We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #63 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Over all, we had a GREAT time, we had just 3 issues.
1)One of the two elevators was broke the whole time we were there and of course we were on the third floor and at the opposite end of the other elevator.
2)They only had 3 ice machines, and again they didn't have one on our floor. We had to go to the first or second floors to get ice and most of the time there was no ice to be had. Hard to make cocktails without ice.
3)Finally, and I WAS not happy. We had to use the same beach towel for 3 days. Every time we went to get a fresh one, they were out. On our last day there, we had to stand in line for over half hour to get a fresh towel. We did try to dry them out by hanging them on the railing of our balcony, but with the humidity they didn't dry.
The staff was wonderful!! Raul was the greatest waiter, he looked for us every morning. The waiters on the beach were very attentive always there when we needed a fresh drink.
I liked our room, it did smell a like musty, but I always bring a candle and burn it when ever we are in our room(which wasn't much).
Like I said at the begining, we had a great time. Not going to let no elevator,ice or fresh towel ruin our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meema59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    1,355
    670
    341
    291
See reviews for
1,191
2,115
69
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We just got back from our stay at the RIU Palace Punta Cana. A great vacation for my wife and I. We traveled April 8th - 15th.

We have stayed in other resorts in Punta Cana before, first time at the Palace and thought it was better than the others.

I feel some of the bad reviews are justified to some extent, but others aren't. But, not everyone can be pleased.
Most of the time, I felt any bad experiences could have been eliminated by the visitors, not the resort.


Staff/Service: Friendly reception, maids, staff, bartenders, waiters, etc. The only few workers that appeared to be rude or not be as pleasant, were the ladies working the desk at the SPA and one guy taking dinner reservations. This wasn't a one-time problem either. Happened on a couple occasions.
We tipped occasionally and everyone seemed grateful for it (not expected). I left coloring books, crayons, markers and pencils for our Maid one day (she had kids) and she was just overly thankful for the kid gift.

Cleanliness: The whole resort was non-stop cleaned and maintained from what I saw. Usually, if I saw anything that needed to be cleaned up, it was because of a sloppy tourist that could have prevented it in the first place.
We only had them clean our room 3 or 4 times in our week stay. Why waste towels? Did a great job cleaning and also liked the turn-down service at night.

Beach: It is the main reason to come to Punta Cana. Not the resorts! So, why complain so much about them. The beach wasn't over-crowded and we could find beach chairs eventually. Too many people reserve them way ahead and then NOT use them. This happened at the pool also. The drink service was nice.

Drinks: Was pleased over-all. Made them strong enough and kept them coming. Also, I never had an empty wine glass at dinner. Mama Juanna wasn't that good at the resort that we tried. Better off the resort.

Food: Every time I went to the buffet for lunch or dinner, I found something new to try and I always found something that I liked. Some items seemed a bit bland, but come on, they are trying to please EVERYONE from so many different countries. We ate at the Japanese and La Altagracia restaurants and were happy with our meal. We were a bit hungry after our Japanese meal (6:30pm), so we went to the buffet again around 9pm. :-)

Room: We had a top floor room facing north. Not much smell, but again, it is Tropical location. Also, your bring up your wet suits, towels and sandals and if you leave them in the room... it will smell a bit. Can't help that. We did bring a little Febreeze with us to play it safe. Used it a couple of days. Liquor and Fridge were stocked every other day. If I needed more water, I just stopped and asked for it. Remember though, not everyone speaks English... they may just be polite and smile and nod... but never get what you need.
The safe latch broke one day, but I saw a maintenance man a floor down and knew enough Spanish to get him up to fix it within minutes. Tipped him nicely and he was happy too.
The keys are a bit of a pain, 2 keys (room and safe) and 1 is on a plastic paddle. I brought my own elastic wristband and put them on there. Worked great, plus, then no one can steal your key with the room number already on the paddle.

Towels: Went to get towels an few times and they didn't have any. Other than that, had no issues. Too many people leave their towels on pool chairs all day (even in rain) and not use them. Then, when the rain stops, turn them in to get fresh ones... leaving a short supply.

Over-All: I loved the resort, more than other resorts that cost a whole lot more. Some issues, but they were minor. Most issues were the fault of other guests and NOT the resort. We would recommend coming here and we may return again.

Room Tip: Higher floor room - less noise, less humidity, etc... We had the top floor facing North, half way b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FunCouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouffville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Bring Peso's - not American
We had a fantastic time, good food, clean resort, perfect size. more for adults - the night shows showed a little too much skin for under 18 in my opinion. Pay a little more for closer to the ocean worth it. Also ask for above ground level.
Saona Island was great full day trip-bring some money
Canopy Zip line - just zipline - 1/2 day amazing experience - some climbing of a mountain required but not too hard.Bring runners
Fishing - end of March - was terrible - caught 2 fish but spent most of the time laying on the floor for 3 hours - seen the movie "the perfect storm" we survived- asked to go in but huge language barrier!!!

Room Tip: closer to the beach - ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melb31571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

We stay there April 9 to the 14 Riu palace is very nice and big, food was good, other then the pizza, the rooms nice and clean did not smell this bad smell people are talking about ,but I was on the 2 nd floor rooms were cleaned everyday, the pool was great pool bar was better , workers always joking with us, every where you looked there was workers always cleaning the grounds cutting the grass, they work 24/7 keeping that place looking good, Riu palace was the 1st to be built there out of all the Riu resorts in Punta Cana , we went to look at the other ones and found the palace seemed to be cleaner . I also noticed a lot of people from the other Riu resorts coming to are resort and saying are pool and beach area where better. All in all had a great time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you like to feel like a billionaire, then book a vacation to this wonderful resort.
With so much fantasy, in an Oriental Colonial style - it reminded me to the Taj Mahal in India - the awesome looking big lobby is fantastic and so is the beach, the pool with it's jacuzzi's and pool-bar, the garden, etc.
The food was not bad, I just didn't like the Japanese restaurant very much, but that was not the reason why I went to this resort.
Colorful danceshows, great cocktails, good service, also on the beach - nice people!
The room was also very satisfying.
Only: when it started to rain the room became a bit damp and it smelled a bit strange and even our clothes, bags and shoes in the closet became somewhat humid.
But I blame it to the humid circumstances from the weather, as the rooms are bordering the gardens and the staircases leading to the rooms are outside as well.
The comfortable temperature does such things with a lot of humidity.
Helpful and polite frontdesk, good and friendly cleaners and free booz' in the room during the whole holiday.
That's what I call "All inclusive"!!!
Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabellebigandstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Coming from the UK it’s always nice when going to the Caribbean to stay in a hotel with thatched roofs, an open plan with outdoor eating areas as England has nothing like this, so it was disappointing to arrive at an although very impressive ‘palace’ structure the hotel looked more suited to perhaps Egypt or Turkey which I’ve stayed at both in similar hotels to this Riu.

I stayed here with my family at the end of March to the beginning of April for two weeks, I have been to the Dominican Republic many times before and it’s one of my favourite places in the world last year we stayed at the Hard rock hotel which was amazing and perhaps spoilt us too much.
One of the best things about this hotel I would say is the food and I’m and extremely fussy eater but I always found plenty to choose from, the Italian and Japanese speciality restaurants are also really nice and you can book these as many times as you like. Food from room service is a waste of time.
The pool was lovely and the sea amazing as always and you can’t beat the beautiful sand, we had a few overcast and raining days which were really disappointing although this isn’t the hotels fault.
Always lots to do during the day for all ages and use of the other hotels was handy for meals and pool facilities, evening entertainment was surprisingly good we really enjoyed the circus which was really professional and the Mr & Mrs show after that though everyone goes to bed :( the nightclub is not worth a look.
The rooms were good size with mini bar and fridge stocked with lots of drinks that were replaced every day, I didn’t notice the smell that everyone has mentioned but holidays aren’t about the room anyway! I would go back to the Dominican of course!! But not this hotel there are so much better choices and lots of hotels still to try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LethbridgeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

First of all, I read all of the previous reviews so I was prepared. First the the food: It was delicious. NOW, when I say food, I mean the local dishes, the salad bar, the seafood. They simply do not prepare American food well. The other food is great. The drinks are strong, the staff is very nice. Bring dollar bills to tip, this country is very poor. The Grounds: Are beautiful. The lobby is breathtaking. I did not think the furniture looked worn. The beach: Is amazing! I simply do not understand why anyone would stay by that crowded pool when there were so many lounge chairs in complete shade, under swaying coconut palms, with a view of the ocean. The noise: This is my travel tip. We bought a noise machine on the internet, and it has saved several vacations. All of these resorts are loud. Take a small white noise machine. The smell in the rooms: IS AWFUL. Overwhelming. We looked at 4 rooms and finally settled on the top floor which was not as bad. No amount of money could get us a room without the smell. Room Tip: In the gift shop they sell scented candles. Buy one. It made a huge difference! And yes, the higher the room, the nicer the room. Beds: We liked the hard beds. Overall, I would not spend this type of money to go back here, but the only real downside was the smell of the rooms.

Room Tip: Tip: The 3rd floor rooms are nicer and smell better. Buy a candle in the gift shop it helps signifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank courtsidesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#40 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#36 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#71 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,295 reviews
1.4 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#76 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing