We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful :]” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful :]”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

About 15 friends went on this trip together through Cheap Caribbean. The host from CC was so helpful and always available. The hotel was beautiful! Our room was always clean and cool. We went in October and the humidity was so high that it was miserable going outside unless you were at the ocean or pool. Entertainment was fun and staff was good. Food was pretty good for a resort. We went on a couple of excursions and a town trip. Town trip was horrible with the children begging for dollars and wouldn't leave us alone. But catamaran was fun and fishing. The only complaint I would have is that there wasn't much of a "night life". When the day cooled off, our group was ready to "party". But there wasn't anything or anywhere available on the premises. With a little improvement on this, this place would be perfect. Remember..don't drink the water or brush your teeth with the tap water (they provide huge fresh water bottles every day), but drinks and ice at the bars and restaurants are safe.

Room Tip: Our room was closer to the beach and facing the water fountains. A/C wonderful, rooms comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Underwood4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    1,415
    713
    359
    299
See reviews for
1,265
2,206
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I'm on the fence on whether I would stay at this location again. I had heard nothing but good things about Riu properties from relatives who've stayed in Jamaica & Aruba, so when they suggested this location, I was ok with the decision. However, reading the reviews made me terrified. No one wants to go on vacation & deal with illness or roaches crawling all over the rooms. But I decided to ignore the reviews & make the best of it & decide for myself.

The staff:
Everyone I came in contact with was very polite. From check in/out, cleaning staff, room service, pool bar, restaurants, etc. I have no complaints at all.

Food:
Because this wasn't my 1st time in DR, I was hoping to get if not the same, at least a similar experience that I had when I visited last year. While all of the food I ate was good, the selections were very minimal. One night we made reservations at the Yokohama Restaurant. All of the food that was served was basically the same food that I'd eaten on the buffet the night before, but it was still good nonetheless.

Entertainment:
They all did a good job. Every day they offered something different & entertaining. One night they had a game show with audience participation. The Michael Jackson show on another night was AWESOME! The lady who was the instructor for pool aerobics was very nice & likeable.

Exterior/Lobby/Restaurants:
One word...GORGEOUS!!!

Rooms:
This is where the problem for me lies. One you step into the hotel you are mesmerized by the beautiful decor, but as soon as you step into your room, it’s like you went from a palace to a motel 6. Rooms need major renovation. The bed spreads were not clean & very outdated. I stripped the bed before sleeping on it for fear they had bed bugs. You literally need a step ladder for the tub/bath combo. Not to mention there was hair in the tub when we 1st got there. Fortunately, we didn't have a roach problem like some of the other reviewers but our bathroom did have an ant problem. The room smelled of mildew. I don't know if it’s the products they're using when they mop the rooms or if I became immune to it because the smell went away on day 2.

With all that said, once the rooms are renovated & they get a better selection of food, I would probably go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NShields111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

You have to remember you are in a third world country, so food and service quality will be inconsistent. At this hotel it ranges from excellent to horrible, you can experience both on the same day. Service can get very casual, so tip often, its is expected and usually helps. First impression of food was absolutely horrible, we arrived between meals and the only place you could eat around 4pm is a sports and snack bars. I thought food at the gas stations back in the US was the worst experience but man, was I wrong. I wouldnt feed my cat with the food they had in a sports bar,it was that disgusting. The best place to eat is the buffet, food there is fresh and fairly diverse. Dont even bother booking one of the a-la-cart restaurants, they have very limited menu,food will be essentially the same but tastes like it was cooked yesterday, you'll have to ask for salt , pepper etc and wait for the things you could have gotten yourself at the buffet much quicker. Alcohol for the most part is watered down. White wine tasted like acetone. Overall, its a decent, well planned but very outdated hotel with old smelly furniture in rooms and in restaurants . There are dirt stains on the the walls of the room. We expected mildew and dampness in the rooms and asked to be on the third floor, but it didnt help much. What helped with the smell was actually NOT running the ac or ceiling fan because they made the smell worse and most of stinch came from the vent shaft. Just before embarking on this trip we read a few reviews about cockroach problems(it was too late to change plans at that point), so I brought a spray can of cockroach repellent that I used on the first day spraying all corners and door ways. Sure enough, next morning we found a dead cockroach about 2" long. That experience alone could ruin any vacation. Sleeping with an open balcony was ok but up to about midnight music from the neighbor hotel was blasting every evening. There was also occasional construction noise sometimes up to 11 pm. There is a shortage of beach towels, so get them early in the morning. There is no umbrellas on the beach, only palm trees. Entertainment is boring but that was the least of our concerns. The verdict is-if you can go to a nicer hotel- I would avoid this one.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this place tremendously. Cleanliness is tops, food at the buffet enjoyable for the taste buds as well as the eye, choices very well balanced. The restaurants that need reservation, e.g. the Krystal and the Steak House, nice service, the food nothing special though.
Important for us is a sandy beach with palm tree shade, no palappas to obstruct the view and that is what we got. Plenty of beach chairs available.
Quiet place, nice evening live music on The Plaza having a drink or cappuccino. Very attentive service, again.
Around the pool a bit more lively in the p.m. games take place then.

It was our third time there, no regrets at all. Weather was just fine.

A/c in rooms quiet and no problem with adjusting it. Nice balcony with chairs and table and laundry rack.

Room Tip: Our room had the view to the pool area and
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uebung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Amazing hotel !
The waiters around the pool are fab at keeping your drinks topped up, entertainment staff are friendly and put a smile on your face!
The food was good especially the Italian and steak house!
We booked this resort as our honeymoon and the staff there made it one to remember!!
The beach is beautiful and grounds of the hotel are maintained daily, our room was cleaned everyday with plenty of fresh towels and decorated with balloons and towel designs daily. This hotel suited us because we could relax when we wanted to but also join in on the activities trough out the day if we wanted, the entertainment team worked none stop to ensure everyone was having a good time and the shows during the evening were good too, plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel to enable you to have a different night each night.
Don't listen to bad reviews !!! Yes there is a smell in your room but leave air con on throughout the day, we didn't see a single bug in our room, and we didn't have upset stomachs !! Enjoy your holiday we did!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRSEK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The RIU palace Punta Cana gets
an A+
Beautiful grounds, attentive, friendly staff, good food.... Lovely all around!
Beautiful beach, everything kept perfectly clean. Great drinks and entertainment . Games, water aerobics, yoga to participate in if you care to.Would return there!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathypb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked this hotel through THOMSON 30/08/13 to 11/09/13. The worst RIU hotel i've been too and I've been to a few. Hotel is dated, needs a good clean, rooms smell of dampness this transfers onto your clothes. So many things went wrong i would be here all night to list them but overall the FOOD, ENTERTAINMENT, DRINKS and OVERALL state of the place is not a 4 star plus.
Bag got damaged on flight over, Rep at hotel was useless to say the least, more interested in selling tours. Was given a Junior room for 3 adults that should have been 2 double beds, No, got one double and a sofa bed, so the sitting area was taken up by the bed, asked for a move, got sent to another room at the back of the hotel which was not made up and was that damp the floor was wet through.
The entertainment staff do the same old dance every night but in different clothing, The local drinks are undrinkable, The food and drinks combined gives you stomach ache which i had for 6 days.
In flight entertainment was not working going back, spoke to one of the cabin crew who didn't want to know, so had to shut up and put up with it.
I have since brought this to the attention of Thomson who took 2 months to reply and basically said they have no record of it and wouldn't be doing anything about the whole stay, so when they've got your money they don't want to know, Will not be booking with Thomson again.

In all there's much better hotels for less, Be warned DO NOT GO!.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel for a start
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#49 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
1.4 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing