" guys come round all the time offering drinks so you don't even need to leave your sun bed..
The pool is large and very warm, again the waiters are always on hand to bring drinks. In the late afternoon the swim up pool bar gets very noisy with loud americans drinking and shouting at one another and some days this was a bit if a pain..
We did one trip the segway which was good fun and nice to see the Caribbean side of the island and you get to ride along a deserted beach.
The nightly entertainment was good and the animation team work very hard. All in all we enjoyed our stay, the staff work very hard and despite what people say about the tipping we didn't tip until the end of our holiday and still found we received very good service throughout. The main language is spanish but the staff all speak very good english. We were surprised during our stay how few English guests were staying at the hotel but it didn't stop us enjoying our holiday.


Don't listen to the negatives go to the Riu Palace and enjoy......



Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#56 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#40 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#75 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#65 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,155 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
2 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#63 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $192 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 40 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing