We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little overpriced”
Review of Dolphin Island

Dolphin Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Catamaran and Snorkel Tour of Punta Cana
More Info
$99.00*
and up
La Hacienda Park Day Trip
More Info
$75.50*
and up
Punta Cana Malibu Party Charter with DJ
Ranked #16 of 91 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and Swim with Dolphins in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. Dolphin Island Park is a business dedicated to creating moments of intense happiness for their visitors through a natural, friendly and safe interaction with dolphins, sea lions, sharks and stingrays. We are experts in creating the most memorable experiences with unique activities that bring you up close to these amazing aquatic animals. Our privileged location allows us to offer a one of a kind swimming opportunity in which you can interact with the animals in their natural habitat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little overpriced”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

overpriced but otherwise a fun morning. The bus ride coming back too to long as for the wait time. The Dolphins were amazing in what they do to the guests.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    454
    208
    119
    125
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had a brilliant experience and it really made my trip! The staff were friendly as were the creatures! If it wasn't for that I would have had the worst holiday even to be honest

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivvyT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable for Kids”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our kids thoroughly enjoyed their Dolphin Experience. My wife and I though it was good, our previous one at another Caribbean island was better. The photo DVD is overpriced and the photos are OK, nothing great. The actual dolphin experience doesn't last long, maybe 20 minutes, you spend a lot of time waiting to be ferried to the island when you get there and a lot of time waiting to be taken back to your resort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kboonenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithtown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“LOVED swimming with the Dophins!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Have a blast in the water with dolphins, sharks and stingray. The group running Dolphin Island was great. They took lots of pictures and it was worth the purchase. Cant wait to do it again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicandmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely expensive for what you get!!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I went swimming with the dolphins in Cuba, and that experience was extremely enriching, we spent almost 45 minutes swimming and playing with the dolphins, including a little trick where they came up behind us and carried us to the jetty. After that we were treated to a really amazing 20-30 minute display in the main arena. The staff were very helpful and even took pictures on our own cameras for us. We enjoyed that very much and it didn't cost us too much at all - $140 US for both of us. Intending to pass on this experience to our 5 yr old daughter, we purchased tickets for the "Dolphin Island" in Punta cana. The sales guy assured us it would meet all our needs, only to find that most of our "4 hour trip" was spent waiting for transport to and from the facility, in extreme heat/humidity, there were no washrooms, dophins were kept in tiny little pens, same with sea lions, 1 shark and 1 ray. Our "swim with the dolphins" turned out to be a "stand on this platform in a line and pet the dolphin as it goes past" - lasted all of 15 minutes followed by a photo op of "Kiss the dolphin" which only their photographer was allowed to take photos, and a max 10 minute show of the dolphins jumping out of the water. Most of that time was actually spent trying not to slip off the flimsy slippery platform that they had us standing on with our feet submerged. Then we were herded off like cattle to the boat to take us to shore. There was no connection with the dolphins at all - very dissappointing, especially given our experience in Cuba. We paid $115 for this each, including our 5 year old! and then at the end they wanted to upsell us the $80 DVD package of photos! I expect a lot more for $400 !!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Island also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Dolphin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing