We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect tropical get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
“A perfect tropical get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I just spent a week at Paradisus Palma Real. We stayed in the Royal Service area of the resort, which was fantastic. The room was very large and well appointed. The staff at the resort were as nice as the location. Our butler Fermin made our stay spectacular. our bartender Leonardo Mota was perpetually enthusiastic and made some great drinks. Ramon Cordero and "Super Billy" took care of us each day on the beach.

Room Tip: Royal Service is great for couples. The Reserve area is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Matt C,

I am glad to know that you and your wife had a fantastic stay in our property. I am also pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our Royal Service facilities.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff, especially to Billy, Leonardo Mota, Ramon Cordero and Fermin. I will gladly pass your comments to them.

Once more, thank you for extending us your valuable comments. I am looking forward to welcome you back at your second home; Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,076
    1,926
    628
    303
    264
See reviews for
2,997
4,271
125
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a terrific time at Palma Real. The Resort was beautiful, the beach amazing. Although the quality of the food could have been better, the whole experience was wonderful. We paid extra for the Royal Service and that was a very good decision. It made our vacation. Our butler, Bayron, did everything he could to add to our vacation enjoyment. We were provided with a phone to call him if we needed anything. We never had to use it because he anticipated our every need. He was constantly bringing us both food and drink or escorting us to events that he thought we might enjoy. Next time we visit this resort we will certainly insist upon being assigned Bayron. Also, I would like to thank Francisco, the beach concierge. He was also very helpful to us in every imaginable way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 922Default
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

At Paradisus Palma Real our devoutness is to provide quality service level beyond our guests’ expectation.

I am glad to know that you had a wonderful stay, and that enjoyed our Royal Service section of the hotel.

Thank you for your compliments to the friendliness and dedication demonstrated by Bayron and Francisco. We are aware that it is thanks to our great team that we can accomplish our goal, the total guests’ satisfaction.

Our team will be more than glad to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The facilities are beautiful and well kept. The staff are ALL friendly... "hola, que pasa" with big smiles on their faces. They truly appreciate having you there. The food is good during the day, much better if you get a reservation in one of the restaurants. You generally can't get into a restaurant without a reservation (even if they aren't very busy).
The pool is great for couples and families. The swim-up bar is also great for adults and kids. The bartenders are fun and nice to the kids that come up for a virgin daquiri and a bag of chips. I found that if you tip the bartenders they will remember you when they get busy.
The beach is definitely the best beach we've enjoyed. A short walk up the beach, however, will lead you into a gauntlet of local salespeople asking if you want a massage, or to parasail, or to see their shop.
We went to Gabi for dinner and had a very good meal. We also ate at Aqua (at the Reserve) and had an excellent meal with truly outstanding service.
If you are a wine connoisseur, look out! The house wine is Gato Negro ($4.00 at Trader Joes) and the wine for purchase selection is very pricey (roughly $45-300).
Our room was a basic jr deluxe, and it was great. We looked at the other room types and didn't see the value. I mean, truly, it's an all-inclusive do you really need a kitchen? I can't speak to the butler service, but the pool and beach ammenities for the VIPs wasn't really any different than the general beach and pool, maybe a few more day beds.
We went on the free snorkel trip. It isn't run by the resort, but it's right next door. We could definitely tell we were 'off the reservation'. They weren't quite as friendly and I'm not confident that if we weren't paying close attention, that we wouldn't be finding another boat to bring us back. Our "captain" was seriously distracted. Maybe he just had a bad day :)
Overall, we absolutely loved Palma Real and have already booked another trip in June!

Room Tip: We read reviews on musty 1st floor rooms. We were on the 1st floor and mayyybe is was a little must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alxroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Palma Real in October of last year and everything about the trip was awesome. The entire resort is so beautiful and the Dominican Republic is a gorgeous country. We were there for my daughter's 4th birthday and they did everything the could to make it memorable for us, our concierge, Edgar, was very accommodating. Even went as far as taking pictures of us altogether on the beach, ordering a cake for our daughter's birthday and giving her a present at the end of our trip! Awesome guy and really made our stay at the hotel special, we will be back to DR just to see Edgar.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvanRosenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Evan,

Thank you for selecting us to celebrate such a special occasion, your daughter´s 4th birthday. As a service oriented company our devoutness is to provide quality service beyond our guests´ expectations.

I am pleased to learn that you and you family have had a wonderful stay in our property. Thank you for your compliments to our hotel and to this beautiful country.

I am glad to know that you have appreciated the friendliness and dedication demonstrated by Edgar, your concierge. You may rest assure that I took good notes of your observations.

Our team will be more than glad to welcome you and your family at your second home; Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our first family vacation to the Caribbean and our first ever visit to an "all inclusive". Having heard stories of the typical all inclusive, I must say I was reluctant to book the trip. Upon the moment of arrival at the Paradisus Palma Real, my apprehension vanished as we were greeted most courteously and surrounded by the beautiful architecture of the lobby opening onto a spacious courtyard overlooking the beach and ocean. From that moment on, it was clear this place is not the stereotypical all inclusive. The food was excellent, facilities were beautiful, clean and well maintained, the evening performances and live music were amazing.

However our most enjoyable experiences were interactions with the staff. They were GREAT! We looked forward each morning the being greeted at breakfast by Juan Bautista's warm smile. He was so happy we were enjoying our experience. Gabi beach was very relaxing and George was most courteous and helpful everyday. We spent hours playing beach volleyball, zoomba classes, dance classes, kick boxing.....I was most impressed with the instructors who were all extremely hard working and most welcoming. Leo and Rachel were amazingly talented dancers who did a wonderful job teaching salsa and bachata. Yubi and Famel did not hesitate to find us during the live music nights and pull us onto the dance floor and help us with our dance steps learned earlier that day. I must also extend special thanks to Wilfredo, Francisco and "Big Mac". These guys added an unforgettable element to the trip. Dancers, athletes, entertainers, comedians...helped us dance, play and made us laugh. WOW these guys were awesome!

The Paradisus Palma Real exceeded our expectations in every respect. We look forward to coming back next year. Thank you for an unforgettable family experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Nothing about this trip was relaxing. Asked for quiet room and got a room facing neighboring hotel that played music till 3am. Had to move rooms 3 times to get one that was somewhat quiet. My wife left a dress in a closet when we had to pack up after the drunken couple in the adjoining room next door would not keep quiet. That dress was never seen again. House cleaning did not come clean the room another day even after I called 3 times to have them come. Was never given a reason as to why. All the rooms are filled with mosquitos. The free internet in the rooms was broken for 3 days. Every time I called front desk I got the same answer...someone will come fix it right away. It was never fixed. My wife cut her foot playing volleyball from a knife buried in the sand. The beach was not cleaned properly after a dinner event.
I arrived on a Wednesday and could only get dinner reservations to eat at 9:30pm for the next few nights. I told them I eat early and want to eat at 6 when everything opens. They told me to come back everyday at 3 and ask. I think they just want tips. Each night I walked by the restaurants and saw 2-3 tables full at 6. After complaining to almost everyone, I finally asked for the manager of the entire resort. If you pay extra money you get to see him right away I found out. Domingo tried to make things right and even drove my wife and I to the airport when our tour company never called us to arrange our prepaid transfer back to airport. Entire trip was one stress after another. We stayed at the Iberostar the year before. Rooms were much cleaner and place was much newer. Reason we changed was their food was horrible. Not sure what to do next....

Room Tip: If you choose...make sure you ask for Domingo Beltre if you have any issues. honestly he is the onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ireactivate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I am not a "review" type of person, maybe because I'm easy to please! I can't leave Paradisus Palma Real without saying to those who think they are Michelin reviewers, and write a novel about how terrible the food and service was while staying here! Stay home and whine!! Paradisus is by far the best there is in the DR!! The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.(Notable mentions-- Felix de la Cruz, Alexi(chef), Franklin de Salas(waiter), Ramon Fuego (wet) bartender, Cristian Castro(waiter) and so on!! I'm here for a week with my family through an RCI exchange! My home resort is ORANGE LAKE in Kissemme, Fl. I'm a 16 year owner(the premier time share in the US) I've exchanged dozens of times all over the world(Spain, Portugal, Greece, Italy, Malta etc)! Paradisus is the one and only resort that can compare to Orange Lake!! World class all the way!! To those who may think they are expert reviewers. Stay home, eat your chicken nuggets, mac'n cheese! You are in the bottom 1/2 of 1% that can never be pleased!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ascerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about stay in our property. As a service oriented company our devoutness is to provide quality service beyond our guests´ expectations.

I am glad to learn that you have appreciated the friendliness and dedication demonstrated from our staff, especially from Felix de la Cruz, Alexis, Cristian Castro, Ramon Fuego and Franklin de Salas. I will gladly pass your comments to them.

Thank you for selecting our hotel and for extending us your valuable comments.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
6.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the epitome of resort elegance. Paradisus Palma Real Resort envelops you in privileged comfort and simply astonishing beauty. Discover crystal Caribbean waters, pristine beaches, towering palm trees, stunning gardens and magnificent architecture. Delight in sumptuous private Suites, championship golf, seven world-class international restaurants and stunning pools lined with exotic Bali beds. An all-encompassing paradise of grace, elegance and charm located 25 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Palma Real Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Palma Real Resort
Punta Cana Paradisus
Paradisus Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing