We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent golf experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cana Golf Course

La Cana Golf Course
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
La Cana Golf Club Package in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magnificent ocean-front vistas of La Cana Golf Course will captivate the most discerning golf design connoisseurs, while its well-fortified greens challenge the game’s toughest competitors. After one round, avid enthusiast and casual player alike will understand why Golf Magazine has compared La Cana to Pebble Beach and declared it the “number one course in the Caribbean.” Designed by P. B. Dye, La Cana boasts fourteen ocean-view holes with four playing right on the water’s edge, and its state-of-the-art Seashore Paspalum grass allows for maintenance with minimal environmental impact. No serious player can take a golf vacation to the Caribbean without testing his or her chops on this stand-out course. Now offering new Enhancement Packages with its sister course, Corales, no serious golf can come to the Dominican Republic without playing a round on these world-class courses.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
“excellent golf experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beautiful golf course with holes overlooking the ocean. Course in very good condition. Worht the extra expense to play this course. Service excellent! Nice greens.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    99
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Course, Ocean Views, Pretty Easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

-Booked this course on Teeoff.com for $85 (w/ promo code). Played on 3/2/14. I also played Hard Rock and Punta Espada on this trip.

-Course: La Cana is located inside the Punta Cana Resort. The homes at this facility are very nice (95% Sold). The Punta Cana Resort Community is better kept than Cap Cana for sure. There are 3 nines. I played Arrecife and Tortuga. I liked Tortuga 9 better, both had holes along the Ocean. The conditions were plush and the greens were a little slow the day I played. The ocean holes are nice, but the ocean is quite calm (compared to Punta Espada). I birdied 17 and chipped in from 30 yards on 18 for a 71 (80 @ Hard Rock and 84 @ Punta Espada) so that made the round pretty cool. Very nice range, except for the attendant who wanted to clean my club after every swing. The course was very Florida-like: flat, nice homes, good design variety, easy, and nice ocean holes.

-Proshop: Staff is friendly. Proshop building was solid, decently stocked with merchandise.

-I would rate the course a 8/10 (Hard Rock 7/10, Punta Espada 10/10).

Visited February 2014

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lots of great golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Four guys played here twice and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Conditions are excellent. Greens roll true. Fairways in perfect condition. Holes by the ocean rocked. There is a very cool island par 3 on the arrecliffe course. Clubhouse and 19th hole were first rate. Nice range. There are three nine hole tracks. Arrecliffe and tortuga have ocean holes. Hacienda is brand new. We resisted playing it because it was not on the water but it is pristine and varied, a real challenge. You can't go wrong on any of the courses. We rate this course third best that we played but that is only because punta espada and corales are world class.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vjplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best course ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The location of this golf course is amazing, liked that this course is also good for beginners. You start in beautiful club house and each hole is better than the previous with views that becomes better and better

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LZK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at Club Med and chose this course due to its proximity to the hotel. The course was in perfect condition, greens were a bit slow but that's what you expect from a holiday golfing destination. The facilities were second to none and the equipment, buggy & clubs were of good quality. I would recommend this golf course to anyone with a handicap of 6 plus. Played of the Gold which was long enough for me, but would love to try playing of the Blacks next time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HoogsieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cana Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to La Cana Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing